We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mid-Town Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mid-Town Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is the perfect place for a clean, basic, no-frills motel at an excellent rate.
Tim Lewis, the owner, is extremely helpful and friendly.
The location is excellent--no need to use your car if you plan to stay in the "city" part of Boothbay Harbor--everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zeldamay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My family needed only a one night (Saturday, 9/1/12) of Labor Day weekend. Midtown was the only Boothbay Harbor site that would accommodate us. The motel is exactly as advertised--50's classic, no wi-fi, no AC--and it was great. Tim, the owner was friendly and helpful. He even let us leave our car on site AFTER we checked out. It was less than a 2 block walk to the center of town. The room was small but immaculate! If you're looking for a 5 star luxury hotel, don't stay here. But if you want to take a trip back in time and enjoy the simpler things you must stay at this motel!!

Room Tip: I think there is only 12 rooms or so, any of which are good with parking right in front of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RDD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersham, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Midtown Motel is simply charming - a beautifully well-kept 50s retro-look accommodation, with pretty little touches like the flower pots and hanging basket, which really make it special. The rooms are just the right size to be comfortable and affordable, and and Tim the owner is just lovely - helpful and accommodating, and chatty, just to the right degree. It's a few minutes walk from all shops and the harbour, so you can just leave your car at Midtown while you go sightseeing. We sometimes come over from England on a bit of a budget to visit friends all along the East Coast, and we look forward to staying at Midtown in the delightful Boothbay Harbour as a highlight of our journey.

Room Tip: Just discuss with Tim - he's so helpful, he'll make sure you get a room suited to your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattawan, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This basic "50's" motel is clean, conveniently located, and a very good value. But what sets it apart is the gracious friendliness of the proprietor, Mr. Lewis. I was a bit dazed upon arrival, and he promptly set us at ease with his accommodating demeanor, helpful suggestions for dining, and genuine friendliness.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JhawkerMattawan_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The owner of the Mid-Town Motel was very pleasant and helpful, suggesting restaurants and local attractions. The motel is 1950 style, and it seemed that the mattresses haven't been changed since then. The bathrooms are very small and had a musty smell, but were clean. If you are just staying a couple of days, this motel would be okay, but I couldn't last more than that. The location is nice, just a couple of blocks from the bay and small shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, In
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well like everyone else has noted the owner is very friendly. Rooms were clean, bathrooms small. A few minutes walking distance to the center of Boothbay. I would stay again. A no frills motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redwhiskeypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The owner is incredibly friendly and helpful. Location on top of a hill above the town makes for a quiet place to relax on the porch chairs. Very old-fashioned decor, but we thought it was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebug525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mid-Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid-Town Motel

Property: Mid-Town Motel
Address: 96 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mid-Town Motel Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing