We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place, friendly and clean”
Review of Mid-Town Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mid-Town Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Not overly expensive (as in cheap) and clean. The rooms are cute and have the obligatory bathroom, T.V., side chair and bureau. But there is a real charm to this place. The owner - manager is friendly and it is a short walk to town. The bathroom is not luxurious, but it is clean. I really liked this place and will stay there again.

June Jensen

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

We always stay here when we go to Boothbay Harbor. Tim the owner is very , very nice and always ready to offer any advice and tips about the area and has never steered our group wrong. Midtown Motel doesn't appologize for its retro style and appearance, it's just plain comfortable and the owner over the years has become like family to us. Very charming. We will always go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank libbyde2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

I enjoyed this place. It's a very short walk to downtown without having to pay waterfront prices. It is definitely an older property, very little has been updated, but it was very clean and well cared-for. Only downsides was that we couldn't find a way to control the temperature in the room short of opening the window, and the shower was kind of low-flow. But I would have no qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigfitz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My boyfriend and I visited Boothbay Harbor for a quick get-away. Most of the Inns in the area are quite expensive, so I was happy to find the Mid-Town Motel. It is very close to downtown Boothbay and convenient to other destinations in the area. The rooms are cute and clean. Our room wasn't overly spacious, but I found it quite cozy. As an earlier reviewer noted, the decor has a rustic feel. The rooms are missing some of the extras other motels have (hairdryer, coffee maker, wifi), but what it lacks in amenities it makes up for in charm. The owner was very nice and friendly. He recommended some local restaurants for us to try and gave us a map to help us get around. I would stay here again if I was in the Boothbay Harbor area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DecTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The Mid-Town Motel advertises as a "true 1950's classic" -- and they're not lying. It definitely has classic style -- it is a cute little motel where you drive up and park right outside your door. The furniture is simple and somewhat rustic, little wooden tables and a dresser, and a small tv. But, like 1950s motels, the rooms are pretty small and the bathroom is quite tiny. The walls are thin, too, so if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs.

On the plus side, it has an awesome location -- about a three minute walk into town. It's clean, inexpensive, the beds were comfortable, and the owner is very friendly and doesn't hesitate to recommend things to do and places to eat. (He recommended the Boathouse Bistro & Tapas Bar, which was very good -- delicious lobster & leek crepes!).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shall07834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

This is a real old-fashioned American experience. A motel right in Boothbay Harbor, clean, friendly, attractive. You can walk to the shops and restaurants. Knotty pine paneling....I love it! Have stayed here twice now.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Trout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patrice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mid-Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid-Town Motel

Address: 96 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £66 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mid-Town Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mid-Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid-Town Motel Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing