We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”
Review of Kaler's

Kaler's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Maplewood, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It is a classic new england seafood place. Staff is very nice. We had the fried fish, seafood and lobster and it was all good. Nothing fancy just really good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edmundd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    232
    87
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We might not have gone into Kalers as the entrance is down some steps but thank goodness we did. The atmosphere was great and the food was good! I had lobster which was tasty as were the crab salad and burger that my wife and daughter enjoyed. The server was very attentive (Laurie) and Mrs Kaler who keeps and eye on proceedings at the front of house also made sure everything was just right? We have eaten there twice and been to the happy hour that starts at 3:30. This says it all - returning customers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
367 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Blah Lobster!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ever eat a lobster without any taste? I did at Kaler's in Boothbay Harbor.

I am reluctant to poo-poo a restaurant with only a one meal experience there. But, the one meal may give an idea about what to expect.

The lobster was served with an overdone baked potato and the side of applesauce was pre-packaged in a plastic cup with a peel-back cover. My other choice was applesauce. Hasn't this place heard of vegetables? So, if you are getting the idea that this is not a classy place, you are right.

The service was good and the location is convenient--right on the harbor. But, I would be reluctant to return. Might try their lunch fair, but I'd go elsewhere for dinner.

Kaler's offers more than lobster: burgers, wraps, sandwiches, lots of fried seafood, chicken wings. It's the kind of place that you might go to for beer and wings. Dinner fare, other than the simple stuff, is not its bailiwick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our daughter's favorite place. Ate their twice and took an order to go once. The service is excellent! Very unpretentious, but the food is wonderful. Celebrated my birthday there with fish tacos and Kendall Jackson!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank clare n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“OMG YUM”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Love this place. the food is awesome the prices are good and the staff are very friendly. we stayed two nights in boothbay and ended up eating both dinners here. it rained both days that we were here so we did a bit of bar hopping so every place we went we checked out the menu and that's how we ended up back for dinner the second night. they had lobster corn chowder both nights for a special OMG it was the best. hope they have it again when we return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suesa46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaler's also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Kaler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing