We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location near the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard House Lodge B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Pleasant facility. More like a motel than a typical rooms- in-the-house bed and breakfast. Great breakfast with individually prepared fruit cup, a yummy egg dish, and home baked breads. We sat outside which was nice. Pleasant surroundings. We opened the room up at night to cool it down, but sleeping was fine. We chose for the location, since we wanted to go the Botanic Gardens the next morning, and we were far enough out of Boothbay Harbor to stay out of the crowds. We would return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astronomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Howard House Lodge B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a B&B and more! Ginny and Jim care about you and your experience in Boothbay. The rooms are large and comfortable. The lodge is separate from the house/breakfast area. I felt this gave me more privacy than you usually get at a B&B. The rooms have a balcony that overlooks the woods. It is very quiet and relaxing. It is a very short drive to the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. The hosts are more than willing to go out of the way to make sure you have a pleasant trip! Breakfast is plentiful and delicious. Ginny makes all the delicious baked goods. The grounds are on acres of land and beautifully manicured with beautiful flowers and rock formations. Lots of good parking with a newly paved parking lot. What more can I say? We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnneW136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights end of August. The room was lovely, comfortably, very clean, and a view of woods out the patio doors. Wonderful breakfast in the morning that included a hot egg dish, delicious fruit bowl w/optional yogurt/almond slices, and home made blueberry bread. It was just a quick drive into the harbor area

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Howard House Lodge B & B over Labor Day weekend. We found the rooms charming and well kept, even if a bit dated. The included breakfasts were elegant, although choices limited. The individually prepared fruit salads were wonderful. We would definitely stay here again on a trip to Boothbay Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent two nights here and enjoyed the feeling of being in a tree house.
The room was large with a lovely balcony overlooking the woods.
The hosts were lovely and helpful and the homemade, buffet breakfast was to write home about.
There was a daily, freshly cut up fruit cup and home baked breads and muffins.
There is a ceiling fan but no a/c, room fridge or microwave.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We spent two nights here and were as pleased as we could be with the setting, room, home made breakfast, owners. Everything was just as the previous reviewers said. The property is on about 25 aceres and the rooms are set back away from the road. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept on in a hotel in a long time. When my wife mentioned to Ginny that the pilow she had was just a little thick, Ginny sent another that was just right.
You can tell from just a short conversation with the owners that their guests comfort and satisfaction is highest on their list of priorities
I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had planned a day's trip to Booth Bay, but ran late and needed to spend the night. We were most fortunate that the Chamber of Commerce referred us to the Howard House. We were delighted to stay there; it's super clean, with beautiful grounds, and fabulous breakfast, especially the home made bread :-) The inn keepers are extremely hospitable and gracious. We will definitely stay there, again, if we go back to Booth Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShidehHaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard House Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard House Lodge B&B

Address: 347 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1804
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £112 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard House Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the mid-coast region of Maine. Only a mile from downtown Boothbay Harbor. Far enough out of town to be away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to hear the fog horns on a foggy night. Conveniently located to all local landmarks and tourist attractions. Just a little over a mile to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. Rooms and decks are completely non-smoking to ensure the comfort of our guests. Warm, cozy, and impeccably clean. Delicious homemade breakfast prepared fresh for you every day, with local ingredients whenever possible. Beautifully landscaped. No smoking, no pets. Family owned and operated for 37 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Howard House Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard House Lodge B&B Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing