We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, friendly, comfortable, convenient, cozy home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard House Lodge B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful, friendly, comfortable, convenient, cozy home away from home!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Jenny and her husband were very nice and their place was very comfortable. Breakfast was AMAZING! I am gluten free and dairy free, and she accommodated my diet restrictions deliciously! I still think about my special gluten free muffins and scones she made special for me daily. The grounds were well maintained and beautiful. The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. My husband especially liked the super fresh scent of the linens ;) Thank you for a wonderful stay and great recommendations-we will be back if we ever find ourselves in Maine again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krispears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This past July we stayed at Howard House for the second summer in a row. The property is beautiful and quiet. The rooms are comfortable and so clean. We loved the comfy bed. There is a chair, rocking chair, desk, and bureau or wardrobe. There is free WiFi as well. No air conditioning but the rooms have a cooling ceiling fan. The slider doors can be opened to let in a breeze. Because the property is shading the breeze is a natural air conditioner. The lodge is handicap accessible. We asked for a first floor room and it was perfect. The second floor rooms have stairs which didn't work for us. We stayed on the second floor last year and the room was awesome. We actually looked forward to breakfast every day. Breakfast starts with a freshly chopped fruit cup with yogurt. Ginny makes the delicious egg dish. I loved the home made oatmeal bread which I toasted every morning and then added homemade raspberry jelly. She also made blueberry muffins, scones, coffee cake, etc. Coffee, tea, and juices was provided. There is also cereal and granola. We ate outside on the deck or inside when it rained. We made friends with many of the other guests during breakfast. We booked through their website. They give a discount for 3 nights or more. We love the Boothbay area and can't wait to go back next summer. We will look forward to staying at Howard House next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We've been staying at the Howard House Lodge for over 20 years. Ginny and Jim Farrin are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and cozy. Every room has rocking chairs, comfortable beds, and a nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table. It's a great place to sit and relax, read, have a snack and enjoy the bucolic view. We've stayed at many B&B's over the years and Ginny's breakfasts are the best!!!! We start off with a bowl of fresh fruit and yogurt as well as fresh baked bread, incredible blueberry muffins, raspberry scones, and sometimes coffee cakes. Her egg dishes are always so very yummy! I'm a tea drinker so every morning there's a fresh pot of tea for me in one of Ginny's pretty tea pots. And of course there is plenty of good coffee and fruit juices as well. For anyone who prefers, there is dry cereal and fresh granola available. Seating is either in the breakfast room or on the pretty deck adjacent to it. We sit and chat and catch up on our families and what's been going on in our lives since our last visit. It's a great base location for anyone wanting to discover the many beautiful places in mid-coast Maine. I would also recommend visiting the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, it's a magical place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilSister52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have visited Booth Bay a dozen times over the last 25 years, and in recent years, always stay at Howard House. Even if it did not have such clean and comfortable rooms and a lovely quiet setting, we would not want to miss Ginny's wonderful breakfasts. Ginny and Jim are friendly, without being obtrusive and very knowledgeable about all there is to see in the area. Downtown Boothbay Harbor can be rather a zoo during the summer, so we are glad to have such a nice choice just outside of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

HHL lived up to all the stellar reviews and then some. Quiet setting with natural cool woods breezes (on some of the hottest days this year!) made for a terrific experience. If we ever get down to Boothbay again HHL is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcthumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Howard House Lodge added so much to a road trip my friend and I went on in June. We came to Maine from Boston to see the puffins, and decided to stay at the Howard House Lodge based on it's great reviews. Each morning, my friend and I were given a delicious breakfast feast, and the owner/chef Ginny was super friendly and fun to talk with. She was a great resource for activities and directions, it felt like we had a Booth Bay tour guide. I'll definitely be bringing my husband up here someday, and I highly recommend it to people travelling in Maine. The fireflies at night and deck made our stay even better!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Spent four nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A wonderfully maintained lodge, wonderful hosts and an incredible breakfast that will keep you full until dinner time. On two of our mornings there we enjoyed breakfast outside but rain kept us inside the last two mornings. Each breakfast consisted of a wonderful fruit cup followed by a very tasty egg dish, with a side potato offering. Round this out with wonderful homemade blueberry muffins, scones or bread, along with OJ, coffee or tea and you have a very memorable breakfast. Easy access to Harbor activities. Each room has a small balcony with a view of the woodlands surrounding the lodge. We will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwolfejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#3 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard House Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard House Lodge B&B

Property: Howard House Lodge B&B
Address: 347 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1804
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard House Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the mid-coast region of Maine. Only a mile from downtown Boothbay Harbor. Far enough out of town to be away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to hear the fog horns on a foggy night. Conveniently located to all local landmarks and tourist attractions. Just a little over a mile to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. Rooms and decks are completely non-smoking to ensure the comfort of our guests. Warm, cozy, and impeccably clean. Delicious homemade breakfast prepared fresh for you every day, with local ingredients whenever possible. Beautifully landscaped. No smoking, no pets. Family owned and operated for 37 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Howard House Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard House Lodge B&B Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing