We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard House Lodge B&B
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“WOW !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We found this place and felt like we were home. My wife is gluten free and Jenny made her muffins each morning. The place is very comfortable, very clean, and hosts (Jenny and Jim) are outstanding.
Howard Lodge was recommended by Chamber of Commerce. It was that and more.

Jenny and Jim even made suggestions on what to see in the area.

My only complaint is that when we got home, my wife looked at me over breakfast and said "What, no fruit cup?" There was a wonderful Fruit Cup each morning. Jenny and Jim can spoil you quickly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyredvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the summer for a wedding and we loved it. First off, the breakfasts are great! The staff are very friendly and very helpful. I like the look of the rooms, it might not be for everybody, but the décor is in line with the Maine/Rustic feel of the place. And each room has a balcony. Also, you are only five minutes drive from downtown. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Jenny and her husband were very nice and their place was very comfortable. Breakfast was AMAZING! I am gluten free and dairy free, and she accommodated my diet restrictions deliciously! I still think about my special gluten free muffins and scones she made special for me daily. The grounds were well maintained and beautiful. The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. My husband especially liked the super fresh scent of the linens ;) Thank you for a wonderful stay and great recommendations-we will be back if we ever find ourselves in Maine again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krispears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This past July we stayed at Howard House for the second summer in a row. The property is beautiful and quiet. The rooms are comfortable and so clean. We loved the comfy bed. There is a chair, rocking chair, desk, and bureau or wardrobe. There is free WiFi as well. No air conditioning but the rooms have a cooling ceiling fan. The slider doors can be opened to let in a breeze. Because the property is shading the breeze is a natural air conditioner. The lodge is handicap accessible. We asked for a first floor room and it was perfect. The second floor rooms have stairs which didn't work for us. We stayed on the second floor last year and the room was awesome. We actually looked forward to breakfast every day. Breakfast starts with a freshly chopped fruit cup with yogurt. Ginny makes the delicious egg dish. I loved the home made oatmeal bread which I toasted every morning and then added homemade raspberry jelly. She also made blueberry muffins, scones, coffee cake, etc. Coffee, tea, and juices was provided. There is also cereal and granola. We ate outside on the deck or inside when it rained. We made friends with many of the other guests during breakfast. We booked through their website. They give a discount for 3 nights or more. We love the Boothbay area and can't wait to go back next summer. We will look forward to staying at Howard House next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We've been staying at the Howard House Lodge for over 20 years. Ginny and Jim Farrin are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and cozy. Every room has rocking chairs, comfortable beds, and a nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table. It's a great place to sit and relax, read, have a snack and enjoy the bucolic view. We've stayed at many B&B's over the years and Ginny's breakfasts are the best!!!! We start off with a bowl of fresh fruit and yogurt as well as fresh baked bread, incredible blueberry muffins, raspberry scones, and sometimes coffee cakes. Her egg dishes are always so very yummy! I'm a tea drinker so every morning there's a fresh pot of tea for me in one of Ginny's pretty tea pots. And of course there is plenty of good coffee and fruit juices as well. For anyone who prefers, there is dry cereal and fresh granola available. Seating is either in the breakfast room or on the pretty deck adjacent to it. We sit and chat and catch up on our families and what's been going on in our lives since our last visit. It's a great base location for anyone wanting to discover the many beautiful places in mid-coast Maine. I would also recommend visiting the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, it's a magical place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilSister52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have visited Booth Bay a dozen times over the last 25 years, and in recent years, always stay at Howard House. Even if it did not have such clean and comfortable rooms and a lovely quiet setting, we would not want to miss Ginny's wonderful breakfasts. Ginny and Jim are friendly, without being obtrusive and very knowledgeable about all there is to see in the area. Downtown Boothbay Harbor can be rather a zoo during the summer, so we are glad to have such a nice choice just outside of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

HHL lived up to all the stellar reviews and then some. Quiet setting with natural cool woods breezes (on some of the hottest days this year!) made for a terrific experience. If we ever get down to Boothbay again HHL is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcthumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard House Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard House Lodge B&B

Property: Howard House Lodge B&B
Address: 347 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1804
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard House Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the mid-coast region of Maine. Only a mile from downtown Boothbay Harbor. Far enough out of town to be away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to hear the fog horns on a foggy night. Conveniently located to all local landmarks and tourist attractions. Just a little over a mile to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. Rooms and decks are completely non-smoking to ensure the comfort of our guests. Warm, cozy, and impeccably clean. Delicious homemade breakfast prepared fresh for you every day, with local ingredients whenever possible. Beautifully landscaped. No smoking, no pets. Family owned and operated for 37 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Howard House Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard House Lodge B&B Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing