We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've been staying here for 21 years, we love the Howard House and the owners, the Farrins.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard House Lodge B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“We've been staying here for 21 years, we love the Howard House and the owners, the Farrins.”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

When we visit the Howard House it's like visiting with family. The rooms are comfortable and clean with very pleasant surroundings, and the breakfast is to die for! Ginny is an amazing cook! It is located a short drive away from the harbor, convenient and quiet. We were there last week and on our last morning Ginny Farrin sat with us and we got caught up with our families and what our now adult children are doing, like long time friends. We wished we could have stayed longer. We've stayed at many B&Bs over the years and the Howard House is the one we return to year after year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilSister52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2008

My husband and I have vacationed at the Howard House Lodge B&B for 31 years. It is a lovely, charming B&B. The same family has owned and operated it since opening. Jim and Ginny are very helpful and personable. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. You experience the full flavor of Maine hospitality here. The rooms are, by far, the largest and most comfortable of most B&B's. Pristine and inviting. We have never experienced any musty smell, as the other reviewer has mentioned. Quite the opposite. Mornings are so relaxing while eating breakfast on the deck under the canopy. Everything is fresh and homemade. Little personal touches make it so warm. We have never wanted to look for another place because we have always had a terrific stay.

  • Liked — Hospitality and cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bzbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

This was a great find in Boothbay Harbor. The rooms are immaculate. It is not your typical B&B. The rooms are spacious motel type rooms with a ceiling fan and nice deck. Breakfast is served in an adjacent building. The food and the pastries are excellent. They accommodated our request for plain decaf tea. It was served in a china tea pot. The hosts provided us with maps and recommendations for hiking, sightseeing, restaurants, etc. They sent us to a lobster pound that was almost half the price that we typically pay for lobster. I will stay here again. One note, they do not take credit cards. They will take cash and personal checks. There are plenty of ATM’s in the area.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alapitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2007

This is a moderately priced hotel / bed and breakfast that is family run and offers a warm and cozy atmosphere. The breakfast is far above average, with fresh Maine fruit salad, fresh pastries, and a delicious hot dish which varies. The breakfast is served on a canopied porch in lovely china and my tea was served in a marvelous tea pot. All in all, it was a great experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — The rooms are a bit musty.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
358 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard House Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard House Lodge B&B

Property: Howard House Lodge B&B
Address: 347 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1804
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard House Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the mid-coast region of Maine. Only a mile from downtown Boothbay Harbor. Far enough out of town to be away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to hear the fog horns on a foggy night. Conveniently located to all local landmarks and tourist attractions. Just a little over a mile to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. Rooms and decks are completely non-smoking to ensure the comfort of our guests. Warm, cozy, and impeccably clean. Delicious homemade breakfast prepared fresh for you every day, with local ingredients whenever possible. Beautifully landscaped. No smoking, no pets. Family owned and operated for 37 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Howard House Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard House Lodge B&B Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing