We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
20
11
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
11
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here two nights in late July. Place is located in a quiet, wooded area with moderate length walks to beach or town.

The lodge is a bit dated in some aspects but cozy, clean and well maintained.

The real selling point of this place is the management. They were outstanding - helpful and knowledgeable.

Overall, a good value in the Boothbay Harbor region.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Crispy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

I decided on the Sprucewold after checking out several Boothbay Harbor properties online. The character of the lodge looked neat and I thought my husband and toddler son would enjoy it too. We were certainly not disappointed! The property is located up a hill and surrounded by tall trees and other log cabins - it really feels secluded even though it is not far from town or the ocean. Both the lodge and the large dining hall/game room across the street are really beautiful and well-maintained - pictures do not do them justice. Our room was likewise very well kept, which is probably no easy feat in a historic building. Because there were not a lot of other guests staying at the same time (right after the 4th of July), there was no buffet, but we were given forms to custom order our breakfast. The food was excellent and plentiful (thank you, Vanessa) and my son particularly enjoyed playing with the blocks, foosball table, and collection of funny hats in the dining hall afterwards. Richard was a very gracious, accommodating and friendly host. My only regrets about our stay are 1) that I never did get to enjoy reading out on the porch (due to busy toddler and plans with relatives) and 2) that we couldn't stay longer. My husband was likewise impressed and we hope to include the Sprucewold Lodge on our Maine vacation itinerary from now on.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank grantleighgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Although it has been a couple of years since a visit, we are still and always will be in love with the Sprucewold. The beauty of the area, the unbelievable warmth of the inn and the management is reason enough to return again and again. Want a place to relax and simply enjoy breathing? Run, do not walk, to the Sprucewold Lodge. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tylerskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Our Fall trip to Booth Bay Harbor all the way from Oregon was made very special with our stay at Sprucewold Lodge. A rustic, historical lodge in the woods high above the harbor, was so relaxing and inviting we cannot wait for a return visit. The original 1920's lodge held true to its charm and the fresh, woodsy air greeted us daily as we would return from the day shopping and touring the harbor sights. You could sit in the rocking chair on the covered porch or in front of the many stone fireplaces and relax 'til you could relax no more! (Is there such a state of mind?) Our hosts Richard and Dana were gracious and informative on everything you wanted to know about the Booth Bay Harbor area. The morning breakfast buffet was a true gourmet feast of home baked scones, muffins, and cinnamon bread complete with eggs, bacon, blueberry pancakes, french toast, ... oh my, you must have their breakfast buffet even if they are booked and you are not lucky enough to stay there! We were in awe of the wonderful decor of the early 1900's and the rooms were clean and wonderful. If you are in for a good walk, the town and the harbor are just down the hill and you can walk across the footbridge to the other side of the harbor. We got the best of both worlds.. the harbor sites, cruising, shopping, and restaurants during the daytime hours and the relaxation and peacefulness of the hillside woods and fresh air to return to each evening. Try Sprucewold Lodge.. you will love it!
Dick & Debbie Stitz

3  Thank DS5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews