We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Harbor”
Review of Atlantic Ark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Ark Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

When my brother from Indiana asked us to leave our home on Cape Cod ( in July, no less) and show him the Maine coastline, we knew exactly where we would take him. We had stayed at the Atlantic Ark Inn a few years ago, and knew the town and the inn would be perfect. Devon, the manager and chef, greeted us at the door warmly. Although we arrived late and had just missed the cheese plate, he reminded us that home baked cookies would be waiting for us when we returned from dinner. Our rooms were sparkling clean. My brother's room was large and had french doors that opened to a side porch that overlooked the harbor. Our room was in the front of the house. We were pleased with our water view and our luxurious deep tub for relaxing.
We were disappointed to wake up the next morning to rain. We had planned a harbor sailboat cruise, but it was cancelled at the last minute. While eating our delicious breakfast, Donna, the Ark's owner, suggested we take the local island ferry instead. She immediately went to the phone and made sure there was room for us. The captain gave a colorful 2 hour description of the area, and we were not disappointed. Thanks Donna, you saved the day!
Parking is at a premium in town, but the inn is in a perfect location to walk across the pedestrian bridge for meals, shopping and sightseeing. The inn is beautifully appointed with antiques, but there is no stuffiness.The front porch is perfect for sunsets as well as breakfasts. Many details to make this place run smoothly. In one word, "charming".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a great place if you want to be near, but not in the center of things. Easy walk to town (about 5 min). Restaurants within easy walking distance. Devon and Michelle were very friendly and accommodating. His breakfasts are delicious and his cookies, which come out of the oven at 7:00 each night are intoxicating. The room was quite comfortable and food can be taken inside or on the porch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cellarmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

the best bnb stay ever. top shelf staff and the best location in Boothbay. request the blueberry biscuits, amazing breakfasts. incredible value.
I have stayed in bnbs all over new England and the atmosphere and quality of service is superior here. don't miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pparker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our room was small, but very nice. Great view to the harbor! We stayed two nights. The owner, Donna, house keeper, Michelle, and chef, Devon made our stay just perfect. Michelle kept the Inn immaculate and chef Devon made the most delicious and mouth watering breakfast each morning. One morning he made a Basil Fritata which we thought was the greatest until the next morning when he out did himself and made his famous baked French toast. If you go to Boothbay Harbor you must stay at the Atlantic Ark Inn. My wife and I both highly recommend this Inn!

Room Tip: The 3rd flood room is much larger and has a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave1202013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I just spent three (3) enjoyable nights at the Atlantic Ark. We stayed two (2) nights in the cottage and one (1) in the house. Donna, Michelle and Devin make you feel at home with the special touches like cookies at night, knowledge of the local points of interest,etc. Breakfast was fantastic especially the baked French toast which is worth a second helping. Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just returned from Booth Bay and Atlantic Ark Inn for the second time where the atmosphere is always positive . Michelle keeps it immaculate and her serenity is relaxing! Devon never ceases to be cheerful and his food leaves everyone smiling too!! Outstanding breakfasts...and snacks, too!!! Donna provides a tastefully appointed inn which we hope to enjoy for a third time some day! We chose the private cottage with its shady porch, it's own garden and comfy interior. Staying there added a joyful element to our stay in picturesque Boothbay Harbor!!!!

Room Tip: We have chosen the private cottage twice and would again, but conversations with other guests tell u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Of all the B&B's my wife and I have stayed in this is THE BEST ! Here is why: 1. Clean, looks like it was just remodeled BUT it has looked this good for the 10+ years we have stayed there. Although the stays were not consecutive years, the Inn has been kept up immaculately getting better with every visit! 2. Even if you are a first time guest, you will feel so welcome. Devon, Donna and Michelle have honed the art of bed and breakfast to perfection (it is not like an inn where you feel like you have just walked into someone's private party) and will soon realize the other guests are friendly.... It will feel like "home" to you. You can socialize with others OR keep to yourself. It is, after all, Your Vacation. 3. You can park at the inn and walk across the footbridge into "Downtown Booth Bay Harbor" or you can take the free trolley during the daytime. No need to worry about the lack of parking in town. 4. Sleeping there is GREAT TOO! All rooms have air conditioning but most of the time you'll not need it. The bedding is wonderfully comfortable and there are chairs on the porch and balcony rooms as well as the cottage. Of course, all rooms have nicely appointed chairs, TV (if you want it), and WIFI (if you need it). 5. Disclaimer: I know this might sound like a sales pitch from an owner but be assured I (We, my wife and I) are not. We just love this location so much we gush with recommending it to family, friends, and now the internet community. 6. P.S. we also recommend the Cabbage Island Lobster Bake trip on a privately owned island. The boat to the island runs all summer and it is an experience to remember. Fort William Henry is also a short drive away. You can use Google to find the times and pricing

Room Tip: Quietest would be the cottage. All rooms are great. Bliss and Beauty have outdoor private balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyjak_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#8 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#5 of 14 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
1.7 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#3 of 14 in Boothbay Harbor
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Boothbay Harbor
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Ark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Ark Inn

Address: 62 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £120 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Ark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantic Ark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Ark Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing