We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave, be glad to go back....”
Review of Atlantic Ark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Ark Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2006

We visited the Atlantic Ark Inn in sept '06 for a 7 night stay as part of our honeymoon. We had done our homework with looking around for serene locations in New England and finally came across Boothbay. We then stumbled across the Atlantic Ark Inn! What a hidden little treasure.. We stayed in room 6 which is aptly known as "Bliss", it has beautiful views of the harbour and the light pours into the room all day long.
If you're looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway then we cannot recommend this quaint little B&B enough.
The owner of the Inn is a lovely lady by the name of Donna and is only too keen to point you in the right direction for a good meal or a good day out, so if you need to relax or just get away from it all for a while give this Inn a try. You won't be disappointed....

Kevin & Julie, England UK

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ironbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2006

We were at the Atlantic Ark Inn for our honeymoon. We stayed for 8 nights. The room we stayed in was the "Bliss" room, which had a private jacuzzi tub and private balcony. It was wonderful. The room was always cleaned well by two women each day. Each night we were left a evening snack.

The balcony was small, but there was enough space for the two of us. From the bed there was a very beautiful view of the harbor. My wife and I sleep better with a fan going, so I mentioned that to them when I booked the trip. They had a great fan for us to use. The parking was small, but we had enough space for our midsize rental vehicle.

Each morning Donna and Skip (the hosts) had delicious breakfasts waiting for us, like raspberry french toast. In our long stay there we only had the same breakfast one time.

We'd go back to the Atlantic Ark Inn in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limasbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

This was where we spent our honeymoon. We are both world travelers and really enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and little touches Donna and her staff treat her guests to.

This bed and breakfast was centrally located in one of the most picturesque area of Maine. I don't want to say too many good things about this great place because we do want them to have vacancies for us in the near future.

You will enjoy it thoroughly.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArcticTravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
WINDSOR CONN.
1
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Our second visit to Atlantic Ark Inn was as pleasant as the frist time. We stay in our own beautiful cabin with views of the bay. The great amenities, gourment breakfast and the hospitality by the propietor Donna made us feel at home. We hope to be back next year to celebrate our 50TH.
TOM&PAULETTE
P.S. Walking distance to most parts of the harbor is a big plus.

Stayed: June 2006
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2004

After doing research on where to go in the mid-coast Maine, we settled on Boothbay Harbor and the Atlantic Ark Inn. When we arrived and found the B&B across from the "Cap-n-Fish" Hotel and Parking lot we wondered how folks who reviewed this considered this near the ocean or Harbor. The web site considered this a "serene" B&B and we opted for the best room in the house with all the windows and "views" as others had posted. We were very disappointed in that the ark is on the main street and that the traffic continued into late in the evening with the street noise of cars covering up any "sounds of the sea" as the promotional info states. Things got quiet after the bars closed and didn't start up until around 6AM. As for views, we overlooked parking lots, businesses, and other hotels....not an ideal location by the sea. Inside the Inn is comfortable and fair but not the best B&B we have stayed in so we would encourage others to temper their expectations of this location.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank papat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2004

What a delight! My husband and I were fortunate enough to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary at the Atlantic Ark Inn in Boothbay Harbor in the extra special room "Bliss". The thirteen windows, oceanview, private balcony and two person jacuzzi was a dream come true! Also, the special touches of fresh flowers, bed turndown with cookies, cheese and crackers in the afternoon and a wonderful breakfast each morning added to the pleasures of this romantic place. The Cottage would also be a very romantic spot for a getaway. Don't miss this bed and breakfast!!

4  Thank Rshaw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mechanicsburg, PA
13
Reviewed 13 April 2004

My wife and I have stayed in more B&Bs than I can remember along the Middle Atlantic Coast, and this is our favorite. Boothbay Harbour is a gorgeous little town, and Donna, the Innkeeper, knows it well. She is a charming and gracious host (not to mention an excellent cook).We have stayed at several B&Bs that are not "kid-friendly." The Atlantic Arc has a small cottage in the back where parents can stay with their children.When we arrived at the Atlantic Ark Inn, we were greeted warmly, handed a glass of wine, and sent for a walk along the coast, with directions to the local memorial to fishermen who were lost at sea. It was the perfect ending to a long day of driving, and a wonderful introduction to what has become our favorite Maine town.Donna recommended several restaurants (one an upscale restaurant, another a seafood house popular with the local residents, the others typical for a small tourist town), and we were never disappointed.My only disappointment is that the Atlantic Ark is a ten-hour drive for us, so we don't get to visit as often as we would like.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#3 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Ark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Ark Inn

Address: 62 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £113 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Ark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantic Ark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Ark Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing