We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Elegance at the Ark” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Ark Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Atlantic Ark Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Elegance at the Ark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

The Atlantic Ark Inn in Boothbay Harbor is a wonderful find. It is immaculate, very tastefully decorated, well located, graced with an incredibly warm and accommodating innkeeper in Donna, offers great harbor views, amazing breakfasts, interesting fellow guests - what more is there?? The rooms are serene and tranquil and provide views of the Harbor. Some of the rooms have private decks perfect for sipping wine and watching the Harbor activity. Donna is the perfect hostess providing fresh flowers in all rooms, breakfast that is both delicious and a work of art in presentation, and many other little touches that give the Inn its welcoming atmosphere. My only regret was that I had only two nights to spend at the Ark - I look forward to visiting again - hopefully in the very near future and recommend this Inn as a truly special experience.

  • Liked — Extraordinary cleanliness; hospitality; decor; food; location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medford_MACoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    25
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
206
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2007

We stayed at Atlantic Ark for three days shortly before Memorial Day. The entire experience was superb. Donna, our innkeeper, was completely attentive and responsive to all of our needs.
The location is on the "far side" of the footbridge. It was completely quiet with spectacular views of Boothbay (proper) from our private patio.
Our room was "Beauty" on the second floor. The room was thoroughly comfortable, with a large bath, spacious shower/tub and good bathroom lighting. There's plenty of closet and bureau storeage space.
Breakfasts were delicious, with innovative approaches. Donna prepared just enough food for a great start to the day.
We've stayed in lots of B&Bs over the years and put Atlantic Ark at the top of our list.

  • Liked — Donna, the innkeeper; fantastic facility; gorgeous views
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont / massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2006

Great place to stay...stayed in the room on the top floor...def. spend the xtra money for this private room...immaculate bathroom with jacuzzi and huge windows, great porch to read on overlooking the harbor, great value for what i spent.. Amazing homecooked breakfast in the AM...was only there one night, but I loved it, the bed looks out the window over the harbor, great view to wake up to...cant beat it for the money...also, spend extra $$ and go to the spruce point inn for diinner, exceptional service

  • Liked — The Room and Breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rgd1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2006

My friend had heard about this Inn from others we know. After an exhausting business ordeal, we headed up to Boothbay Harbor. The inn was spotless, warm and inviting. Donna, the owner, was a doll--helpful, sweet and professional. Our room had a lovely view of the harbor, soft sheets, and an immaculate bath. We met the most interesting travellers at breakfast which Donna cooked and served herself. It was scrumptious.

The area was most relaxing to walk around in the early evening with a bridge crossing the harbor steps from the Inn. Shopping was during the discount period in Maine; so I picked up many holiday presents. Seafood restaurants in the area were still open with lots of lobster dishes. I particularly loved reading in Donna's peaceful living room in the late morning with the sun streaming through the front windows.

All in all, we had a thoroughly relaxing stay. Loved it.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

Atlantic Ark Inn, Boothbay Harbor, Maine

We spent 4 nights and 5 days here, in a cottage very close to and just behind the main house, appropriately called "Solitude". It was lovely, well-appointed and furnished, and spacious, with an electric fireplace which gave it great ambiance and coziness. Although we were not in the main inn (there are 5 rooms in the main house), we spent time in the main inn, enjoying savory and nutritious breakfasts served elegantly and with attention to detail. Our fellow guests were interesting and wonderful people with whom we shared stories and our time. In the afternoons, Donna the innkeeper would put out delicious gourmet cheese and crackers along with herbal tea and hot mulled cider. We enjoyed the freedom of being able to go into the kitchen and help ourselves to tea, cider, or water, anytime of day or night. We have stayed in many bed and breakfast establishments, and this ranked up there with the best of them. Although we live in the midwest and geographically, Boothbay Harbor is nowhere close to us, we are making plans to visit more of New England in the near future, at which time Boothbay Harbor will be revisited, and we hope to stay at the Atlantic Ark Inn once again.

  • Liked — ambiance, location, breakfast, friendliness, a home away from home feeling
  • Disliked — missed having an indoor pool or jacuzzi
  • Tips/Secrets — ideal for relaxation, time away from the rest of the world, great food, hiking, biking, exploring the outdoors
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emgeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at the Atlantic Ark Inn Bed &
Breakfast in Boothbay Harbor, Maine. The Bliss Room is truly
elegant , beautiful and comfortable with a panoramic view of
the harbor. We cannot sing enough praises about our hostess,
Donna Piggott, for her delicious breakfasts and gracious
hospitality. Autumn is a perfect time of year to visit as you
do not have the summer crowds. We enjoyed our stay so
much that we plan to visit next year and repeat our fabulous
fall visit.

Janice & Gary Palmacci
Leominster, Massachusetts

  • Liked — room, view, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — ask hostess about places to visit, dine, etc.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

We have visited Maine on many occasions and have stayed at several B & B, but Atlantic Ark Inn made our "favorites" list. The room "Bliss" was wonderful. The food was absolutely delicious!
Donna's hospitality was beyond our expectations. We loved the cozy setting of this quaint and beautiful Inn. We can't wait to return and enjoy again!!

  • Liked — room/food/hospitality
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Tips/Secrets — Book reservations early
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank classicbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Ark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Ark Inn

Property: Atlantic Ark Inn
Address: 62 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Ark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Ark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Ark Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing