We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Picture Isn't Always What It Looks Like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Picture Isn't Always What It Looks Like”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I spent a lot of time looking for a place to stay in Boothbay so I thought I knew what to expect when I choose the "honeymoon suite'" at The Harborage Inn. Unfortunatly the photos were deceiving in my opnion. Ocean side only pertains to high tide otherwise you look out at mud! The room it's self appeared much larger in the photos, and there really wasn't any privacy or private deck. It was part of an area that was reserved for that room. Unfortunately everyone walked up the stairs into this area to get to their rooms. And the views were mud or the building next door. The extra money they ask for this room is only because there is a large jetted tub. We didn't think it was worth the money! Breakfast was outside on the deck only. At no point did you enter a common area or inside space other than our small room. We wondered where people ate if it was cold or raining? I would suggest staying somewhere futher out the bay for a better view. Not a place I would return to!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborage, Owner at Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay.

We try to be very clear & straight forward on our website about what our Inn offers and with a multitude of room information (very detailed room descriptions, brand new room photography within the past 3 years when we completely renovated our Inn and 360 degree virtual tours) we find the vast majority of our guests happily exclaim, "Looks just like the photos!"

We consider ourselves a hybrid between a luxury inn and a bed & breakfast which means our Deluxe & Oceanfront rooms (9 of our 11 rooms) are significantly larger than most typical B&B's and The Honeymoon Suite is indeed 500 square feet (with the huge spa bathroom 150 sq' of that total space). We offer all the amenities & special touches of a B&B while providing our guests Brand New, Large Rooms/Suites & Spacious Bathrooms with their own deck entrances.

Regarding privacy, we offer over 3,000 sq. feet of covered decking on 3 levels (we have only 3 to 4 rooms per floor) for all of our 11 rooms to enjoy harbor views & to have direct deck access & room entrances. The Honeymoon Suite offers a reserved corner deck with no other guest sitting within 15 feet. The room is a corner end location with 2 walls of picture windows which allows the guests to pull the deck windows closed for privacy and yet still offer direct harbor views of the water from the end windows. We are sorry that this did not feel private enough for you.

Regarding our breakfasts seating, we offer several areas for guests to dine for our morning breakfasts. We do in fact have an indoor parlor that has four tables for indoor seating that is open every morning for guests so we apologize that that was not communicated to you properly.
We also offer outdoor seating on our covered deck for guests seeking to eat outside to take in the beautiful views of coastal Boothbay Harbor. Guests can also take their breakfast back on trays to their room and enjoy their breakfast in privacy. The room you stayed in has a private table and chairs in suite for guests to enjoy their morning breakfast.

We are located in downtown Boothbay Harbor on the ocean within walking distance to all shops, restaurants & our town's boating activities which stem from its port location. Boothbay Harbor is a narrow harbor w/land on both sides & has a 12-14 foot tidal change every 6 hours (its been referred to as a smaller Bay of Fundy) . This shallow & naturally sheltered harbor allows us to be a perfectly protected port from the harsh weather elements (recent hurricanes, winter storms, etc) but yet the close proximity to the outer ocean allows for a myriad of boating related activities. In fact our name "Harborage" is a nautical word for a safe harbor & without this high & low tide effect, Boothbay Harbor wouldn't have been founded as a harbor & port town in this exact spot. I realize that you folks were only here for 1 night and with check in time 3pm and check out at 11am I apologize if the tides didn't co-operate.

This Inn has been in my family for over 40 years and within the past 3-4 years we have rebuilt & renovated our Inn completely with our guests comfort & creating memorable vacations as a paramount intention. We thank you for staying with us and appreciate your feedback. Wishing you the very best.

Kindly,
Emery & Troy
Owners, The Harborage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    43
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
254
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent 10 days at Harbourage Inn and the service was excellent. We used the Inn as a base for touring around the area up as far as Bar Harbour and down to Portland.
The town is delightful and within walking distance so ideal for eating out in the evenings. A variety of restaurants to cater for most tastes. All in all a great place to stay and wonderful state to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_traveller170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We just returned from 6 nights in Boothbay Harbor, Maine and we stayed at the incredible Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront. These rooms are meticulously decorated. They are spacious, luxuriously comfortable and lack nothing when it comes to making you feel at home. The breakfasts are gourmet (really) and the owners and staff care about every detail. The views are charming and the location cannot be beat. This inn is THE place to stay in Boothbay Harbor, Maine. We will be going back .... no doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj0nesbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The town itself was a little more touristy than we expected, but the inn was super nice, and owners could not have been more hospitable. We especially enjoyed a local Italian restaurant, which they recommended to us, called Ports of Italy. Great views, and fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivandDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our second visit in the last three weeks to the Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront in Boothbay Harbor. This is the BEST place we have ever stayed in. I consider my wife and me seasoned travelers. Last year, we took 59 days to travel 12,100 miles across the U.S. We visited 31 States and stayed in hotels or National Park lodges every night. We have been on a number of cruises including the Mediterranean, the Baltic Sea, Alaska, Bermuda, and the Caribbean. So, I feel as if I am talking from experience when I say the Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront in Boothbay is the BEST hotel my wife and I have ever visited. From the time you arrive and greeted by either Innkeeper Dawn, who lives on the premises so she is there to answer any and all questions, or Inn co-owner Emery, you are made to feel incredibly welcomed. The rooms are immaculate and each is decorated as if it was done by Laura Ashley. You would want to stay in your room the entire stay if it weren't for a porch that beckons you to come out and read or watch the tide come in or out. Each morning, there is an incredible gourmet breakfast waiting for you. One morning we had Creme brule French toast, while another we had Maine picked blueberry pancakes. And, we haven't even mentioned the unbelievable sticky buns we had a third morning. Rather have yogurt and fruit? That's available, too. At some point, you might want to leave the Inn and take a two-minute walk into Boothbay Harbor. There are too many restaurants to mention but please save room for ice cream at one of the shops. And, speaking of shops, there are many gift shops, each having different items from which to choose. If you have a car, be sure to visit the coastal Maine botanical gardens. But, for us, the lure of Boothbay Harbor is the Harborage Inn. We have already made our reservations to return there next August for the Rockland, ME Lobster Festival. But, we won't be able to wait that long as we hope to return next spring.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have a panoramic view of the water. They are a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Harborage Inn is a quaint place to stay! It's beautifully tended gardens are a welcome sight. The rooms are very homey and comfortable. The staff is welcoming and attentive. From the yummy gourmet breakfast to the turn down service at night, what more could you ask for? Be sure to follow the recommendations for dinner and places you must see! They know what they are talking about! The Harborage is just a short distance away from the "downtown" area. You could not go wrong by staying at The Harborage Inn in Boothbay Harbor, Maine!

Room Tip: Any room would be considered a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from this amazing Inn. I booked the honeymoon suite deciding to try Boothbay for the first time. He was reluctant to stay at an Inn because he likes his privacy. We were both pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our time here. The room was immaculate, bright, tastefully decorated and spacious. The bed comfortable, walls very well insulated. It had a Jacuzzi tub, great a/c (it was humid), ceiling fan, gas firestove, tv, refrigerator w/ ice trays, CD/alarm clock, coffeemaker/hotpot. We liked the outside entrance, with private table/chairs on the balcony where we ate Dawn's delicious breakfasts! She was friendly and so accommodating, bringing me a cup of milk to keep in our fridge for my tea. We also enjoyed the outside hot tub and yummy cookies! We were concerned about low tide before arriving, but were glad to find it didn’t smell.We enjoyed the boats in the harbor, and restaurants /shops all a short walk. Dawn suggested the short drive to Ocean Point…Fantastic! We walked, climbed, and had a picnic on the rocks. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking to stay in Boothbay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you want the best view of the bay, stay on the top floor. Also, room 11 is a corner room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLA0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Property: Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Address: 75 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborage Inn, completely rebuilt with new construction in 2011, where luxury first class accommodations meet the tranquil peace of the Maine coast. We offer all the modern amenities of a boutique inn with the comfort & charm of a relaxing oceanfront Bed & Breakfast. Our spacious Deluxe Rooms & Oceanfront Suites with panoramic water views of the harbor, oversized bathrooms, and sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are the reason we have welcomed decades of returning guests year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborage Inn On The Oceanfront Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing