We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
Candia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a great time. Beautiful spot and very convenient to down town. We stayed in 2 different rooms but both were decorated tastefully in Laura Ashley design. Beds were awesome and I loved the bathrobes that were supplied with the room. Breakfast was outstanding, all made from scratch with local, fresh ingredients. It was our first visit to Booth Bay Harbor but not our last. We will stay here again, loved it!

Room Tip: Honeymoon sweet had a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    43
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
250
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Harborage Inn from Oct 11-14, 2013 with 2 other couples to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary! I am going to be doing my review in sections as I think it will be easier for people to read.

Check In

We arrived at the Harborage around 1.30PM after a 7 hour trip up from NYC. There is a parking lot right on site in the back of the house with ample parking for everyone. We went into the office and were greeted by Troy Chapman, one of the owners of the Inn, who is a pleasure to deal with. When making my reservations he was extremely helpful and very efficient. Check in went quite smoothly. Troy then proceeded to show us a map of Boothbay Harbor with all the different sites and restaurants in the town. Harborage is very conveniently located to the center of everything. The Inn is located just a few blocks from the piers and all the restaurants and shops. If you are going into the center of town, you do not need to take your car.

The Room

Troy then proceeded to show us all to our rooms. My husband and I had Room #8 and our friends had rooms #7 and #6 which are all next to each other, located on the 3rd floor. We had a corner room with a most amazing view!! I felt like I was looking at a postcard as you can see from my pictures. The room looks exactly like it does on the website and in the brochure. The furnishings were really lovely. There was a king size bed, flat screen TV with DirectTV and HBO. Located in the room are two dressers, a table with 2 chairs that has lovely vase and a tea set on it with different teas for your drinking pleasure. There is also an ice bucket and 2 wine glasses. You will also find a 2 door fridge/freezer with ice cube trays and ample room to store any food and/or drinks that you may bring with you. The room is equipped with a Keurig Coffee Maker with little individual coffee pods. My husband would have a cup of coffee every morning and I would have tea. A window air conditioner unit, ceiling fan with light and central heating are also in the room.

If you are a clean freak, then this Inn is for you, as you will not find one speck of dust at The Harborage! The room is spotless and so are the grounds and common areas.

The bathroom is well appointed and quite large. You will find a large sink and vanity with a big mirror, a small table where you can keep your toiletries on and a shower/tub combination. There are also Gilchrist and Soames shampoo, conditioner and body lotion for your convenience. What I thought was an excellent touch was the addition of a black makeup face towel so the ladies can take off our mascara without making a white towel black!! I'm sure this was Emery's idea! Thanks!! :) They also give you a makeup remover towelette as well.

The housekeeping staff will make up your room every day with fresh towels and tidy up the room, so when you return in the afternoon it will look like you are arriving for the first time. They do a fabulous job!

There are no inside hallways at this property or elevators so if you have trouble walking up steps, you should choose a first floor room as there are only about 3 steps from the front of the Inn. There are also about 2500 square feet of covered porches with little tables and chairs. Our room had a reserved space in front just for our usage but we took over 4 more chairs so the 6 of us could sit out there together. We would have drinks on the deck in the evening and it was just lovely looking out at Boothbay Harbor.

The Property

The property around the Inn is kept very well and in the back down by the harbor there is a large hot tub. You just have to let Troy know in advance so he can heat it up for you as it takes a few hours to get fully hot. I didn’t go in the tub, but my husband and 2 of our friends did and they said it was great. There are also tables and chairs on the lawn for you to sit out and enjoy the view of the harbor as well as a dock with a float.

Breakfast

If breakfast is your favorite meal of the day, then you are in for a real treat!! Breakfast is a big deal at the Inn and is made by Emery Chapman, Troy’s lovely wife! You will have the choice of having breakfast out on the porch, in the breakfast room or you can take a tray back up to your room, if you would want a private breakfast. Served buffet style are the coffee, juices (orange and grapefruit), oatmeal, granola, different flavor yogurts and homemade bread or croissants made fresh by Emery. Every day Emery alternates between a sweet or savory dish which will be served to you. The three main dishes that we had are French Puffed Pastry with Black Forest Ham and Swiss, Quiche with Caramelized Onions and Asiago Cheese and Blueberry Crème Brulee French Toast with Vanilla Infused Whipped Cream. All amazingly delicious!

If you are hungry after a long afternoon of sightseeing or shopping, outside of the breakfast room there are fresh apples and delicious local apple cider to enjoy!

We all had a wonderful stay at Harborage Inn! Emery and Troy thank you so much for making our time there so enjoyable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but if you want an amazing view of the harbor, take room #8 on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comanche, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

What can I say....I had researched Boothbay Harbor for months before calling the Harborage and talking to Troy. He gave me honest, accurate details of the rooms I was considering for a mother/daughter vacation and he was right on target for our needs. Room #12 was spotless and beautiful. We had our private balcony overlooking the harbor, a windowed sitting area looking out to the harbor with love seat, TV, electric fireplace and all other amenities you could want. My daughter took the private bedroom while I took the double bed tucked neatly in the other room. We could walk a few steps in the morning and breakfast was ready for us. A couple of days Emory, the best cook and Innkeeper's wife in Boothbay, brought breakfast to our room. The food was delicious, the coffee and juices fresh. The best apple cider was ready for us in the afternoon. Troy and Emory are a delightful young couple who truly know how to take care of their guests. Do not miss out on this Inn while you are visiting Boothbay.

Room Tip: Call Troy and he will help you decide the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our first visit to Maine and is one of the best weeks of vacation we have ever had. Our friends recommended the Inn and it exceeded our expectations. Troy and Emory, the Inn Keepers are delightful. They looked after us so well, sharing helpful information and ideas regarding places of interest and where to eat. The breakfasts that Emory provided every morning were wonderful. They were not only beautifully presented, but tasted fantastic! We really fell in love with the area and the whole experience was enhanced by Troy and Emory's care and professional approach. We would return in a heartbeat. The Inn is clean, comfortable, provides many lovely in room touches in keeping with its character and the view is breathtaking.
Sad to leave, but looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: If the top floor is available then grab a room on that floor. Best is No. 8, but any on this floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

When we arrived, we were shown to our room (and I use the term loosely) by a very welcoming and affable Troy. Troy took time to show us around the Inn and the best spots in Boothbay Harbor, but the room, and I strongly advise you not to take room 4, was tiny. The bathroom was so small that the basin had to be put in the bedroom. We took turns to get dressed, there was not enough room for both of us to get ready at the same time. Now I have to say that we only spent one night in that room and we were also to blame as we booked quite late. The next two nights were spent in a larger room but I recommend you try for a corner room or the larger room on the top floor. The quality of the food for breakfast was high but there was no option. my companion does not eat sweets and we were told that they alternate sweet one day and savoury the next, that means that if you don't eat sweets you may only enjoy 50% of your breakfasts. When we asked for something different on the morning of a sweet blueberry French toast day, you would think that just putting another egg into the mix and making scrambled eggs would not be that difficult but was we received was a single boiled egg on its own on a plate. We also had to ask for plain toast bc the only toast available was a sweet apple and cinnamon toast. Two days before in Portland we stayed at a B&B and had four amazing choices for breakfast. despite all of this the inn keepers were very helpful and engaging.

Room Tip: Try to get room 5 if you don't mind three flights of stairs or any corner room. under no circums...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborage, Owner at Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad that you noticed the great pride we take in maintaining the high standard of customer service & quality in our 3 generation family business of over 40 years. I'm glad we were able to find you a last minute room (1 Standard for 1 night and then 1 Deluxe for 2 nights) due to a cancellation last weekend when we were completely booked up.
Please keep in mind for future stays that we do offer 3 different categories of accommodations when selecting a room for our guests budget, length of stay & room size preference. We have 2 typical Victorian era B&B sized Standard rooms & our 9 other rooms (Deluxe, Luxury Oceanfront & Suites) were recently built with new construction in 2009. These 9 rooms have large bathrooms & are very spacious for a typical b&b -- these rooms are sized between 475 to 600 sq feet. I comprehend that you were traveling for over a month across the US & had multiple large suitcases and thus a standard room became very small quickly for the one night. We are glad you found the Deluxe room adequate. Prior guests find our standard sized rooms perfect for a brief stay & for longer stays we do always recommend our much larger Deluxe, Oceanfront or Suites. To compare a standard size room to Suite #5, which is an abnormally large size for a small B&B ( approx. 600 sq' 2 room suite & one of the largest rooms in our town ), is only applicable for guests like yourself whose preference & reference point is an enormous luxury suite, such as in your recent stay in New York City & Chicago.
We do recommend to our guests when making an advance reservation to keep these different room options in mind or to call and speak with the Innkeeper to help find a room that will provide them with a most comfortable stay that will suit their specific room needs.
We serve our Gourmet Full Breakfast in a Buffet style which allows our guests many options each morning for a most filling start of the day: 3 cereals (1 granola, 1 gluten free & a hot oatmeal), 2 breads (both artisan quality - Cinnamon Raison & French Peasant), 2 Yogurts (Plain - Greek & one w/fruit) 3 different fresh fruits & a featured hot dish that changes daily. We happily cater to our many guests with dietary restrictions (Celiac-gluten free, dairy allergies, hypo-glycemic, etc). We do ask those guests to allow us to serve the majority of the Inn the buffet & main course at 8:30am and within 20 minutes we can individually prepare something specifically suitable for their medical diet. When you informed us (@ 8:40) you couldn't eat the French Toast we thus offered you a choice of scramble eggs within 15 minutes or a hard boiled egg served immediately, which due to your schedule your preferred the quicker option. We are very happy that you found our breakfast quality satisfactory as each item we offer is selectively hand picked for its high quality and a vast amount of our breakfast is procurred from local, Organic farms.
We thank you for staying with us and wish you the very best on your travels across the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our first visit to the beautiful state of Maine. There is always a little anxiousness when reserving an overnight stay on-line (at least for me). Everything we had read and saw regarding Harborage Inn was true and then some! Troy and Emery could not be any more of the gracious hosts that they are. From the moment we got there we felt welcomed and were given so much insight as to where to eat, what our accommodations entailed, etc. Breakfasts were awesome, rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones) were clean and cozy with great views and location to Boothbay Harbor was absolutely perfect. On ride back home to NJ, we already talked about returning next year. Thank you Troy & Emery!

Room Tip: Both room #'s 8 and 11 have awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

we were late thinkers...finally made a reservation the week before the holiday...we knew we would have to move to another room an the second night...and it all went without a hitch...the breakfasts are excellent...the front desk very helpful with a choice for dinner....and the rooms we had were both excellent....if there is a weakness...although not sure it is one, there is not really a public common area where you might find new friends by interacting with them.....but all in all and excellent accomadation...excellent owners....and excellent rooms....we will be back !!!!

Room Tip: ask for the corner room and the third floor...you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineCouple207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Property: Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Address: 75 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborage Inn, completely rebuilt with new construction in 2009-10, where luxury first class accommodations meet the tranquil peace of the Maine coast. We offer all the modern amenities of a boutique inn with the comfort & charm of a relaxing oceanfront Bed & Breakfast. Our spacious Deluxe Rooms & Oceanfront Suites with panoramic water views of the harbor, oversized bathrooms, and sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are the reason we have welcomed decades of returning guests year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborage Inn On The Oceanfront Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing