We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid harborage Inn if you want a good B&B experience in Boothbay Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2002

I have been to Boothbay Harbor for over 20 years. For the past four years my wife and I have stayed at the Atlantic Arc Inn, the Footbridge Inn, the Greenleaf Inn, and the Harborage Inn, which was this year, June 2002. Staying at the Harborage was the worst B&B experience we have ever had - anywhere. Although the Inn itself is nice and has views from the end of the harbor, the service and atmoshere was below average. Noise is a major issue, especially for rooms near the street. We were woken up one day at 5:50am by the sounds of people cleaning up the streets with portable leaf blowers. We went to talk to the Innkeeper at 6:30am to see what they could do and were told that WE could call the town if we wanted. Later that day, we were told by the Innkeeper that she "did us a favor and called the town" and there was nothing that could be done. She followed by telling us that we woke her up and she was pretty rude about it. Last I checked, when you stay at a B&B or Inn, you are PAYING for a service and don't expect to get woken up before 6am. Next day, same thing in the am. Also, if you like to be cool when you sleep, expect to be very hot at the Harborage. There is no A/C in any of the rooms and very little breeze makes it into any of them. The wrap around porch is nice, but allows anyone to walk by and look in so it's hard to keep the windows open w/out also having the shades drawn. If you want ICE, good luck getting more than a few cubes from a tray that you need to ask for each day. And when I had asked if I could put a bag of ice that I bought in the Inn's freezer, I was told "there isn't any room." As for breakfast, there is supposed to be a continental one which is serve yourself. Well, 2 of the 3 days we were there, there was nothing when we went down a little before 8am and if there was something after it was totally gone by 9:15am when we looked again. With all the places to stay in Boothbay,
I can't see why anyone would throw away their money on the Harborage. Of the places we have stayed in the last four years, ranked best to worst, they are: (1) Greenleaf Inn; (2) Footbridge Inn; (3) Atlantic Arc Inn; (4) Harborage. The first 3 are all in a category far above the Harborage, it isn't even close.

HARBORAGE HIGH POINTS:
(1) Inn was clean
(2) 1 innkeeper was nice (Troy). The Inn has been in his family for 30 yrs.
(3) Good parking, can accomodate larger SUV-type vehicles
(4) Walking distance to town center/shops/Piers

HARBORAGE LOW POINTS:
(1) Noisy location
(2) No A/C (rooms hot)
(3) 1 Innkeeper (Emery) was unaccomadating & had a very poor attitude
(4) No Icemaker
(5) Housekeeping maid service keeps bothering you

27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 370 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sommergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborage, Manager at Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bertolotti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborage, Owner at Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lunablu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
317 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Blue Heron Seaside Inn
#12 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
216 reviews
0 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#8 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Address: 75 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £134 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborage Inn, completely rebuilt with new construction in 2011, where luxury first class accommodations meet the tranquil peace of the Maine coast. We offer all the modern amenities of a boutique inn with the comfort & charm of a relaxing oceanfront Bed & Breakfast. Our spacious Deluxe Rooms & Oceanfront Suites with panoramic water views of the harbor, oversized bathrooms, and sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are the reason we have welcomed decades of returning guests year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborage Inn On The Oceanfront Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing