We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Bayberry House is a charming B & B. The decor was very homey and comfortable. Chris made plentyful gourmet breakfasts that kept us satisfied until dinner. We were treated like family so much so that even though we only stayed two nights but were sad to leave. The location was great, close enough to downtown for a short stroll. And if you needed a cab ride back it only cost $5.00. Great place with great people. Thanks Chris and Karine we can't to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba-Steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you so much for the marvelous review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are thinking about coming back. We're also glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts, it really is our intent to have everyone leave the table full and ready to get on with their day's activities in beautiful Boothbay Harbor. Thanks also for letting us know about the cost of the taxi ride, we're always learning new things from our great guests that we can pass along to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
488
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at Bayberry House in mid-april and loved our stay. The B&B is charming and the breakfast was awesome: oven-baked eggs, fruitcups and home-made muffins. The B&B is in walking distance to the main shopping area and harbor. We will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewEnglandTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Firstly, we really appreciate your very complimentary review, we are so happy you enjoyed yourself at Bayberry House! We are also glad you enjoyed your breakfast, Chris takes pride in offering tasty meals, made with fresh ingredients, and served fresh off the stove. One of the reasons we bought Bayberry House is its convenient location to downtown. We wholeheartedly agree that being able to walk just about anywhere in town in five or ten minutes is so nice. Again, thanks for the great review and we hope you'll visit us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Bayberry Inn is a delightful B&B, hosted by the most pleasant accommodating couple! The rooms were charming, with gas fire stoves, gorgeous bathrooms, and extremely comfortable beds. In the morning a delicious, gourmet breakfast was prepared for us, with enough food to satisfy us through the day! It's an easy walk to the town, so no need to worry about parking in Boothbay! I will definitely come back to the Bayberry Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandyob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments. We absolutely love when our guests enjoy themselves! We have been working hard over the winter to add small touches to our bathrooms to make our guests' experiences at Bayberry House even better, including new towels and guest amenities. We are so happy you liked them. Thanks for saying you will be returning to Bayberry House, we'd love to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

lovely Inn and owners of the Inn. Good location in the area. Exceptional breakfast and very clean...Loved my stay..Very tasteful environment with beautiful decor....I will defineatly return and highly recommend this INN.

Green Features: a wonderful place to stay, very lovely couple that own the Inn. Very clean room and exceptional breakfast, best Inn I have ever stayed at.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Firstly, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your room, we have worked hard to try to retain the Victorian charm of the inn while updating our fittings, furniture, and amenities. Thanks as well for saying nice things about our breakfast. We were so happy to have you stay with us, we'd love to have you back again in summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We went to Boothbay Harbor for a night away from our everyday grind. The one night my friend Marge and I had was wonderful from the rooms to the friendly hosts Chris and Karine. The moment I called and got Chris and his helpfulness in everything I asked about. He went above and beyond printing out directions to the lighthouses and the best restraunts. We walked into a lovely and cozy Victorian home on MLK holiday. It was inpeccably clean, the fire was going and our innkeepers were there to greet us. The rooms were spotless with soft lights. There was all the amenities you would need shampoo, body lotion, hair dryer, and a warm,soft cozy robe. The window dressing shades were interesting, beautiful and easy to use. The bed in my room was a sleep number bed. Marge's room had a little electric fireplace which was nice. All and all we left the Bayberry House feeling that the customer service Chris and Karine brought was outstanding! The breakfast of eggs benedict, juice, coffee, fruit and a sugar free cheese cake was outstanding and made some new friends. I was so pleased when we had mentioned we were diabetic and Chris catered to that request. We will be returning for a longer time in summer. Great place and great little shops close to the ocean........so beautiful!

Room Tip: All the rooms look wonderful. It depends if you want to be upstairs or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlene416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Wow! Firstly, thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review. We love having guests in the winter-time. I know its hard braving the cold, but the beauty of mid-coast Maine in the winter definitely makes the trip worthwhile. We are happy to hear you liked the lighthouses, they each present very distinct aspects of the coastline. We also appreciate your kind words concerning breakfast - we are always happy to cater to dietary restrictions as long as we know what they are. Again, we are overjoyed you loved the inn so much and can't wait to see you again in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This review is overdue. What I have to say is that the bed and breakfast exceeded all of our expectations. From the arrival to the end, everything was perfect. Felt like home, room was clean, AC quiet, bathroom impecable and Chris' breakfasts were like quality restaurant cooked. Boothbay harbor is a lovely little place and Chris recommended restaurants we really enjoyed. The place is definitely quite close enough to all the attractions. Chris, thank you for the memorable stay and we hope to be able to visit again.

Room Tip: Teal room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twujtow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Firstly, thank you so much for your very kind words. We have been so blessed this past year with such wonderful guests as yourselves. We are happy you enjoyed breakfast so much; Chris loves to cook - especially for guests who enjoy the food! Nous serions ravis de recevoir votre visite encore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I went to Bayberry House in early August. It was a spur of the moment decision, and we could only stay for one night. Chris was a warm, gracious and helpful host. Our room was very nice, and the breakfast was excellent. Chris recommended the lighthouse tour for the day we departed and it was a great tip. I love being able to walk down to the village and harbor, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Bayberry House. We are so happy you enjoyed both the inn and Boothbay Harbor. The Boothbay lighthouses are both scenic and convenient, we love it when our guests enjoy them as much as we do. We hope you will plan to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1835 (Formerly Lion d'Or)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayberry House, built in 1886, has undergone extensive renovations in recent years to incorporate 21st-century comforts into its distinctive Victorian charm. There are four rooms and a guest suite; all have private marble-tiled bathrooms with a complimentary range of luxurious eco-friendly amenities by Algotherm. Every room is equipped with AC, Wi-Fi, HDTV with HBO and Showtime, and mini-refrigerators. Most have gas fireplaces. Some have Sleep Number beds. Rates include full gourmet breakfasts, served in three courses. Special dietary needs are readily accommodated by prior arrangement. The inn provides free parking and is conveniently located just steps from the harbor, shops, and restaurants of Boothbay Harbor. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry House Bed And Breakfast
Bayberry House Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing