We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a very nice and warm experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami Lakes, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a very nice and warm experience!”
Reviewed 22 October 2008

The accomodations were really beautiful and very neat. Nice and comfortable rooms and well prepared and served breakfast. The hospitality of Ted and Tim was outstanding. They made us feel so welcomed and treated us as special guests. We only regret not scheduling more days at their place. We will be back. Good job guys!

  • Liked — The hospitality and the neatness.
  • Disliked — Can not think of anything.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
491
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2008

The new owners of this B&B are extremely conscientious to their guests. And their dogs are cute and affectionate too! The rooms are meticulous, full of the latest amenities from sleep number beds, to LCD TV, to temp control bathrooms. The breakfasts each morning were well prepared with the freshest ingredients and service to follow. Not only is this a place to feel like your at a home away from home, but step outside just a few blocks and you are in the heart of Boothbay with a huge selection of restaurants and sights. Every morning was spent taking a bike ride on a different route from the B&B that led to more suprising discoveries. Not only is this a great place to stay, but it is very well positioned in proximity of the town. A place to return to each year, if not more!

  • Liked — sophisticated but historical atmosphere, but with the latest techno amenities
  • Disliked — nothing !
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank savvynetizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Had a wonderful night and great breakfast the following morning. Room had new tile bath and entire property has been renovated. Breakfast included fresh blueberry pankcakes and all registeration and food all handled directly by owners who were very helpful. Close to the coast and delightful small downtown area. I would highly recommend.

  • Liked — room & breakfast
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aspenChicago_Il_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed here the last night of our honeymoon. Unfortunately the weather was terrible, but our room (crimson) was warm and cozy, and the innkeepers were helpful about where to go for dinner. They were so sweet and put a bottle of wine in our room with a 'congratulations' note.
The bed was very comfortable. My only complaint was the street noise, but that is no fault of the inn. People drive way too fast on that street.
Breakfast was good, and they were wonderful about my diet restrictions (vegetarian.) Overall a great experience.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfort, helpful/friendly innkeepers
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I stayed at Bayberry House for 5 nights. This B&B is newly renovated, and I was impressed by the stunningly gorgeous kitchen that visitors see when they walk through the front door. Next to the open kitchen are the living and dining areas, both very comfortable and inviting. A grandfather clock, one of many antiques throughout the B&B, is located centrally to all three spaces, and we were told that the uncle of one of the owners made the clock. Its chimes further enhanced the home-like atmosphere.

My room was even lovlier than I expected. I selected the Sage Room simply because I'm partial to green, and its photos looked wonderful on their web site. I arrived in Maine with a backache, so the fact that my room had a Sleep Number bed and recliners turned out to be a stroke of luck! Everything was clean and could easily have passed the white glove test.

As for the breakfasts, yum-yum! Each morning, guests were offered freshly-prepared fresh fruit salad, hot coffee/tea, fruit juice, muffin, and the breakfast entree du jour (for example, apple oven pancake, cheese omelette, or lobster quiche, just to name a few). The table was set beautifully (but not so formally that you're afraid to touch anything!) and the hosts were attentive to our every breakfast need. This was not my first B&B experience but what made this one particularly unique was the engaging presence of the hosts during breakfast, and the conversations and interactions with guests. We learned so much about them and about the house, especially with all the renovations that had been done earlier this year. I stayed in a B&B near Bar Harbor last year for about a week, and we rarely saw the hosts beyond check-in and check-out. Compared to that, staying at Bayberry House felt like I was visiting the home of good friends or favorite relatives.

The only negative comment about my entire trip was the fact that my backache prohibited me from seeing more of the town, but I'm glad that Bayberry House turned out to be a "good fit" for my predicament.

I have made plans to stay at Bayberry House again, and will be bringing other family members and friends with me.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Madge64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

It was delightful to stay at Bayberry House on my first trip to Maine. The renovations to the House along with personal touches in each room are especially impressive. I stayed in the Lilac Room on the first floor and to smell the coffee and breakfast preparations each morning was so comforting.

I met lovely people and the innkeepers are especially thoughtful and full of good conversation.

Along with the personal touches I mentioned earlier, the rooms are first class and ergonomically sound.

I will return next year.

  • Liked — quality of grounds, interior, rooms; great food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LowBrassRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Hi,

We stayed at the BayBerry House Bed and Breakfast for one night recently. I have no idea what a Bay Berry is but whatever.

The place is very close to the heart of downtown BoothBay, Maine where all the touristy shops are located. I don't really like Boothbay because of all the tourists (myself included) but if for whatever reason you need to stay somewhere, this B and B is excellent (although not perfect).

The place is IMMACULATE and very new. We stayed in the Teal or Tea room and it was clean and bright and new. The amenities are quite modern, flat screen TVs on wall braces, comfy firm beds, spotless bathrooms with just the right touches. Our bathroom toilet (can't speak for the rest of them) even had a lid speed reducer (i have no idea what the formal name for this is) in case you accidentally let the lid fall after peeing and it prevents that awful loud noise. It's so cool. Unnecessary for someone like me because I am so anal (no pun intended) retentive I would never let a toilet lid drop.

The propieter, Ted, seemed eager to show us around. He pointed out where the standard coffee and cookies and snacks were located, and it was all very pleasant.

So, I recommend this B and B, assuming you like B and B's and don't mind all the chit chat with the owners and fellow guests at breakfast.

The problem with this place is that it is not an amazing location. It's just on a regular street about 5 minutes walk from the center of town. Very residential. Very quiet, but a little boring, but this is no one's fault.

And the B and B itself is really just a large house with many rooms and amenities, but it is lacking a certain all around "special" ness that some spectacular B and B's have. There's nothing that can be done about the locaton, but maybe the furniture needs to be a little older. The breakfast dining tables seemed a little cramped and boring looking. Modern, but boring. In my opinion, of course.

I would return to this place, but it is not memorable in any particular way and it is certainly not particularly romantic. It's just a very pleasant, clean, place to stay. that's all.

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — The unremarkable decoration in comparison to other places.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BessaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1835 (Formerly Lion d'Or)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayberry House, built in 1886, has undergone extensive renovations in recent years to incorporate 21st-century comforts into its distinctive Victorian charm. There are four rooms and a guest suite; all have private marble-tiled bathrooms with a complimentary range of luxurious eco-friendly amenities by Algotherm. Every room is equipped with AC, Wi-Fi, HDTV with HBO and Showtime, and mini-refrigerators. Most have gas fireplaces. Some have Sleep Number beds. Rates include full gourmet breakfasts, served in three courses. Special dietary needs are readily accommodated by prior arrangement. The inn provides free parking and is conveniently located just steps from the harbor, shops, and restaurants of Boothbay Harbor. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry House Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Bayberry House Bed And Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing