We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Nights in Boothbay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tyrone, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 Nights in Boothbay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Bayberry. The owner Chris was so welcoming and helpful with recommendations on restaurants and things to do in Boothbay. The rooms were very nice and clean and we were served an excellent breakfast each morning. We really hated to leave!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanC958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about Bayberry House. We love to help our guests experience everything there is to see and do in Boothbay Harbor and the surrounding area. We absolutely love it here and want our guests to enjoy it as well. The only problem is that there are too many great restaurants to experience in one trip! Hopefully, you will return to try some more - We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
487
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We're, my wife and I, from WV, but this was our fifth visit to Boothbay Harbor in the past 15 or so years. Love it there. But our first stay ever at the Bayberry House, for this year's Windjammers Day festivities. Chris was a wonderful host from the get go. He also goes the extra mile to make sure you have a delightful breakfast. He makes sure to fit any food restrictions to your requirements. We stayed in the two room suite downstairs and it was so comfortable. A older house, but modernized too. The sleep number bed was a huge plus to us. Most of the beds as we travel are to hard to suit us. I get up sore and stiff most mornings when we travel. But not so at the Bayberry. Each side of the bed has it's own selection of mattress softness/firmness. Our next vacation to the harbor will surely be to the Bayberry House. Maybe the next time Chris's wife will be there, as we'd love to met her too. She was away visiting their daughter who's in college. Romona did a fabulous job helping Chris with the Inn's chores while his wife was away. Clean, quiet, safe, comfortable, good food, and pleasant hosts. What more could you ask for from a B&B?

Room Tip: Within a short walking distance to the harbor's shops and restaurants. But far enough to be away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allenfizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We sincerely appreciate the wonderful things you have to say about Bayberry House. Its so nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We're glad you enjoyed the Sleep Number® bed, they really are comfortable and fantastic for people who have back problems. Our housekeeper Ramona sends her thanks as well for your kind comments about the condition of the inn. We'd love for you to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at Bayberry House. We were warmly welcomed by Chris the innkeeper/owner. We arrived early and our room was available. Chris spent quite a bit of time with us and immediately made us feel so welcome. The room was lovely and quaint, yet the bathroom was modern and up to date amenity wise.

Chris is a wonderful cook and his breakfasts were delish! he was happy to recommend restaurants and points of interest.

If we ever find ourselves visiting Boothbay Harbor again, we would absolutely stay here again..Chris's hospitality was second to none.

Room Tip: Being an older building, the floorboards tend to squeak! We were on top floor, so we had no one abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your superb review of Bayberry House. We really have tried to maintain a balance between the Victorian character of Bayberry House and modern fixtures and amenities that provide the comfort and convenience that our guests deserve. We're so happy everything was to your liking! We certainly hope you do return in the future, its great hosting such lovely people as yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boylston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second trip to the Windjammer Festival at Boothbay Harbor. Our stay at Baybarry Inn B&B was the best. Delicious breakfasts, and Chris was a great host, seeing to every detail. When we go back again we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Firstly, thank you so much for your kind review of Bayberry House. We really do try to do everything we can to make each of our guests' stay with us as enjoyable as possible. Windjammer Days is a wonderful week of activities, its no wonder that many people from outside the region, such as yourselves, return to experience it year after year. We enjoyed having you stay with us very much and truly look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I had not been to Boothbay Harbor in eighteen years. We selected the Bayberry House B&B based on the excellent reviews they had received on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We arrived about 3 hours before the appointed check-in time and rang the doorbell to ask Chris if we could leave our car there while we took a walk to explore the town. He said that our room was ready and he would be happy to let us check-in so we didn't have to come back to do that later. Our room was the Sage room on the first floor. It was a generously sized room and very comfortably appointed. We happened to be in Boothbay Harbor during their 52nd annual Windjammer Days Festival. On the first day of our stay there was a parade later in the afternoon. Sitting on the charming front porch we had a front row seat for the parade. Chris provided us excellent dining recommendations that were spot on. His prowess in the kitchen has not been exaggerated in the many deserving positive reviews that he has received. Because of the wonderful stay we had a the Bayberry House we will definitely plan on returning for future visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bayberry House. We're also glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. With everything there is to do in the Boothbay region, we feel a nutritious breakfast is an important first step in the enjoyment of an active, fun-filled day. Again, we really appreciate your kind comments and will love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, Liberia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bayberry House for a few days in Maine. Boothbay Harbor was an ideal spot to explore mid-Coast Maine, and staying at the Bayberry House was very pleasant. The B&B is within walking distance of the downtown, which has lovely seaside dining and homemade ice cream shops. The House does not have a sea view, if that is the experience you are looking for, s it is located on a residential street, but the rooms are lovely and clean. The Innkeeper Chris was incredibly helpful throughout our entire visit, providing excellent recommendations for day trips (highly recommend visiting Monhegan Island!) and hikes and making some of the BEST BREAKFASTS we have ever had at a B&B. Every breakfast had multiple courses. We'd definitely recommend staying at Bayberry!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Chris really appreciates your kind comments concerning our breakfasts and his activity recommendations. We are really excited by all there is to see and do in the Boothbay region and love it when our guests share our enthusiasm! We hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay at the Bayberry House was perfect. The House, the service, and the location are all impeccable, very clean, with all the updated amenities. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this is one I would highly recommend. The breakfast is like artwork! Thank you Bayberry House for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: We had the sage room, its beautiful, and we would get that room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We're so happy you found everything to your liking in the Sage Room. We always work hard to provide our guests with the best lodging experience possible and its so gratifying to see our work is appreciated. Thank you very much for your excellent review. We hope you have a wonderful summer and look forward to hosting your next stay in Boothbay Harbor as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1835 (Formerly Lion d'Or)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayberry House, built in 1886, has undergone extensive renovations in recent years to incorporate 21st-century comforts into its distinctive Victorian charm. There are four rooms and a guest suite; all have private marble-tiled bathrooms with a complimentary range of luxurious eco-friendly amenities by Algotherm. Every room is equipped with AC, Wi-Fi, HDTV with HBO and Showtime, and mini-refrigerators. Most have gas fireplaces. Some have Sleep Number beds. Rates include full gourmet breakfasts, served in three courses. Special dietary needs are readily accommodated by prior arrangement. The inn provides free parking and is conveniently located just steps from the harbor, shops, and restaurants of Boothbay Harbor. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry House Bed And Breakfast
Bayberry House Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing