We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come back here year after year because of good value”
Review of Seagate Motel

Seagate Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seagate Motel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We like the fact that this motel is family run & they try to make your stay enjoyable. Granted it is not a 5 star motel, rooms are outdated but they are large and always clean. There are places to hang towels, put make on etc, unlike some of the newer hotels where there is no space to get ready. It has no view but is a close walking distance into town(5 minute) so is very convenient. You can spend alot more money to stay on the water but if you want good value this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Was very disappointed with the overall mediocrity of this establishment. Continental breakfast was a joke, consisted of bagels, blueberry muffins and (if your lucky) orange juice. We found the owner to be a little too outgoing for our liking. We could have done without her pulling up a chair to our table at breakfast and singing to us. The "heated" pool was shallow, bitter cold and pathetic. The mini golf course that the owner found the need to boast about, was a tiny patch of grass that was no bigger than 3 feet. Our view out of our bedroom window was that of a run down mobile home with farmland behind it. Overall I was very unimpressed with this place. We only managed to stay there for 2 nights out of 5 because we couldn't stand it. Luckily Ocean Gate Resort was able to take us in, otherwise we would have been stuck in that joke of a motel for the entire trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank RobM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The motel is within walking distance of the Bootbay Harbor amenities. The other inns may offer a water view at twice the price, but we just wanted a nice clean and convenient place to scope out the area. We stayed two nights on our way to the Atlantic Provinces and then stayed another night on our return trip. The rooms were neat and clean, and the price was reasonable. They also have a nice pool. The continental breakfast was OK, but not if you are looking for things like bacon and eggs. But there were great breakfast places nearby if you wanted something more than a small bagel or muffin. The innkeeper, Evelyn, is very nice. She is a NJ transplant that can tell tales of days past in the Garden State when life was a bit differnet. She loves to chat with the guests, and we found that very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jntgris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This is our 2nd stay at the Seagate. In between the two stays we used a hotel on the water, higher priced, room no better. It is a typical motel, except that it is clean and the beds were new and comfortable. My only complaint would have to do with the hard pillows. The continental breakfast included delicious home made fresh blueberry muffins along with the bagels, coffe, tea and juice. Mary Evelyn, the owner has much to offer if one takes the time to visit with her at breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank taylor130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay .We were looking for a place to sleep, clean bed and room and thats what we found. The rooms are nice it was like looking back to 1980 but that was okay with us. The owner a delightful women, it was like talking with my mother or aunt .She was at the front desk when we arrived looking for a room. We were lucky it was Friday night of labor day week end and Earl was on his way ,so we had the pick of the place ...almost...I found it to be delightful talking with her and she keep us company at breakfast. I guess not everyone would like that but we did. Her generation has alot to tell...so slow down ...and listen. We hope to get back some day .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

closed the 'heated' pool at 8-9pm because they don't want "accidents", wi-fi was slow and laggy, rate was overpriced 95$ for twin bed, room was not clean, there was dirty linens and bedsheets, toilet was cracked, continental breakfast consists of bagels and muffins only, no coffee or anything, lady at the front desk had an attitude, asked her a couple times if there was a heated pool and she said yes, but she did not mention that she was going to close it, not a good stay at all! stay away if possible

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itzestyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Typical time warp budget (for the location) motel. Rooms and furniture tired and about at the limit before restoration required (for instance the bathrooms.) Advice - ask to see the room first.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mid-Town Motel
Mid-Town Motel
#11 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagate Motel

Address: 138 Townsend Ave, Route 27, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1836
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £89 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagate Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Seagate. We are a small family run business. All one level with at door parking. A quick walk into the heart of Boothbay Harbor. Where you will find great restaurants, shops, galleries and fun boat trips. See whales, puffins and light houses. We offer a light continental breakfast, heated outdoor pool, and all rooms offer in room coffee, free Wi-Fi, small fridges, A/C and friendly service. We look forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Seagate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagate Motel Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing