We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just ok”

Mama D's Cafe Mercantile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This place is fine, but just ok in the scheme of things. We were there late on a Sunday morning and waited almost 45 minutes for some omelettes, which would have been fine if they were amazing, but it really was just an average place. I think that the people who were excited to refer us set too high a bar by calling it really good. It's totally fine, but vacation or not, one would like to see breakfast served reasonably quickly, especially when there are only half a dozen tables there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beanerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    41
    19
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Such a delight to sit in the colorful rockers on the front porch early in the morning and indulge! Soak up the sun and the tiny town character while tasting house baked treats and sipping java. Everyone can find joy in this little diamond by the bay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, terrific service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We usually make a habit of visiting Mama D's for breakfast at least once during our visit to Boothbay Harbor. It never disappoints! The young staff are eager to please and very accommodating, and we didn't have to wait for a table, even though it was during the mid-morning rush. Food is great, though not gourmet (and not advertised as such either!) -- filling and nicely served. I like how homey the place is, how comfortable it feels inside. Make this one a habit, if you are visiting Boothbay Harbor. And hat's off to Mama D!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
1 review
“Awesome breakfast! Fantastic coffees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

On the weekend - busy. Be patient - it's your vacation after all. During the week breakfast is more laid back. Coffee is fantastic and breakfast is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brimler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thank you for having Gluten Free breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Mama D's is our favorite breakfast spot in Boothbay / Boothbay Harbor. Good coffee and good food. It can get crazy on busy days finding a place to sit but it is still a good experience. And for those in our family that are gluten free having a breakfast sandwich or muffin is a real treat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama D's Cafe Mercantile also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mama D's Cafe Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing