We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Ice Cream”
Review of Downeast Ice Cream

Downeast Ice Cream
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wow right in downtown Boothbay Harbor. The ice cream is homemade and out of site. Also the portions are huge a great value foor your money, if not your waistline.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DennisR245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    70
    19
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Ice Cream!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I always look forward to having my ice cream daily, everytime we are in Boothbay Harbor. For what you get with the generous portions, the prices are very good. The ice cream is made daily, so it is very fresh, and it moves, as the lines out the door will attest. Whenever you are in the area, you owe it to yourself to stop in and pick a flavor. There is something for everyone and it will put a smile on your face!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Third time is the charm”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our first trip to BBH it was too cold for ice cream. Second trip had a heat wave and by the time we got to Downeast IC, they were literally out of supplies. Being the end of the season, they were happy to run out, but we were sad to have missed a taste by just a day. This year, it all came together. Not too cold, still about 12 flavors of ice cream, several yogurts and sherbets left too. We were impressed by the variety of sundaes and special treats, but thought we would be sensible and only get 2 scoops in a cup. Of course, we were basing our choice on scoop sizes we normally see in chains. The two scoops we each got were easily the equivalent of 3 to 4 scoops from a chain and we were dumbfounded with how much ice cream we suddenly had on our hands. And it was soo good! How can you stop enjoying homemade peanut butter or Maine blueberry that tastes so creamy and not like store bought?! We struggled through and overate (of course), but we certainly will be back there again in future--with a better strategy to go multiple times for one scoop each, versus only one trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie_B_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home made fudge & ice cream”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

What more can i say , Best Fudge i ever had the portions are extremely generous , got the 2 scoop Sundae Could have shared it with 2 more people . A MUST STOP

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We are in Boothbay every year and go there several times. It is a fun place to go after dinner, or just by itself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank p t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downeast Ice Cream also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Downeast Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing