We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the journey”
Review of Parkers Arms

Parkers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A contemporary country inn with its fair share of history, The Parkers Arms is located just outside of Clitheroe in the prettily sleepy village of Newton in Bowland where, so we���re told ���you can hear the grass grow���. The beautifully traditional whitewashed inn, hung with colourful baskets of flowers and lined with parasol shaded outdoor tables, invites guests in with the promise of glorious regional food and a relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere ��� both of which it delivers in spades. The cuisine is rightfully British, with a few global treats of course, based on local and seasonal ingredients cooked using creativity and imagination as well as a little tradition too (and speaking of tradition we absolutely insist you try the fantastic Sunday roast here at The Parkers Arms). Pints of good local ales are joined by delicious wines from all over the globe, so whether you���re resting after a bracing dog walk or celebrating a special occasion, The Parkers Arms has not only the food but the drink to suit too. Indeed, balancing modern and classic style, informal and efficient service and relaxed and special food, The Parkers Arms appears to have created what could quite easily be the perfect local inn.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Heard good things about the place and certainly wasn't disappointed , made to feel welcome as soon as we stepped through the door. Our host is a natural , big personality and just the sort of landlord every country pub should have, a devilish sense of humour and a natural ability to make you feel like you've known him for years . The food was faultless , this isn't fine dining where you inevitably go home hungry , this is exceptional pub food . The shrimp on toasted brioche starter was as good as almost any starter I've ever had . Our mains of skirt of beef was a journey into the unknown having never eaten skirt cooked this way , I must say it was very well cooked and extremely tasty , the chips were great as were the very crispy onion rings . For desert we had wet nelly another dish I've never had before , it tasted like something your granny would make ,comforting and spicy almost like a Christmas pudding. Ignore the odd negative revue, it's a pub not a 3 star Michelin restaurant and that's the charm of the place

Great meal in a nice atmosphere , all in all a winner for me .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank almanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It is always heartening and morale boosting when a customer gives us a kind and lovely review on TA but it is even more so when it’s a customer that “gets” us does it. Thank you for taking the time to spread the word and yes we are just a simple pub with great accent on good food and ale. See you again soon
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    76
    30
    26
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My partner booked here without my knowledge of where we were going, so I had no expectations. We're greeted by a very warm and welcoming man (think it was the owner?) and shown to our table. I had the beef skirt for main which turned out to be a very nice change from my usual steak I'd order else where. my partner was equally impressed with his food and we will be returning in the near future to sample more of the menu.

Helpful?
3 Thank somewheresun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it. Delighted you enjoyed the skirt steak, see you soon again
Stosie
Chef co proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On entering the Parkers Arms we were met with a cosy inviting bar/dining area. However we were shown into a large uninviting, tired looking conservatory area, which echoed with emptiness. Upon being seated the first thing we saw were the stained, dirty looking place mats and a flower in a beer glass that looked like it was decomposing. This was obviously an unpopular area as when we asked if we could be moved we were told they were chock a block and customers were waiting to be seated but obviously not in the area that we had been fobbed off with. Besides this we were not offered a menu or a drink for at least 15 minutes. And although we had read a previous review reporting the food being second to none, we found this not to be the case it was mediocre to say the least, we have had food elsewhere for a similar price which was far superior...... Overall a very disappointing evening and would never go back or recommend to anyone!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
The Hodder View Dining Room is a light area room. It is not a conservatory. During your time there other diners joined you in the room, they stayed until midnight and enjoyed 3 courses each with copious amounts of wine. In your complaint email to us you do not mention the mediocre food that you mention here. You did say it was a treat for your mother 75th and you were disapointd about the wait, 2 pies and 1 gammon was your order and your mother told us the food was delicious and we had more than redeemed ourselves for your 15 minute wait due to the fact that it was a bank holiday weekend and as you yourself say we were very busy. You were asked how was your food at the end of your meal when your polished plates where removed and you all gave back very positive comments. I did send you a voucher after your email about being unhappy with the wait and your table but please do not bother using it, heaven forbid that we may serve you more mediocre food. It seems that because you were not able to sit exactly where you wanted we get the pleasure of your slanderous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food nice surroundings”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to give this place a try, as we'd heard a few decent reports, so made a reservation for a Sunday evening. The food was very good, portions were reasonably sized, the only real gripe, which prevented an "excellent" review was that 2 of the (younger) waitresses came over as quite miserable and seemed to be lacking in interest. However, I suppose they might have had a long and busy day.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ceejmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and huge apologies if the girls did not appear cheery. We have shown them your review and yes even though it has been a long bank holiday weekend every customer deserves a smile so thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to see you soon again at Parkers
Best wishes
Stosie
Chef Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“TRY HARDER!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First of all this establishment hasnt hered the phrase the customer is always right, looking at their response to the many bad reviews it seems they wont accept criticism.

I was unfortunate enough to visit this establishment today, as a hiker i had walked 10 miles and was in need of a drink and something to replenish energy levels. .I arrived at 11-45 to see it opened at 12 . I waited till 12-10 they then opened . I asked for a diet coke and asked if they could do me a roast beef sandwich, i was told to reorder in 30 mins as there was a chef problem! Alarm bells should have rung as outside they were advertyising for chefs, barmaids and pot washers!!! People were asking for menus only to be told they were being printed as they spoke!! [like a scene from fawlty towers!!!!] i went back to reorder 30 mins later. One beef sandwich please, thats 10-00 came the reply!!! thats steep?! it comes with chips!i dont eat chips! how much without the chips? same price!!! i dont want chips , can you do it with a baked potato? no, we only do chips! [no wonder there are so many obese people in the uk with places like this!] give me back my tenner utter disgrace. im no gordon ramsay but take 1 potato, prick it , place in microwave for approx 10 mins , when it dings its ready!! vcut in half, add butter and season!!!! its not difficult!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
My pub was open 12 noon sharp. You did not ask for a baked potato, we will never serve microwaved baked potatoes either so thank you for the cooking tip but we will not be taking it up. It is also not our fault that there are obese people in Britain. There was no chef problem either the daily specials were being printed for 12.30 service as they always are and we await daily deliveries to determine daily specials. You did not have to eat chips. We have several salads and other dishes available on the menu but you wanted a steak sandwich without chips for under £10.00 as you quite clearly were on some kind of self imposed budget and you did not want to pay menu prices (non chips dishes start at £12.00) . You threatened this vitriolic review if we did not discount the steak sandwich dish to suit you and you also emailed threatening us with a bad TA review which we have kept on file and have reported it to TA. This review is a complete fabrication of the events during your visit and you should refrain from threathening people with bad reviews on TA if you do not get a discount. You were also very slanderous in your email and may I suggest some grammar & spelling practise as clearly you excel in Microwaved baked potato cooking techniques which incidentally you should always pack (microwaved baked potato) in your bag for your lunch on trips out to save you the hassle of paying a decent price for a decent meal certainly not to stop you getting obese. Something you are obviously quite averse to (paying a decent price for a decent meal that is). We also do not respond to bully boy tactics and I hope that TA sees that this review does not in any way serve a purpose for any traveller.
Sybil
AKA Stosie madi CHEF Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parkers Arms also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Waddington, Clitheroe
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Parkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing