We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pub that is well above average in a heavenly setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkers Arms

Parkers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A contemporary country inn with its fair share of history, The Parkers Arms is located just outside of Clitheroe in the prettily sleepy village of Newton in Bowland where, so we���re told ���you can hear the grass grow���. The beautifully traditional whitewashed inn, hung with colourful baskets of flowers and lined with parasol shaded outdoor tables, invites guests in with the promise of glorious regional food and a relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere ��� both of which it delivers in spades. The cuisine is rightfully British, with a few global treats of course, based on local and seasonal ingredients cooked using creativity and imagination as well as a little tradition too (and speaking of tradition we absolutely insist you try the fantastic Sunday roast here at The Parkers Arms). Pints of good local ales are joined by delicious wines from all over the globe, so whether you���re resting after a bracing dog walk or celebrating a special occasion, The Parkers Arms has not only the food but the drink to suit too. Indeed, balancing modern and classic style, informal and efficient service and relaxed and special food, The Parkers Arms appears to have created what could quite easily be the perfect local inn.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A pub that is well above average in a heavenly setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The countryside around the Parker's Arms is stunning and the pub has a lovely garden in which you can sit and enjoy the view with a pint of good cask ale. Inside, the atmosphere is friendly and informal - you feel instantly comfortable. The food is well above pub grub standards - I don't like the term 'gastro pub', but this is what it is. There is a set menu but also a changing seasonal specials menu. Prices are very reasonable for the standard of food provided.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Wish we could call it something else too but it seems that's the correct term for what we do. Lovely review and its great when someone understands what Parkers is about.
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    74
    28
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Heard good things about the place and certainly wasn't disappointed , made to feel welcome as soon as we stepped through the door. Our host is a natural , big personality and just the sort of landlord every country pub should have, a devilish sense of humour and a natural ability to make you feel like you've known him for years . The food was faultless , this isn't fine dining where you inevitably go home hungry , this is exceptional pub food . The shrimp on toasted brioche starter was as good as almost any starter I've ever had . Our mains of skirt of beef was a journey into the unknown having never eaten skirt cooked this way , I must say it was very well cooked and extremely tasty , the chips were great as were the very crispy onion rings . For desert we had wet nelly another dish I've never had before , it tasted like something your granny would make ,comforting and spicy almost like a Christmas pudding. Ignore the odd negative revue, it's a pub not a 3 star Michelin restaurant and that's the charm of the place

Great meal in a nice atmosphere , all in all a winner for me .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank almanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It is always heartening and morale boosting when a customer gives us a kind and lovely review on TA but it is even more so when it’s a customer that “gets” us does it. Thank you for taking the time to spread the word and yes we are just a simple pub with great accent on good food and ale. See you again soon
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My partner booked here without my knowledge of where we were going, so I had no expectations. We're greeted by a very warm and welcoming man (think it was the owner?) and shown to our table. I had the beef skirt for main which turned out to be a very nice change from my usual steak I'd order else where. my partner was equally impressed with his food and we will be returning in the near future to sample more of the menu.

Helpful?
3 Thank somewheresun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it. Delighted you enjoyed the skirt steak, see you soon again
Stosie
Chef co proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

On entering the Parkers Arms we were met with a cosy inviting bar/dining area. However we were shown into a large uninviting, tired looking conservatory area, which echoed with emptiness. Upon being seated the first thing we saw were the stained, dirty looking place mats and a flower in a beer glass that looked like it was decomposing. This was obviously an unpopular area as when we asked if we could be moved we were told they were chock a block and customers were waiting to be seated but obviously not in the area that we had been fobbed off with. Besides this we were not offered a menu or a drink for at least 15 minutes. And although we had read a previous review reporting the food being second to none, we found this not to be the case it was mediocre to say the least, we have had food elsewhere for a similar price which was far superior...... Overall a very disappointing evening and would never go back or recommend to anyone!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
The Hodder View Dining Room is a light area room. It is not a conservatory. During your time there other diners joined you in the room, they stayed until midnight and enjoyed 3 courses each with copious amounts of wine. In your complaint email to us you do not mention the mediocre food that you mention here. You did say it was a treat for your mother 75th and you were disapointd about the wait, 2 pies and 1 gammon was your order and your mother told us the food was delicious and we had more than redeemed ourselves for your 15 minute wait due to the fact that it was a bank holiday weekend and as you yourself say we were very busy. You were asked how was your food at the end of your meal when your polished plates where removed and you all gave back very positive comments. I did send you a voucher after your email about being unhappy with the wait and your table but please do not bother using it, heaven forbid that we may serve you more mediocre food. It seems that because you were not able to sit exactly where you wanted we get the pleasure of your slanderous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food nice surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to give this place a try, as we'd heard a few decent reports, so made a reservation for a Sunday evening. The food was very good, portions were reasonably sized, the only real gripe, which prevented an "excellent" review was that 2 of the (younger) waitresses came over as quite miserable and seemed to be lacking in interest. However, I suppose they might have had a long and busy day.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ceejmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and huge apologies if the girls did not appear cheery. We have shown them your review and yes even though it has been a long bank holiday weekend every customer deserves a smile so thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to see you soon again at Parkers
Best wishes
Stosie
Chef Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parkers Arms also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
Waddington, Clitheroe
 

Been to Parkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing