We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and off-putting food presentation”
Review of Parkers Arms

Parkers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A contemporary country inn with its fair share of history, The Parkers Arms is located just outside of Clitheroe in the prettily sleepy village of Newton in Bowland where, so we���re told ���you can hear the grass grow���. The beautifully traditional whitewashed inn, hung with colourful baskets of flowers and lined with parasol shaded outdoor tables, invites guests in with the promise of glorious regional food and a relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere ��� both of which it delivers in spades. The cuisine is rightfully British, with a few global treats of course, based on local and seasonal ingredients cooked using creativity and imagination as well as a little tradition too (and speaking of tradition we absolutely insist you try the fantastic Sunday roast here at The Parkers Arms). Pints of good local ales are joined by delicious wines from all over the globe, so whether you���re resting after a bracing dog walk or celebrating a special occasion, The Parkers Arms has not only the food but the drink to suit too. Indeed, balancing modern and classic style, informal and efficient service and relaxed and special food, The Parkers Arms appears to have created what could quite easily be the perfect local inn.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor service and off-putting food presentation”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Walked into the pub, but not very easy to get the attention of the proprietor. We ordered pea, ham and mint soup, which finally arrived after quite some time. Whilst the taste was not bad, the floating mass of what looked like grass (mint) and globules of glistening fat on the top was very off-putting, so much so that we left some. Only the proprietor was there to serve and he spent most of the time talking loudly on the phone ordering or talking to some acquaintances. It was difficult to understand how the pub could have just won an award. It would certainly have not been for the service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
The barman has to talk to customers at the bar and answer phone calls and take bookings. Two people ordering 2 soups is hardly taxing so I am at a loss as to how many people you expect there to be to serve you. The “grass” is chopped fresh mint and pea shoots and the globules of “fat” are droplets of mint oil. This is how we serve our soup, fresh and seasonal. Why would it be difficult to understand we had won an award? It’s a food award!!! you had 2 bowls of soup served beautifully and you did not even understand shredded mint and mint oil. Yet you will come on a public forum and write a malicious review about us winning an award. Its as if we are being punished for having won an award, sour grapes perhaps???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    76
    28
    26
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Shambolic”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've had the dubious pleasure of two visits here. First time, we turned up around 12, but the place looked deserted. Some other people were outside also hoping for lunch, and it was definitely supposed to be open. Eventually someone came to the door and said they could do lunch if we were prepared to wait, but we all went a few miles up the road to Slaidburn instead.

More recently, we tried again and found it was open, but they still had all manner of excuses for interminable delays. The menus weren't ready, it took about half an hour to place an order, and well over an hour to get our food. In all it took more than two hours for a pie and a cup of coffee! At least we had the free entertainment of the loud, lengthy x-rated screaming match in the kitchen which all the customers got to enjoy while waiting for their food. To be fair, the food was good, and the barman was friendly and a good host, but I'm afraid that cannot make up for the awful service. With decent management, it could be a great gastropub and they obviously take justifiable pride in their cooking so I hope they can get their act together before they scare off all their customers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank jdajch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are open at 12 noon on opening days. Our standard menu is always available only with daily available pies. Specials get printed daily sometimes twice a day pending on change of produce. It is our prerogative to change the menu as we need to. You came before ,we were not open for lunch. You went to Slaidburn. You came AGAIN. You waited ½ an hour to order and more than 2 hours in total for a pie and a cup of coffee??? And you paid ??? There is something extremely odd about your review and we do not recall this at all and it seems more like a malicious copy of other negative reviews as it does dot make any sense what so ever therefore I cannot possible reply constructively
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Limited small menu average food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival the outside of the building looked tired and worn, same on the inside.
We sat in a dining room which lacked any atmosphere at all to be honest, the owner, barman and server was very nice and chatty.
The table mats were stained and dirty glasses could of done with a polish.
We ordered drinks from the bar, then another waitress came over and asked again, the jug of water had to be asked for twice.
The food was above all average small menu the only roast being served was pork belly!! Slightly disappointing.
The shrimp starter was good.
The childrens pizza was dry and hard, the childrens fish fingers were lovely crispy and fresh.
The pork belly was boring something my mum could of done, the fish goujons main course were good but I thought overpriced.
The wine we ordered was nicely chilled.
We ordered ice cream for the children after 25 minutes we cancelled it and asked for the bill.
Payed and left, we called off on the way home at another restaurant and had dessert, overall we were very disappointed to a place with such a lot of awards and accolades.
We would of had a dessert if the whole experience wasn't as long we arrived at 1.50pm and left 3.15pm.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank paulyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Copying what another disgruntled person has said on here is really not constructive and the glasses are not dirty. If you ordered at the bar and you still had not received your drinks its quite an honest mistake by the girls however apologies for being human. The food was average but the shrimp starter was good??? We serve different roasts very week. French bread is crusty however if this was not adequate you should have mentioned it to the waitress and it would have been changed or certainly removed from your bill when paying if not eaten. Glad the childrens fish were lovely and fresh and crisp not just “average”. Its good to know your mum’s a great cook, perhaps you need to stay in and enjoy Sunday Dinners with her in future although I am not sure how she would take to being told her roast was boring. Delighted you enjoyed the fish goujons but sadly fresh fish is rather pricey and we really are quite reasonable in the RV pricewise. If you find it cheaper elsewhere it will be pre prozen pre packed guaranteed however nothing wrong with that if its what you’re after. Glad the wine was suitable chilled and we seemed to have got most of the food right. Now let me address the real problem huge apologies that you did not get the children’s desert. There is no excuse and we truly wish you had informed us at the time and we could have fixed it. It’s always advisable to inform a restaurant with your disappointment whilst you’re there in order that something can be done about it. It seems you are confused about the award and accolades they are for warm service good hospitability and good food all of which you received but even the best can sometimes make errors we are after all only human or perhaps you were expecting a little too much. Thank you for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A pub that is well above average in a heavenly setting”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The countryside around the Parker's Arms is stunning and the pub has a lovely garden in which you can sit and enjoy the view with a pint of good cask ale. Inside, the atmosphere is friendly and informal - you feel instantly comfortable. The food is well above pub grub standards - I don't like the term 'gastro pub', but this is what it is. There is a set menu but also a changing seasonal specials menu. Prices are very reasonable for the standard of food provided.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Wish we could call it something else too but it seems that's the correct term for what we do. Lovely review and its great when someone understands what Parkers is about.
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Heard good things about the place and certainly wasn't disappointed , made to feel welcome as soon as we stepped through the door. Our host is a natural , big personality and just the sort of landlord every country pub should have, a devilish sense of humour and a natural ability to make you feel like you've known him for years . The food was faultless , this isn't fine dining where you inevitably go home hungry , this is exceptional pub food . The shrimp on toasted brioche starter was as good as almost any starter I've ever had . Our mains of skirt of beef was a journey into the unknown having never eaten skirt cooked this way , I must say it was very well cooked and extremely tasty , the chips were great as were the very crispy onion rings . For desert we had wet nelly another dish I've never had before , it tasted like something your granny would make ,comforting and spicy almost like a Christmas pudding. Ignore the odd negative revue, it's a pub not a 3 star Michelin restaurant and that's the charm of the place

Great meal in a nice atmosphere , all in all a winner for me .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank almanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It is always heartening and morale boosting when a customer gives us a kind and lovely review on TA but it is even more so when it’s a customer that “gets” us does it. Thank you for taking the time to spread the word and yes we are just a simple pub with great accent on good food and ale. See you again soon
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parkers Arms also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Waddington, Clitheroe
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Parkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing