We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow - wonderful fish and chips”

Eagles Nest Resturant
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
cartersville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wow - wonderful fish and chips”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

our host at the B&B told us about eagles nest, when we found it we wondered about her judgment. Then we had dinner and found out why the locals speak so highly of the place. I had the haddock and it was great, the blueberry pie (made in house) could be a meal by itself it was so good. We traveled 3 weeks through the north east and when we got back to Bangor, the eagles nest was the first place we went, even before the hotel. It was just as good the second time. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeb-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    83
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great onion rings”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Rainy day, parking lot filled with cars, very few tables. But, Wow the lobster roll was huge and excellent and the onion rings were so tender and crispy on the outside. This is a tiny place but very busy and great food. All you can eat haddock fish fry on Thursdays and Fridays for less than $12. Huge portions. The lobster roll was claw meat and very lightly coated with mayo. You can get it with mayo, butter or both. Good fries too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Lobstah Roll”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My friend & I went for lunch the other day and let me tell you it was delicious. All the lobster meat was claws. It was overflowing in our rolls. I have never had so much lobster like I have at that diner. I was told they make an amazing lobster omelet at breakfast also. The place was very busy and they only had 1 person waiting tables. Will be going back :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring your own duct tape”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

All the local I spoke with said this place was great. It didn't look like much from the outside. The parking lot was very small, right along the main road, and the place looks like a dive. When you get inside it looks worse. It is hard to get a good impression of a place that is so run down and dirty. When they served our food all I could think of is what can't been seen inside the kitchen.
The tables were out of 1950 and very worn out. I looked around for a better seat, but they all looked the same. If you can eat in this kind of atmosphere and the food still tastes good to you, than by all means go for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewer, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This picture is not the Eagles Nest - don't be deceived!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Eagle's Nest is a tiny little hole in the wall sort of place that literally hangs over the Penobscot River just a few miles outside of Brewer on Rt. 9 (North Main St or "The Airline" to us locals). The lobster roll is absolutely massive - clear meat lobster with very little dressing to ruin the flavor of Maine's favorite seafood. The fried clams are too good to describe, and the deserts are just awesome (all homemade and all fantastic!) The peanut butter pie is a must try for any sweet tooth! Don't let the decor fool ya', this place is the best of the best if you're looking for delicious food, huge portions, and incredible prices!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagles Nest Resturant also viewed

 

Been to Eagles Nest Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing