We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! What a great find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewer and Village Green Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brewer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brewer and Village Green Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Groton Long Point, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I didn't want to break the bank for a room for the night in Bangor, and I passed this motel with signs hanging out - rooms 55-60! Just my speed - but what could I expect.

Well - what was deceptive was that the sign was for a strip of motel rooms, and I couldn't find the Office.

As i was pulling out, on the road sign at the bottom in small print it said 'Office at the Brewer Motel on Brewer St'.

Well - being a stranger in town, I had no idea where Brewer St was, but i drove around the block and there it was - a nice, big, Motel. I pulled in and they gave me a nice room on the 1st floor with HDTV, WiFi, and a cozy bed. I had a great night!

I asked at the desk where to go for a nice breakfast, and she said to go to some 'Coach' place 1/4 mile back. I went there and saw that with the prices and the crowd, I'd never get waited on.

So I left! I remembered passing a Tim Horton's - which I've never been to before.

Wow! Great! I had the Maple Breakfast Sandwich for $2.39, and a medium hot chocolate for $1.75

WHAT A DEAL! I was thrilled - and had to share this with you!

Room Tip: The AC cooled the room right down, and a good shower was all I needed to content me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sekjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from Bangor after staying at our usual motel in Brewer. After reading reviews we were a little concerned this time so decided to see for ourselves. Had our usual balcony room, it was nice and clean and actually had a few upgrades. The room now has a small frig, microwave,new lamps, mattresses and handsoap machines in the bathroom, everything new and shiney. So if you have any doubts, forget them, your good to go here. Also food at Brewsters still great, especially the nachos and boneless wing! Its still a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Higher balcony rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived here late after coming back from Halifax Nova Scotia and had used bangor as a central base for a week. Unwittingly arrived in middle of a chesney Kenny concert.
Oh my my holy god. I got one of the basement smoking rooms. It was not suitable for my dog. Terrible. The guy in the night in the desk recognised that I was horrified and apologised stating that the local down and outs tend to use the basement as it was closer to hell for them. The smell of alcohol and despair hung in the air. Dirty Stained sheets. Not changed. Smell of sweat appalling. Bed bugs. Slept in my clothes it was that bad. I stank as the smell of emotional poverty and pain permeated my pores. The desperation oozed from the basement. Flickering light on the corridor like some bad movie. Shocking. So bad that I considered sleeping in my rental on the car park. Truly awful. The worse place I have ever stayed and if I was not so tired I would have driven on to portland. I an not emphasise enough that if you are caught out don't accept the basement. Upstairs rooms looked more presentable but not available. Apparently they have people who use the basement rooms on a long let. Abandon all hope all that after here. The woman on reception resembled the gatekeeper to the afterlife in her attitude. Friendly upon trying hard. Truly truly appalling. Do not stay here and avoid the redneck bar attached where the local alcoholics hang out. I was hungry and what was produced only resembled greasy fries with no healthiness. They should shut this god forsaken hole down. Am a seasoned traveller and so bad was my experience I took photos of the roaches. In all likelihood a different experience if you stayed above ground level. This place would be closed down in the uk and not granted any kind if license

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Demmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brewer hotels

Rochester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

i spent one night in room 121 and came out of it with bed bug bites all up my right wrist and when i tried to talk to these people about it to let them know about the problem and only to make them aware of the issue so some other poor person didnt have to go through the agony of dealing with these bites cause they are horrible. they were so rude the woman on the phone refused to tel me her name and refused to allow me to speak with a manager and hung up on me twice so i think a health inspector visit is in order and maybe my attorney should introduce himself

Room Tip: DONT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been coming here for years, since our kids were small, now we stop here at least twice a year. The rooms are clean and large, and have all the basics including a comfortable bed. There is always something being improved, by painting or replacing. If you want fancy better go to one of the more expensive hotels in Bangor. We enjoy being in walking distance to Hannefords and Dunkin Donuts, not to mention Mardens is a few minutes down the road! This hotel is usually full of shoppers coming and going throughout the day. The bar attached is called Brewsters with two huge "chickens" on the patio, can't tell you how many pictures are taken with them, us included. This bar has amazing food,especially the wings and nachos. The servers are so friendly, we have gotten to know a few over the years, Stephanie is a sweetie! Also a great place to watch a Pats game. This is a regular motorcycle stop too, we have met many nice people travelling on bikes as well as lots of local bikers who are usually willing to show off their rides! You certainly can stay fancier, but as for us we'll take this place!

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay across the street at the village green. The bar gets noisy at night so try to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machias, ME
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in to room 102. It was in the basement by the storage area...the bath mat was just thrown over the shower rod, the room was disgusting. Cobwebs in the window, major holes in the blankets and stains. Fridge wasnt plugged in MN or even cold. Toothpaste residue all over the faucet and mirror. As a maid this was disgusting and unacceptable :( never again will I stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nevaeh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Isle, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

when i stayed here i loved it it was very home feeling, clean, relaxing, and i definaly would reccommend this hotel and the price is wonderfull, and i had a smoking room becuase i smoke but i wouls know if i smelt it on anything and i never smelt any intese smoke smell, it was an exellent stay.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
0.4 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#20 of 26 in Bangor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Bangor
Residence Inn Bangor
#7 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewer and Village Green Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewer and Village Green Motor Inn

Property: Brewer and Village Green Motor Inn
Address: 359 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1538
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangor Waterfront Concerts are within walking distance. We are located less than 2 miles from Hollywood Casino, Cross Insurance Center, Waterfront Concerts, Bangor Downtown, and Eastern Medical Center. Our spacious rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, and air conditioners. Limited free WIFI for all guests.Brewster's Fine Food & Drink on site has the best family cuisines in town.Brewer Auditorium with swimming pool and playground is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brewer And Village Green Motor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing