We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down Home Country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House Restaurant

The Coach House Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Brewer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Down Home Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellant Breakfast.Home cooking,reasonably priced and the Waitresses were very friendly.We enjoyed our meal very much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Everglade62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    64
    30
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fried Scallops!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

WOW!!!!!! We were beyond thrilled to be lucky enough to order the fried scallops. Large scallops are so expensive right now i couldnt believe they gave us such a large portion for $14.99 and that included 2 sides. Our waitress was Lisa and she was awesome! She made me a side of homemade tarter sauce (Non Dill) that was the perfect touch for a great meal. If you are craving fried seafood do yourself a favor and put the Coach House on your list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BangorME123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewer, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hit or miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

some days the food is decent, other days, well...not so much. The specials usually aren't, but the crab cakes are reliably good (order them cooked extra well done - under the broiler - or they will be soggy in the middle). The service is usually pretty decent - this place can be quit busy, but they crank the tables through, so there's usually not much of a wait. This is "home cooking" the way someone else's mom would cook - my mom is a great cook, so I'm quite spoiled, and this place can't hold a greasy spoon to her kitchen! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Blueberry pie outstanding but avoid broiled seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Took my father here to lunch because we wanted seafood and because the Schooner (formerly the Muddy Rudder) was closed for renovations. If you are familiar with seafood restaurants in Maine, at least the ones that I went to when I was growing up, you'll know that seafood is usually served deep fried. My father ordered deep fried clams. I ordered the broiled combo (haddock and scallops), which was a big mistake. Thankfully, it didn't come loaded with butter/margarine, but it came with no seasonings whatsoever. It tasted like it had just been put in a microwave. The staff said that the dish is essentially poached under the broiler to prevent the fish/seafood from drying out. It's possible that only the elderly would choose broiled fish and seafood here, but the management is very mistaken to think that the elderly do not like seasonings. By contrast, the blueberry pie was delicious, as it was chock full of blueberries (twice the amount that I had expected). The blueberries were small (wild?). It was not too sweet. If the management can get its act together and actually ensure that seasonings as added to the seafood, it is a restaurant worth going trying. At the very least, try the pies.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ptrjmaltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bridge between a greasy spoon, and good home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I was impressed with the selection, and the food. I did feel misled when I saw the menu that offered breakfast/lunch/supper everyday and with jam on the table only to find out that breakfast is no longer served at 11. That being said there was a breakfast sandwich on the menu, for us folks who like to eat breakfast all the time.
The food was good and well prepared. My sandwich was good, nothing writing home about but still yummy. The icing on the cake for my time spent there was the “French Canadian Fries” or poutin. A hard concoction is hard to find this far south of the Canadian border, but always worth getting when you can find it. Any meal that I can start with poutin, is a good meal.
My mother had a clam basket, and she left stuffed and happy. She didn’t complain, and that says a lot! My Wife to be had fish and chips, and she ate most of it. She enjoyed it and said that she would order it again. We never got to the deserts, as we were full but they looked homemade and wonderful.

I would say that the staff was VERY friendly. The staff was willing to chat, and was not focused rush rush rush. All in all, I would go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Coach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing