We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service & location for the price point”
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service & location for the price point”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

During a recent trip to the Bar Harbor area, we needed a Bangor hotel that was inexpensive and close to the airport. While, I've stayed in much nicer hotels (at much higher prices), this was better than I expected for under $100/night. Service was great, and the continental breakfast was impressive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattV187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for visiting us at Vacationland inn. We appreciate you choosing the Inn as a destination travel on the way to Acadia. The inn was built in 1954 and the entire staff and the owners have continued to work very hard in all the renovations. We strive to represent a family friendly inn at the same time as providing a true Maine Experience for our guests. Warm, Cozy, Clean and friendly service all at an affordable lodging fee. We look forward to seeing you again on your future stays.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    256
    77
    26
    23
See reviews for
207
255
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were looking for a smoking room for our mini vacation. We stayed a Monday and a Thursday night with PEI in the middle. Not many smoking rooms left anymore so we grabbed this location for $69.00 a night. The front exterior is nice, as is the lobby and dining room.
Our room, not so much but we are smokers so we get the bottom of the barrel. Understandable.

We were also put in the main building at the back with what I gather are the weekly or monthly tenants. The ones who throw cigarettes butts all over the ground or extinguish them in planters and to be honest, a little on the shady side.

The room had a full bed, fridge, microwave, hairdryer. Was a little disappointed there was no coffeemaker, but did find out they keep coffee at the front desk 24 hours. My husband was thankful. I believe the room was clean, just needed an overhaul.

Breakfast was a nice touch having a handful of choices.

The location is great. Centrally located.

We would stay again if needed. The old saying goes... "you get what you pay for"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmandy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We apologize that your room did not meet your needs. We are pleased to know that all the amenities did offset your disappointment in the room. You did stay in one our rooms that we allow smoking. It is clean and comfy just not completely renovated yet. Our staff is working very hard to get all the rooms renovated. Please feel free to contact the front desk if you ever notice another guests causing any messes (cigarette butts all over and in our new planters). Management discretely handles these situations to keep our guests comfortable in their accommodations. Even being a smoker, you do not have to tolerate others making messes near your room. Always contact us to make us aware. Also, you can stay in one of our renovated rooms for about the same cost. They have an outside entrance and chairs to sit in on the porch. We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again on a future stay. May we recommend Room 115 or 117 (Non-Smoking rooms with outside entrance) but a real comfortable, clean and cozy room with a true Maine atmosphere. Safe Traveling.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was our stop on our way home from New York.
The staff was amazing. so helpful. I never caught the name of the gentleman who checked us in but Cheryl and Scott where the morning staff.
I was a little nervous when we got to our room. There was entertainment on site and you could hear everything. BUT they shut down at 9. Which if we were home, would of been a late bedtime for my little ones but this night they were so exhausted, it didn't matter. You can hear the people talking/walking in the hall but I'm a light sleeper.
I believe I was in a part that wasn't renovated (if it was, they need to fire the guy). I have no complaints about cleanliness and it was roomie.
The breakfast was yummy! Lots of variety. The waffles were good. I didn't try the blueberry but did have the strawberry. They must be reading the reviews and listening because we had boiled eggs for breakfast too. My son was ecstatic to see the lucky charms (one of his favorite cereals)
If I was to stay again, I would ask for one of the newer rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeylizb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that the breakfast met your traveling needs for your family. It was Matthew that checked you in, we will be sure to share your kind words with him. Cheryl and Scott will also be told about your kind words regarding their customer service. We provide a free family friendly coffee house every other Saturday. It is Christian musicians sharing music. We do try to finish between 9 and 9:30 pm so guests are not disturbed late. There is a website Level Ground Coffee House that always tells the upcoming events. Feel free to ask the front desk staff if you can be in the rear building should you stay again with us on a coffee house evening. We do have a room in the annex building with two double beds and a twin bed that traveling families find to be very accommodating. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon.

Safe Traveling

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumford, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I stayed one night and we had the woodland suit. The room was very clean and quiet. I would highly recommend this Hotel if your staying in the Bangor or Brewer area. My wife and I had a great time using the hot tub and being together in a great room. Lots of great area restaurants and attractions to the local area.

Room Tip: I would recommend The woodland Theme suit!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

The Northwoods Suite and the Lodge Suite are definitely an amazing get-a-way. Thank you for lodging with us at Vacationland Inn. When you plan a return stay, and should it be for a special event, birthday, anniversary or just because, let us know and our front desk staff will set up a special occasion flowers, candies etc. for the room as a surprise! We will get the flowers and chocolates set up in the Suite for you prior to your arrival and simple add whatever amount you authorize us to spend, we will simply add the amount to your room. Thank you again for staying with us and we are glad that the suite gave you a great get-a-way to relax and enjoy. See you on future stays.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Buren, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The place has been remodeled. The room I stayed in was in another building. The furniture was all new or almost new. The place looked great. They even had a Keurig in the room. for your coffee. The staff was real nice. I used a coupon for my room for 59.99 plus tax and they took it. So I even saved money. Breakfast was great but in the main building. Which I didn't have a problem with. I was impress with the change since I had stayed there before. Planning on staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle5331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Your kind comments regarding the upgrades at Vacationland Inn have been passed along to all the staff. Thank you for lodging with us and thank you in advance for planning a return stay. I am sure you will continue to see more improvements as we continue to update and strive to turn Vacationland Inn into a true Maine experience for our guests. On your return stay, plan to visit the fountain area and have a campfire to relax and enjoy.

Thank you again for your kind comments.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights last week in this hotel during our trip to Acadia national park and we were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel room was very clean and also had fridge for us to store food. There are grocery, pharmacy and restaurants near the hotel. One of the best Japanese restaurant (Yoshi) in Brewer is within 5 min walk. I will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Our Front Desk staff loves YOSHI too! We recommend the pan-seared sesame tuna on your next stay with us. Vacationland Inn is conveniently located and has a total of 20 local restaurants of all types of cuisines within on mile of the inn. Be sure to check with the front desk staff as we have a few restaurants that provide our guests with up to 15% savings on their meals. Did you do the Sunrise and Sunset drives in Acadia National Park? Guests tell us it is breathtaking experience. First place the sun touches is Maine each morning. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon for a return summer, foliage or winter trip to Acadia National Park.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A friend and I stayed at Vacationland the night of a Phish show. We had reserved a room before, and the price was reasonable. When we checked in, the guy at the reservation desk was helpful, giving us advice on where to go, and giving us some landmarks to navigate to and from the venue. The room was clean, and quiet. Breakfast ran until 10 am the next morning, which was nice since Phish put on a great and long show.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_S_udel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you for lodging with us while you attended the Bangor Water Front Phish Concert. Thank you for your kind words we will most definitely pass them on to our entire staff. We all look forward to seeing you again on your future stays.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
5.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
3.9 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Property: Vacationland Inn
Address: 453 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1414
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing