We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stellarton, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This motel is reasonably well located for those who want to visit downtown Bangor but a bit of a distance for shopaholics who need to get "to the mall". It could probably use some updates but overall was clean, warm & quiet. Every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for lodging at Vacationland Inn. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and we will be sure to share them with our employees. Vacationland Inn is located 7.8 miles from the Bangor Mall when you take the interstate to exit 186. However, we can give your directions the back way that saves time and only 4.8 miles to get you to your shopping destination. On your next visit, please ask for the directions that take you up past Eastern Maine Medical Center to the Hogan Road. Shopping malls are all just minutes away! Thank you again for lodging with us! Have a great Holiday Season!

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    254
    75
    26
    23
See reviews for
205
253
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were travelling over Memorial Wknd and booked a room at the Vacationland Inn for a late arrival and 11:30 p.m. check-in. The property is very dated, tired looking and visibly run down...the smell of cigarettes and dirty vacuum bags was very noticeable on our floor and despite being assigned a non-smoking room our room was recently smoked in and had ashtrays on the night stands...when we called down to discuss the situation they assured us it was a non-smoking room...at which point we asked them to nullify the potentially expensive non-smoking policy we were obliged to sign upon check in. As there were no other rooms available we opted to tough it out as it was well after midnight. At 3:00 a.m. I awoke to bugs on my pillow as did my spouse and upon closer inspection the bugs: bedbugs as it turns out, were everywhere on and under the sheets & comforter...revolting to say the least! A quick call to the front desk was made and before they could check us out and refund our money they needed to send someone up to verify our claim....YUP; they were bedbugs and apparently the property had been actively fumigating their rooms in "blocks" but given the sheer number and various sizes of the bugs in our bed it was apparent this room had not been done recently. We were subsequently checked out quickly by a very apologetic staff member who indicated he would recommend that we receive a complimentary stay in one of their suites....it has been a week and we have not yet heard from them nor has the room charge been reversed on our credit card....but more importantly we are happy to report that we did not bring any of the bedbugs home in our luggage. As such we cannot recommend this property and suggest travellers spend the extra $20-$50 dollars and upgrade to a larger chain type property with consistent non-smoking and pest control policies. Rating: D-

Room Tip: If you find yourself asking when the place was last fumigated....it may be a good time to secure acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

First and foremost, we apologize. Hotels have issues that these pests are brought into hotel rooms in luggage. They travel in people's suitcases and multiply quickly if not noticed. Once you reported the bed bug, please know that this issue was immediately addressed by our staff and we have completely ripped apart that room, thrown away the entire bed and checked the entire building and room for any further issues. Our Pest Control Company has been here and combated this isolated issue with success. We have a very aggressive company preventative plan in place to actively combat any sort of pests in our inn. We greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you had not let us know right away, we may not have been able to contain it to that one room. THANK YOU! I noticed on your room folio that we did not charge you for the nights stay. Regarding the smoke smell, yes there are smoking rooms available on the economy floor you stayed in. Because it is so difficult to contain smoke odor, we are actively redoing rooms and when completed, we are making them NON-Smoking. Our goal is to be a non-smoking facility when all the renovations are completed. Again, please contact me directly so I can personally apologize and tell you how and what we did to protect against future issues. Because of your quick notification, we eliminated this issue and kept it to an isolated incident. Call me and I can share with you all the preventative travel tips and how to check a room before you check in at any hotel. Again, know that these pests are gone and we are pleased to know that they did not get into your luggage. On your next stay, please contact me directly so I can personally take care of your reservation. When you check in I will go to your room with you and show you the travel tips I have learned and what to do to check for any potential issues in a hotel room. Thank you again and we hope that you will return soon.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We picked this place out of the coupon book; it was between this place and a Days Inn, and we were thrilled we got to this place first! It is an older property, and the tiles on the bathroom floor didn't match, but it was super clean. The staff was very chatty and friendly, and the breakfast was superb! Several different delicious brews of coffee, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and Belgian waffles with homemade blueberry and strawberry sauce +whipped cream. The decor was rustic and charming, and the price was an absolute bargain. I would happily have stayed a week, but could only manage one night. I plan to return this spring!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4leftymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s);

We thank you for lodging with Vacationland Inn. We will share your kind comments with the entire staff. We look forward to your continued return stays. When you are planning your next stay, feel free to make your reservations right online at our website. Be sure to check out the local area for events as well. Cross Insurance Center and Bangor Water Front, Bangor Fair and American Folk Festival, College Graduations in May all cause the area to fill quickly. We look forward to seeing you again soon and we will have the home made waffles with wild Maine blueberry sauce ready for you.
Safe Travels and enjoy the holiday season.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

the room that we were in was very welled laid out. Only suggestion is you might think of putting another drape inside the one that is there. It was kind of bright in the early morning even thought it was on the west side of the building.. Your staff are the best. No problems bent over backwards to assist us at all times...

Room Tip: As all of the people that were with us they had no complaints at all. They found all rooms to be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for sharing your kinds comments regarding the staff and your stay at Vacationland Inn. Your comments will be shared with the entire staff. We will have our maintenance staff check to be sure that the room you stayed in has a block out shade. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay. Safe travels and enjoy the upcoming holidays!

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Pleasant motel, easy to find in a central location. Comfortable beds and very clean. Friendly accommodating staff and enjoyable continental breakfast. Only stayed one night as we were passing through but would definitely consider a longer stay if vacationing in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

We are glad that your lodging at Vacationland Inn met your needs and was pleasant. Thank you for your kind comments, we will be sure to share with the entire staff. We look forward to providing your lodging for your future shopping and vacation trips to Maine. Thank you again and safe traveling.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musquodoboit Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed at this property in the "main building" section. The rooms were basic, the bathroom was very small but it fit our needs fine as we were only there to sleep. The breakfast that they offer is outstanding and the new renovation to the breakfast area is really nice. It was great that they had a high chair for use in the breakfast area, but I do wish they had cribs available sleep for my one year old was a bit of a challenge. The Coachhouse restaurant next door also offers great food and great prices and there is a variety of shopping nearby. We have now stayed here several times and hope to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with babies or toddlers, bring a crib or playpen. If you are travelling with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalTibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for choosing to stay at Vacationland Inn on your family shopping trip. We do not have cribs, but we do have larger rooms in our other building. Room 256 or 257 is huge and provides ample room so you can bring your pac and play to have a place for the baby to sleep. Hope this helps on a return stay with us. The shopping malls are all just minutes away and we agree Coach House Restaurant is well liked by many of our guests and they provide a full menu that meet most travelers. They also provide a 10% discount for any guest that lodges at Vacationland Inn. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Vacationland Inn is set in a street with many restaurants, so it was easy to find something to eat after a long drive. The beds were very comfortable, and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. The free wifi didn't work very well, but this was true of most places with free wifi. Staff were very helpful, and my friends were able to upgrade on arrival. Overall good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyAussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

One of my favorite places to eat dinner in Brewer Maine is Schooners with river view dining and the other is Coach House Restaurant where they prepare family homestyle full menu. Both restaurants provide a discount to our guests as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Vacationland Inn and we will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire staff. See you on your next stay. Safe Traveling and enjoy the upcoming Holiday Season.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
3.9 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Property: Vacationland Inn
Address: 453 Wilson St., Brewer, ME 04412
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing