We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Always clean and staff are great. They accept Canadian money at par. I have stayed here many times in the past and is a nice and quiet place to rest as it is not too close to any highway and is central for shopping. I would recommend this place for any traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for choosing Vacationland Inn while shopping in Maine! We have many Canadians stay with us when they shop and we appreciate each and every one of you. The highway is conveniently close for quick access to all the exits to shop in Greater Bangor. Marden's is the first store to open in Brewer 9AM and they are just 1/3 mile away from the Inn. We look forward to seeing you again on your next shopping trip. Be sure to check at the desk for any current coupons or promotions happening during your stay. Thank you very much for your ongoing lodging with Vacationland Inn. Safe Travels.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    256
    77
    26
    23
See reviews for
207
255
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I reserved a non-smoking room about 3-4 weeks in advance. When I booked the room I explicitly noted that I would be arriving late and leaving early, as to not lose my reserved room near midnight.

When I arrived, near midnight, my non-smoking room was no longer available and I was put in a smoking room. I explained my dissatisfaction to the employee then and at check out (4:30am). I was not offered a partial refund, nor did I ask.

As all smoking rooms at affordable hotels are, the entire room reeked of smoke. I coundn't sleep. Very sad at my experience considering the numerous positive experiences my family had here, in the non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for choosing to lodge with Vacationland Inn. We appreciate the many times your family has stayed with us. We apologize that the only room we had available on a sold out night was a smoking room. Your reservation was booked with us online using a travel booking agency. We do apologize that the online booking agency placed you in a smoking room. Unfortunately, we do not know the difference until you arrive and express your lodging needs. In the future, please contact us directly or you may use our direct booking calendar on Vacationland Inn's website. There is a note area that you can express NO SMOKING ROOM. Our front desk staff will get that note and be sure you get exactly what you want. Online booking engines will push through a reservation and not necessarily give all the correct details requested or even know if a room is actually assigned to the reservation. Please feel free to contact us directly in the future. Again, we appreciate you and your family lodging with Vacationland Inn and apologize for the miscommunication.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Vacationland Inn is my favorite place to stay just outside of Bangor, ME. Prices are reasonable, it's close to the interstate, a continental breakfast is provided, and rooms are clean, and comfortable. Complementary coffee and tea are offered 24/7. and it's next door to a lovely local restaurant - The Coach House. At Vacationland Inn you're just a few steps away from wonderful seafood dinners. If you have a hankering for lobster, real sea scallops, whole clams, and real chowder, Vacationland Inn is the place to spend the night. On site washers and dryers are available.

Room Tip: Call well in advance to ensure that a room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your wonderful comments. We agree, the convenience of having the Coach House Restaurant right next door is a great addition for our guests that lodge at Vacationland Inn. The restaurant offers our guests a savings of 10% off menu items. This is another added value for guests at Vacationland Inn. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

They welcome dogs, provide an excellent choice for the free breakfast and are very welcoming. Room is OK, bathroom is small, but for one night en route to and from vacation, it is more than adequate. Great location for refueling, walking to restaurants and lots of grassy areas for walking dogs. Will continue using it every year.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

We value and appreciate your return lodging each year. Our pet rooms are drive up rooms so you can easily take your dog out to the green space areas. We look forward to seeing you again year after year. May you have a wonderful holiday season!

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is the second year in a row our group of six from Virginia has stayed at Vacationland Inn. We take an annual hunting trip to New Brunswick Canada and this is our overnight break. The rooms are clean, the personnel at the front desk are friendly and well organized. The property is well situated and convenient to two major Interstates, but yet flourishes with privacy. The continental breakfast is more than ample for the average person. The ideal of staying at a locally owned establishment versus a large chain is what first attracted our group to Vacationland Inn....they certainly did not disappoint! We will be returning May 2014 without a doubt!!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the extra privacy provided by the building in the far back corner of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

We are pleased that you chose Vacationland Inn for your group travel and adventure. Be sure to make a reservation for your return stay in May 2014, a pre-plan for your May travel can be done on our website or by simply calling our front desk to set up a blocked group of rooms. The college;s graduation ceremonies happen the first 2-3 weekends of May each year and rooms book quickly. We will be sure to share your review with our entire staff. We appreciate your lodging with us and look forward to seeing you in May! Your adventure begins at Vacationland Inn.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have stayed at Vacationland Inns and Suites in Brewer Me. numerous times in the past few years.
We make it a point to stay there when we come to the U.S. from our home in Nova Scotia. Canada
We deem it to be an excellent facility. We found the rooms to be very clean and well furnished.
And really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, service we received and have really enjoyed the great continental breakfast.
I've recommended, and will again, this facility to all our friends and family with pleasure, and to all that read this post. Try it and stay there yourself and see that all I've mentioned is true..

Room Tip: We find the annex 2nd floor to be a very fine place to stay. it's quiet and has excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Because of guests like yourself that do many return stays, we have been able to continue to do many upgrades at Vacationland Inn. We thank you very much for your continued ongoing patronage and the recommendation to others. The Annex has spacious rooms and they are very quiet. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for being our loyal guest(s).

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for phish return to Bangor. When I arrived the manager and a police officer were planning on how they would bust fans of the show. (?!) then our "newly renovated" room was dirty and had 2 full beds instead of the king we booked. The staff did nothing to accommodate us and said "oh well" to our concerns. It was like they didn't care because they were booked solid and already had our money. What a joke!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noclist314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest(s):

I have reached out to you in a private message email through trip advisor with no response from you. During the PHISH concert the local police department set up some rules for the area businesses to follow. The police wanted all businesses to post their green space and parking lots with no loitering signs. They believed that thousands of people were attending and their might be an issue for our hotel with parking on our lawn by people who were not our guests. They recommended the posting of signs so guests, like yourself, would not lose your parking space in our parking lot or in front of your room. The police stopped by frequently to be sure no one other than our guests were on the property. We provided parking passes for guest vehicles, and limo transportation that transported concert attenders to the Bangor Waterfront for the Concert. Always feel free to express your concerns with management of a hotel if dissatisfied in any way. We want to remedy any concerns immediately, but cannot if not given the option when you are here. Please feel free to contact me directly for future stays.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
5.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
3.9 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Property: Vacationland Inn
Address: 453 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1414
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing