We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Stephen, Canada
1 review
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nice place to stay. Very clean and pleasant people! Canadian money at par is a little deceiving though. When you pay canadian cash you loose your 10% and if you pay by credit you get charged exchange rate from credit company so it is not canadian money at par.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for lodging with us during your stay in Maine! We value and appreciate your business. Unfortunately with the Canadian exchange rate changing on a daily basis, we cannot accept Canadian at Par with a discount. If the Canadian exchange rate is at a low of 85%, we already have taken a 15% discount by acceptiing Canadian Cash at Par. There is several Banks within 1/2 mile from the Inn that you can exchange Canadian Cash for American. If you pay with American Cash, we then can give you a 10% discount for AARP, AAA, or 15% military. With Canadian Credit Cards, we only do an approval on the card to hold the funds upon check in, upon check out we do offer you the opportunity to pay cash or leave the lodging fees on your Credit Card. By paying American Cash you can avoid these fees on your Canadian Credit Cards. I hope this helps for your future stays. Feel free to contact us directly for clarification. Again, Thank you for lodging at Vacationland Inn.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    254
    75
    26
    23
See reviews for
205
253
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great overnight stay - we were just passing through. Staff Friendly - rooms were extremely clean. The room we stayed in was renovated - in a beach theme. The common areas of the back building were WARM!!! Our room cooled off quickly!!
Wifi a bit slow - but not a deal breaker :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cropcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for staying with Vacationland Inn. Your comments are appreciated. We look forward to you returning on your next visit to the Greater Bangor area. I will be sure to share your compliments to our room attendants regarding the cleanliness and our facilities team regarding the coastal themed room you were in. We hope your summer travel continues to be wonderful for you and we look forward to seeing you again on a future stay. One quick tip for hotel stays. There are so many wi-fi devices that travelers carry, be sure only the device you are using is signed on to the wi-fi and internet . Many travelers have their phone, an ipad or tablet, laptop, kindle or nook. When each room has a minimum of 4-8 devices per room and guests use them and keep them connected to the wi-fi, it puts a huge demand on the broadband and it is actually the internet provider that becomes slow, not the actual wi-fi. Also, We do provide in each room guests personal controls of air conditioning in the summer and heat in the winter. July is always a warm month in Maine. With so many doors opening and closing, it is very difficult to keep our hallways cool. Again thank you for you feedback. See you again soon on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I stayed at Vacationland Inn in early summer. This was our second visit to this motel and it's always a pleasant stay. The rooms are always clean and stocked with coffee in the room. FYI---coffee is always available in the lobby too, for you coffee lovers out there! This visit, we chose to stay in the "family" room which had two double beds and a twin bed, which was perfect for our family of five. Even better than their coffee was their homemade waffles and their own Maine blueberry sauce!! I'd recommend staying at Vacationland if you're visiting in the Acadia/Bangor region of Maine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffytrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

We are so pleased that our family room worked for your family of 5. We will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff. We appreciate you and your family lodging with us here at Vacationland Inn and a repeat stay as well. Our slogan is "Come as a stranger and leave as a friend!" We enjoy making new friends and look forward to seeing you again and again on future stays. Safe travels and enjoy the remainder of your summer. We will keep the coffee hot 24/7/365 and the waffles ready for you every morning.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently stayed one night at the Inn while on a motorcycle trip with friends. We found the motel because it was next to the station where we gassed up. It was a happy find. The staff were all friendly, the rooms were spotless, the bed comfortable and breakfast was included. This is an older facility that we learned had changed hands a few years ago and the new owners had done a terrific job of refreshing the rooms. The price we paid with my AARP discount was a bargain. It seemed obvious that the people took pride in providing a good stay.

Room Tip: I understand that the updating is not complete, so ask for a renovated room. Some rooms are inside h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for choosing to lodge with us at Vacationland Inn. We hope you didn't get caught in the recent rain during your road trip on your motorcycle. We are pleased to know your experience is exactly what we strive for. We will share your kind comments with the entire staff and look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We own a lodging facility on the Maine coast. Our expectations are high and we do not book a room anywhere without a complete inspection first. We would love to report that the Vacationland Inn not only meets, but exceeds our expectations with each and every visit. The rooms are all different, but each one is immaculate and has all amenities. They are reasonably priced, the staff, Matt and Cheryl, go above and beyond and are always eager to please. AND, the breakfast is amazing. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank downeasthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

We are always excited to see you both when you arrive. We will be down to visit you this summer. I will be sure to tell Matthew and Cheryl that you appreciate their customer service and our housekeeping staff as well. The staff has worked very hard to keep every room ready for our guests. I cannot wait to visit your hotel as well. Thank you again for your kind comments and continued repeat lodging. We appreciate our new customers that become our friends and repeat customers through the years.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

First of all, it has been a while since I stayed here. Things have hopefully improved.

I was at this hotel for two weeks. My employer put me up here.

The room was big, but it was dusty, old, and run down.

I never felt safe at night because there were some questionable activities going on in the parking lot. I was in a back building.

I tried to go to the restaurant one night and I was never served. After 25 minutes I decided to leave.

My company put someone else at this hotel a few months after me and they had to leave because they said the room was so dirty.

Like I said, hopefully things have improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Business Traveler:

We appreciate you staying at Vacationland Inn while traveling on business. We have done alot of changes since August 2013. We hope you will return to experience the changes. However, in the future, please come to us immediately regarding any concerns. We cannot correct or move you to another room if you don't come to us when you are here. Our policy is to be sure our guests are comfortable with their accommodations and have a pleasant travel experience. Please contact me directly so I know which company you were with. Also, I can let the restaurant know of your experience. We strive to be sure all our guests have a good experience. Know you can come to the front desk (24 hours) and we will address your concerns to have your stay be a good experience. Enjoy the summer and hope to see you again on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Vacationland is situated in a very convenient location, close to Bangor but on the main road to Bar Harbour or Camden and Rockland and the beautiful coastal highway. It has an easy access from the I-95. It has a wonderful down home feel, clean, fresh and homey. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds.There is a fire pit for evening get togethers, and we socialized in the large parking lot with other guests on a very humid evening. A very basic continental breakfast is served, but what more could one need than a fresh waffle with homemade blueberry or strawberry sauce with whipped cream and a coffee. There are a couple of very nice restaurants within walking distance and a large grocery store to stock up on cooler items. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. We travel in this area often and have put Vacationland as a go to spot on our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Outside access rooms have drive up for car and adirondack chairs to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

We are pleased you have chosen Vacationland Inn as your go to place. The inn is very conveniently located in the heart of Maine on RT 1A. No matter your destination, as you put it so well, Camden, Rockland, Acadia National Park, Moosehead. It is all just minutes away. The mall is only 4.5 miles away and we have 31 local restaurants within a mile. The campfire is a great way to end a long day of traveling and you never know who you will meet as a new friend. Thank you for all your kind comments. We will share them with our entire staff. See you again real soon! Safe traveling

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
3.9 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Property: Vacationland Inn
Address: 453 Wilson St., Brewer, ME 04412
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing