We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but little expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Standard Gastropub

Standard Gastropub
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Bridgton
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a unique little restaurant which was formed from an old gas station. The food was fantastic and the beer selection was great. I enjoyed a lobster roll and wedge salad which were both delicious. I would definitely go again!

The setting of the restaurant is a little strange. The only tables they have are picnic benches, or your other choice is to sit at the bar. If you are looking for a fancy relaxing dinner, this is not the place. The food was great, however the prices on the menu, did not match the setting. Definitely need to get some real tables in there and make it tad more classy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Different. Some Pros & Cons...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Different. Some Pros & Cons...

We seek somewhat unique eating experiences and found it here. It is an eatery located in a former gas station (pumps still outside and illuminated). A good start!

What we liked:

- Some unusual menu items and others that had a unique twist to them (e.g.,
grilled iceberg lettuce salad).
- The food was tasty.
- The beer selection was quite broad. There was a large selection of bottles /
cans - micro, larger production and imports - many were very unusual. There
was also a nice selection of unusual draft beer - also good.
- The Owner (we suspect he was the Owner - not sure) was engaged in the
production and meeting the Customers.

What we suggest for change and improvement:

As always, we seek value in our purchases. We work very hard for our money.
We define value as the best possible quality and quantity at the best possible price.

The food was not inexpensive.

- Prices were in our limited opinion, a bit steep, given both the portion size (too small for our
liking) and the bare-bones setting (picnic tables, low end plate service, etc.).
- And yes - of course we "get it" - it's a restaurant in a gas station. BUT - that does not preclude
the opportunity to make the place more comfortable and suitable as an eating experience.
- So the overall value for the customer is weaker than we'd like to see.

If meaningful changes were made in price, portion size and setting therefore, we would recommend this place to our friends and we would return. We'll standby to see if any changes are made.

This is just our opinion - no better than any other. We could be entirely incorrect in our feelings. We encourage all readers to do their own research and form their own, independent opinions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Objective-NotPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is not only the best food in Bridgton, it is the best in the whole area by a long shot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Standard Gastro-Pub is the best restaurant in the area by any standard- quality and freshness, amazing choices, service, ambiance. My favorite is the lobster roll but the veggie burger, grilled wedge, cheeseburger, side of greens are all fastastic. There is an excellent offering of beers on tap and a wall cooler full of the best brews from around the world, plus a huge selection of wines. For non-alcoholic drinks, there is everything you would expect plus offerings like Urban Farms cherry ginger Kombucha.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgton, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't care for this”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stopped in to pick up lunch, was dark inside and didn't look anything like a cafe or restaurant. Just the inside of a gas station with some remodeling. Only a few items on the menu and I left without buying anything. First impression it's just a gas station where you can get a beer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Wow! What a beer selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a working gas station and a restaurant: very strange!
There are only four picnic tables and a bar inside, with a large refrigerated case of wonderful and unusual microbrews. Because the beers are displayed, you can walk along the case to look at the labels. This is great it you love good beer.
The food is good, too. Very creative. They were out of a lot of the specials when we were there, but the burgers and fries are great.
The beer prices were not out of line, as far as we were concerned. They are high-quality brews, and worth the price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Standard Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to Standard Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing