We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Fare”
Review of Black Horse Tavern

Black Horse Tavern
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Bridgton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Brandon, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pub Fare”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a really good veggie burger served with sweet potato fries. My sweetheart had the bourbon steak tips serve with mashed potatoes. Our server was sweet and funny and overall lunch was enjoyable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lady frobisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    60
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The food was OK. The brie appetizer was the best thing we had. $25 dollars for prime rib that was a small portion and chewy. $18 for a chicken quesadilla which had more vegtables then chicken. $9 for a martini that didn't even fill half the martini glass. I would pass on this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelps ny
2 reviews
“Wonderful all around ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We went to dinner here tonight with our family while on vacation. The waitress was wonderful and made our minds at ease. Since our sons have a severe peanut and tree nut allergy. She was very nice and understanding of the requests to check things for us. Thank you. We will make this restaurant a must go to every time we are in Maine.

Helpful?
Thank Houssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stopped here for dinner here while on vacation. There was a little bit of a wait but not bad considering we had eight people. The service provided by our waitress was great along with the food. There was a good variety of options on the menu. All of the meals were quite large and cooked to perfection. The decor may be a little outdated but then again it is a tavern setting and I care more about how the food looks and taste rather than how the place looks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgton, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food OK, but decor kind of tired.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The food was OK, typical burgers and fries but the inside looked kinda of 60's and tired. Service was good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Horse Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Black Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing