We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay but Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for a couple of nights. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The location is good. However, it is overpriced. We had to pay extra for a small refrigerator - - never heard of this before. Just because it is Maine does not mean it is quiet. Our room was on a major route and cars whizzed by day and night. Would definitely had asked for a room closer to the lake if I had known this.time. Calling this place a "Resort" is a certainly a stretch. An old row boat and a kayak along with some battered badmitten raquets does not a Resort make. The owner was pleasant but not overly friendly. I am always suspicious when I see a place with so many four and five stars. I gave it three stars because it was clean and that's about all. It's not a very interesting place. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I am glad that we have received the highest rating of any property you've reviewed in TripAdvisor so far!

We are proud of our cleanliness, and agree that our location is convenient to many attractions. However, we do take issue with some of what has been stated in this review. It is said that we charge more for having a refrigerator in a room. Actually, we charge $10 more for those rooms which have refrigerators. However, these rooms also include top-of-the-line Serta pillowtop mattresses, microwave, fridge, and recliner (for our Executive Rooms) or a queen and double, stove, oven, fridge, and all eating and cooking utensils for our Efficiencies. For these extras, we don't feel $10 is a lot (they are also our most requested rooms!)

As for being a "resort", one only has to read other reviews here to see the many things we offer our guests for free. Contrary to your statement, we have TWO rowboats, TWO kayaks, TWO canoes, a private swimming beach, lakeside picnic area with hibachis and stone fireplace, asphalt tennis court, game room, sauna, and fitness room for our guests. Use of all of these amenities is included in the room price. (A price, I should add, that is very much in line with other properties in our area, including those with far fewer amenities.) With over a dozen restaurants within a mile of us, we don't, however, offer food service.

Finally, I'm sorry you're suspicious of our positive reviews. To the best of my knowledge, they are honest reviews from prior guests. Luckily, we have many people who have visited with us every year of the 16 years we've owned the Resort, and many who stay multiple weeks each summer. We understand we can't be all things to all people, and I hope you are able to find a nicer, less expensive place here in Maine for you and your daughter to stay in in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    17
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Ma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the place to unwind. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The cabin-like rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The best part is that each room has an entrance and porch facing the lake -- not one faces the road. There is ample lawn area on which to sit or gather with friends or family. There are plenty of activities such as canoeing, kayaking, swimming, and volleyball. We had a group of 24 and it was the perfect location for our afternoon happy hour and even to order 10 pizzas for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobCarolAmesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Impressed with the owners, a great place for families with children (except for the smoking men on the balcony - the owners should make this place smoke free altogether) Lovely beach area, with canoes, wonderful hammock, tennis courts, fields for ball playing, game room, nice balconies with chairs, simple but comfortable rooms (ours was handicap friendly and had a stove and a fridge) with coffee machines (wish they would provide cream, not the dairy powder...yuk) a wonderful Italian restaurant 1 minute away and Ric's diner for breakfast in the morning. Many quaint little towns around and gorgeous lakes everywhere. Would stay here again. Quiet and relaxing. Keep the smokers and beer drinkers away, though.

Room Tip: ask the owners for a room away from smokers and loud people. They are very happy to help out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabachnikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Glad you had a great time in Bridgton! It's a great town, with lots to do.

Lemme see... love to put creamers in the rooms for coffee, but shelf life/refrigeration is a problem. (Trust me... we tried.)

Love to be totally smoke-free, too. However, there are people who still smoke, and some will choose to sneak their cigarettes somewhere inside if they can't smoke outside (so I've been told by other innkeepers.) Until smoking goes away, we keep it out of the rooms and buildings, and ask people to be courteous toward their fellow travelers when smoking outside.

And, as always, we encourage anyone having a problem to let us know and we'll try to fix it (except, of course, for the weather!).

Again, thanks for the kind words. We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We enjoyed the use of the "master suite" Lots of room for our kids to play, and some privacy for the adults in the attached bedroom. Our biggest complaint was that there were a group of men smoking on the porch the ENTIRE time we were there, so we could not enjoy the view and relaxation of sitting outside. It just isn't fair to all travelers to have chain smokers sitting on the "community" porch. My kids couldn't even go out there.

Room Tip: the suite had a jacuzzi tub and a full kitchen. It was a great way to save money on dining out with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
I must apologize for the smokers on the back porch. They were a crew of workers doing some work in the region, and they were, sadly, mostly smokers. We purposely placed them at one end of the building you were in so they wouldn't interfere with other guests. Not sure how they ended up near the Deluxe Suite. Whenever I checked on them, they were always near their rooms.

Also, we ask that anyone having a problem let us know so we can at least try to fix it. The workers were very easy to deal with, and I'm sure they would have moved if we'd asked them to.

Regardless, we apologize for the problem, and will make sure we check more frequently when we have smokers staying with us. There is no smoking in any room or building, and we discourage smoking outside where it might interfere with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

These adorable motel /cabin-like rooms are quite cozy. Noise does carry though, and on during the busy season, there may be a lack of privacy and peace. However, all is compensated for by the delightful owners, the scenic view, and amenities such as canoeing, tennis, and even a spacious hammock by the lake. There is a user friendly porch with each room looking towards the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks towards the lake; these have a peaceful, beautiful view. If noise is an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton,ma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

my family has been vacationing in Bridgton for about 10 years. We started coming here to a sisters ski house when the children were smaller.
Bridgton is a lovely town and most of the residents are friendly. There are many good restaurants and some nice breakfast places. They have a movie theater, a drive in movie, and lovely Highland lake which has a beach and picnic area.
One year we came up a few days early and stayed at the highland lake resort. We found it to be quiet (at least while we were there) and although the units were older they were well kept and everything worked OK. We only stayed 2 days and did not really use many amenities but it is certainly centrally located.

Room Tip: I imagine rooms up on Highway 302 could get a little noise from 302 which is a main road in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

the highland lake resort is vert clean .It has a great view of the lake at the back of the property and the owners are very helpful. I recommend this place very highly. The owner always had a smile and his wife helped to find a person to drive me around Maine.Both of them took time to help me whenever I needed assistance;and I am so grateful for that courtesy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgton
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.5 mi away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
8.5 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Property: Highland Lake Resort
Address: 115 N High St, Bridgton, ME 04009-3734
Region: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, Family recreation area, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lakeview, color TV, phone, radio, A/C, heat, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes, Executive Rooms, and Deluxe Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Highland Lake Resort Bridgton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing