We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Swiftwater, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Found my room clean and comfortable,very peaceful overlooking the lake. There was lots of things to entertain the family! A playground,a beach,docks,canoes,kayaks,even tennis courts! Close to town amenities but very private feeling! Looking forward to returning! Soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have porch seating overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    17
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Returned here 7-8 years later and the lakefront was just as lovely. Warm waters, sandy beach, a floating platform to which we all swam out, and gorgeous shaded area with picnic tables provided something for everyone, even on a partly rainy weekend. We didn't use them this trip but the property also has a tennis court and free canoes, rowboat and a kayak.

That said, other on site amenities come with a caveat. The WiFi "broke" on our first day and despite kindly promises and the owner allowing us to use a conference room Internet, the wifi still wasn't fixed on day 3. The hot tub requires a $5/ person use fee if the in-room book is accurate as well as a trip to the office to unlock it. And the fitness facility and laundry room are locked and also require a trip to the office to unlock - and often a wait as it appears the very busy owner is often the only person on site. If you're ok with that, fine. To us It was a bummer that the few on property indoor facilities offered here were locked down and only open 9 am - 9 pm when a rainy holiday left us looking for things to do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MKMARINAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
HURRICANES MAKE FOR TOUGH WEEKENDS!

I am so sorry about that weekend! It was a trying time for all of us, and I'm sorry that there were issues that we tried, unsuccessfully, to correct! We are a small, family-run resort, and don't have the resources and staff that other larger, more expensive properties have.

The weekend in question was, if you remember, the holiday weekend when Hurricane Arthur traveled up the coast and sent heavy rains, high winds, and thunderstorms our way. 4th of July fireworks were moved to the next day, and many activities got rained out.

Our internet started having problems the first night the bad weather started to hit. Calls to the provider were answered with recordings that cable and internet was down in many parts of the state, but that the problem was being worked upon. The internet would sometimes be working and other times not. I kept hoping that the utility company would soon make repairs, and I let people use the Resort office's WiFi in the meantime if they needed to.

Since it was a weekend, it was hard to get everything taken care of. We later thought that part of the problem was so many families live-streaming movies and doing live gaming that used up what little internet bandwidth we were able to get. A few days after that weekend, we doubled our bandwidth in case of similar rainy weekends.

As for indoor activities, we have a game room with pool table, ping pong, foosball, video game and laundry facility opened from 9AM till 9PM daily. No key is required. Occasionally, we might be 5-10 minutes late to open it if a guest needs our help first thing in the morning.

Next, there IS a key, plus a signed release form, needed for use of the fitness center or hot tub room, required by our insurance company. We need to know if people are using them, are safe, and know the rules and their own limits. I should note that the hot tub is the ONLY activity we have any charge for. Everything else (except coin-operated devices) is free for our guests.

Finally, except for housekeeping personnel, I often AM the only person on site. I always try to leave a note on the door telling you where I am or where to look for me. Trust me, I'd LOVE to hire someone to sit at the front desk all day, but I'd have to increase rates to cover their salary. We are a modest, family-run business. My wife and I try to take good care of our guests, and I hope shows up in other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just stayed one night (repeat trip) - but we just love it here. The room is a basic room - we took an efficiency with a small fridge, stove, Keurig coffee maker. It had a queen and a double bed. There are tennis courts and a game room, but a large yard for Frisbee or yard games. We took out a canoe, a sit-on-top kayak and then a rowboat. There is a boat launch there, but there's also one right up the street which is probably easier to maneuver because you have to travel down the whole yard if you were to launch a big boat from here. Water is so peaceful here. Like glass in the morning and at night. I don't know if it's in a cove area or if the whole lake is like this, but there are plenty of Adirondack chairs, a fire pit and a grill available to use. We will definitely be staying here again as it is close to the amenities in downtown Bridgton. They also have boat docks, but we did not use it, so I don't know how much they are to dock here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We're truly glad you enjoyed your stay and got a chance to use many of our amenities. (FYI, there's no dock use charge for non-powered watercraft, and only a $10 per day charge for powered ones.)

Hope you get a chance to visit again!

--Woody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked a room here for one night so we could enjoy 2 days of fishing. Our room was very clean, the staff was very friendly (and witty ;)), and the grounds were actually really beautiful. There were lots of chairs to sit by the lake... a good size fire pit... and a nice sand entry beach. Even though we didn't really utilize all the things that were available, it was still nice to have it all there. We planned on fishing/kayaking on the lake there (Highland Lake) but that afternoon the water was too choppy and we ended up driving to nearby Long Lake which was calmer. Not many rooms were booked that night so it was really quiet there. Sleep quality wasn't the best... the room was warm and the AC couldn't quite keep up. I require cold sleeping conditions so that is probably part my problem :p All in all our stay was pleasant! We would return if given the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the king executive. Nice bit of a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wuergengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is really about what is outdoors. They offer kayaks, canoes, swimming dock and fire pit - all for free. Also avaialbe is a coin operated laundry and a game room. The lake was very nice.

The rooms are basic, which didn't suprise for the price. The manager is friendly and gave us advice on where to dine (The Balck Horse Tavern was great!) later that night, we met up with some other occupants of the hotel and enjoyed swapping travel stories down by that lake.

We were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My mother and I stayed in the resort in late October, 2013. We were looking for a nice lakefront efficiency with possible boat rentals, and found Highland Lake Resort on the internet. The pictures do not do justice to the fantastic lake views, particularly with the leaves changing, and cannot begin to describe the personal attention and excellent service from Woody, the owner and manager.
When we arrived we had only reserved a couple of nights since we knew next to nothing about the property. After our first night we talked to Woody and asked for an upgrade to an efficiency and an extra night. Woody upgraded us for free (there was absolutely nothing wrong with the regular hotel room we had, we just needed a fridge for our leftovers) and backdated my mother's AAA card discount that we had forgotten about the day before!
The season was basically over for upper Maine, so Woody had beached and locked his boats and floating docks, and opened the game room "upon request." Well, we requested (we are both Ping Pong fanatics-what a great way to start the day!) and Woody not only left the game room open for us but gave us the keys to the canoes and rowboats, access to the paddles and oarlocks, and told us to help ourselves at any time. What a nice man!
My mother and I also discussed what a reasonable, excellent place this would be in the summer for families with kids. It is exactly the kind of place that she and my father used to look for when I was a kid and it jump-started many happy memories of summer vacations, boating, ping pong, and all of the reasons that you take the kids on a family vacation - quality time together.
The town of Bridgeton was also a pleasant surprise; a cute downtown with fun local shops, several excellent, extremely reasonable restaurants, and great walking trails. Apparently, Woody was on the board of some civic improvement group and they set up a system of walking trails that wind through the woods surrounding Bridgeton. The area was settled long before the Revolutionary War and we learned a lot about the local history just from the walking trails.
All in all, Highland Lake Resort was an absolute bargain, extremely friendly, and a wonderful family resort with all of the amenities. Thank you, Woody!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thought this would be a great place. Floors were dirty (Cheetos under the bed) wall are very thin was able to hear people blowing their nose etc. Price too high even though it was Fryeburg Fair week. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure AC actually works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0lly318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Fryeburg Fair week IS a busy week (we're sold out almost every night!), and many of our summer housekeepers have gone back to school. Our fall season staff is a bit newer, but that doesn't excuse finding anything, not even some Cheetos, under the bed. Had you let us know when you checked in, I would have had the staff go back and redo the room.

As for hearing people "blow their nose" in another room, I'm afraid I can't offer an excuse or cause. You are one of only a handful who have ever mentioned noises from other rooms to us, and normally those instances involved some kind of argument or a cranked-up TV. The walls were constructed with 2 layers of framing and insulation, and we added a total of 3 doors between the connecting rooms to limit noise transmission. I will, however, go through the rooms again and see if we detect any problems in any rooms.

Finally, our Fryeburg Fair rates are no different than our other "special event" rates, and are far from the highest in the area. For those who don't take advantage of our free WiFi, game room, spa, or fitness center, or take out a boat or canoe to see the foliage from the lake, our rates may seem a bit steep. However, we still offer all of those amenities FREE to all our guests, and have to cover all of our costs in the process.

Again, I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please don't let this keep you away from the Bridgton area, however. Between the dining, shopping, convenient location, and spectacular foliage, Bridgton is the place to visit in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgton
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
50 reviews
17.8 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
291 reviews
19.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Property: Highland Lake Resort
Address: 115 N High St, Bridgton, ME 04009-3734
Region: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, Family recreation area, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lakeview, color TV, phone, radio, A/C, heat, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes, Executive Rooms, and Deluxe Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Highland Lake Resort Bridgton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing