We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an average breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Glory Diner

Morning Glory Diner
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Bridgton
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bowdoin, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just an average breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My personal opinion is it is important for a breakfast restaurant to serve good coffee. Their coffee was just terrible. I think they forgot to put coffee in the filter. Service was very slow. I had eggs benedict which were fairly good. My companion was told by the waitress that home fries did not come with his breakfast so he had a side order of home fries. When our order came he did have home fries with his breakfast. When he scooped the other homes fries onto his plate, the dish the home fries were in had a pool of grease in the bottom. We had to wait for our check, we had to wait to be given menus. I appreciate a restaurant with prompt service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NanaP155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Blueberry Pancakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The blueberry pancakes were good, the home fries too. That said, this is an otherwise sort of average diner. Nice staff, little atmosphere. When you make pretty special pancakes (and they do), it'd be great to have real syrup (especially in Maine) with them...I'd go back but I just might pack my own bottle of maple syrup!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdGrapeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Morning Glory Home Cooked Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place is great. It's like taking a step back in time. Home cooked dishes at their best. the potatoes are just grand as are the eggs and hash. The lunch menu is super. Hand cut turkey with gravy, just like Nana used to make. Love to eat there. Friendly service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgton, Maine
1 review
“What a disappointment-How did MG change so drastically?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We used to go to Morning Glory every weekend. (as did many family members) It used to be great! The food was very good, and the waitresses were amazing. They would anticipate your every need- another cup of coffee or tea, more napkins, etc... They cleaned the tables and turned them over so fast! You never waited more than 5-10 minutes for food. We Went there a week ago last weekend. There was a huge crowd waiting outside. Several people left because table after table exited the restaurant, but no one cleaned the tables, so no one was called in until the whole restaurant was emptied. What a shame! We don't know what happened- new owner perhaps? We won't be back - we waited 45 minutes and there were empty tables waiting for us within 5 minutes of our arrival. (we were first in line) Standard Gastro Pub is great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teachermom779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs a Facelift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I have been going to the morning glory for years, I love the food and how the restaurant is kid friendly with the train track around the ceiling and the endless coloring pages. The food arrives at a quickly and always tastes good.

My only complaints is the atmosphere-I felt that the restaurant could use some new paint, possibly new tables/chairs? I felt that I was at coffee hour with my grandparents after church service. I was really disappointed with cleanliness of the restaurant, we were sat at a table right after it was cleared. No one came over to wipe the table with a sanitation wipe. Yucky.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morning Glory Diner also viewed

 

Been to Morning Glory Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing