We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best best best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aguas de Lindoia, SP
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“The best best best”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for ten days at the Secrets Maroma Beach for the Christmas and the New Year's Eve. It was the best resort we had been. Everything was perfect. The service was the best we've ever seen all our life. The resort is beautiful, well maintened, romantic. At night, the restaurants are all a la carte and thematic. We love the Portofino( italian).We had dinner three times there. The japonese and the SeaSide( steak house) are wonderful too.
We don't like only two things:
1-We found a lot of frills man could not eat breakfast and lunch at the buffet restaurant wearing sleeveless.I did not find it the least logical.
2-What we really disliked was the lack of privacy in the bathroom suite. The suite is gorgeous but the bathroom is completely open to the suite. There are only a glass door separating the basin of the suite room. It's not confortable.
Anyway, wonderful hotel and worthing the five Diamond Awards. Congratulations. We had ten unforgettable days at this beautiful resort. We would like to come back of course.

Room Tip: We stayed at Preferred Club Suite. We didn't like worth to pay so much for it. Really, there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cred68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Absolutely loved the tittle to this review! Thank you so much for writing it and for giving us a five star rating! There is one point on your review I would like to poin out:

Man are required to wear sleeves at the breakfast buffet for sanitary reasons. As you know we have a distintive H wich means sanitary and higiene control. Everybody seems to be happier when we explain why we do certain things , I hope this will put your mind at ease.

We definitely look forward having you back home again!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,691
    1,622
    455
    143
    65
See reviews for
609
9,473
90
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The staff at Secrets is really great and they all work very hard to make your stay a good one. That said, we went with our college-aged boys. Really the resort is geared towards couples with double bath tubs, etc. The all inclusive is great for boys who eat a lot. Not so great if you're a bit picky about wines. Also the food really was only average. They have a nice big beach although the chaises were usually taken by 10. The pool is a "Scene", music and a lot of drinking. Just not our type of hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with the "private" pools are really sharing a pool with the whole first floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmjyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen SMB between all the available options.

Also, I would like to thank the nice comment regarding our hardworking and motivated staff.

I passed your comments regarding the wine and food to our Food and Beverage director in order to follow up, for us all our guest's comments, opinions and suggestion are very important.

I am very sorry to know that we are not your type of hotel, SMB is a hotel catering to couples but not only. We have activities for each and every type of person and you can have as much entertainment or as little.

I hope you could give us another chance to surprise you and change your perspective about us.

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secrestsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had an amazing 2 weeks at the Secrets Maroma Beach and would highly recommend this hotel!! It is the best all inclusive we have ever been to with the most friendly and attentive staff we have seen and definitely the best food!! Steaks fantastic!! The hotel and its surroundings, including the pools and beach, are beautiful. We would recommend hiring a beach cabana where you will be given a personal waiter and concierge who will look after you all day and all for just $40. All bars served premium branded drinks and the wine was great too. We particularly enjoyed evenings at the Sugar Reef where we met some great people!! The event staff and entertainment was the best we have seen at a hotel so were very impressed. We decided to go to Xei-ha and Xcaret and would definitely recommend to visit both places. With snorkling in Xei-ha in the beautiful and natural aquarium and exploring the eco park and under water caves at Xcaret you will have 2 brilliant days out! We bought these trips as a package which also allowed us to go to Tulum, ruins, and Playa del Carmen for shopping and nightlife. We did not try the spa but heard from others that it was amazing. You can do as much or as little as you want in this hotel and you will have a great time! The only thing that could be fixed is the road leading up to the hotel as it's condition is bad but apart from that there is nothing we could fault! See you in 5 years :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ker085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

After reading this wonderful review, I definitely hope to see you sooner than five years! I appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review and just a quick note about you comment on the main road coming to the hotel, the city does not allow the hotel to build a road to protect the area. We are defenitely working on it and as soon as we can , we would, since we want everything to be perfect for our guests.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

That's what they say when you pull up; "welcome to your new home!" Then you are offered a cool fresh towel and escorted to the guest lobby. The front desk is a series of four desk stations, each with two chairs so that you can be seated through your check in process. Upon checking in you are presented with a glass of champagne with a cherry garnish. Everyone is genuinely pleased to assist and meet your needs. Our bellhop was so kind as to not only speedily deliver our bags to our room but also provide us with a quick tour. Our personal concierge (two for each building so they can readily meet your needs) was helpful to assist my husband in making dinner reservations (taken at the Hibachi restaurant) and get tickets to the evening shows. He even made our appointment at the PHENOMENAL spa (more on that later). We promptly got settled into our room and ran to the insanely clean and tidily kept beach. Seaweed and sea trash at a minimum. They have staff to keep their section of the beach clean. The beach concierge were great at taking orders and quickly bringing you whatever you needed; drinks, water, cool towel, moving free chairs to your location, etc. This resort is a little far removed from the "resort strip" you'll see as you get closer to Cancun. This led to quiet nights; all you can hear is the ocean.
Entertainmet staff was excellent. We spent NYE n the resort and the dinner and party was great.
I can't say enough great things about this property. It far exceeded our expectations and we are already making plans to return next holiday. The weather his time of year is PERFECTION!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latiamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for using the word PERFECTION on your review! This definitive says it all! We appreciate your comments and the fact that you were so please tells me we will have the pleasure to have you back soon. Please keep my contact information and do not hesitate to send me an email next time you wish to come back.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummondville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our first time in Riviera Maya... . We're mostly beach lovers and were more than pleased with Maroma Beach...every employee strives to give the best service..smiling people...good food. Best service we ever had. Resort is quiet and peaceful which we enjoyed. The evening shows were quite good...would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Signal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our resort to other travelers and for giving us a five star rating. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We visited this hotel over Christmas 2013. When you arrive you are greeted by the staff with "Welcome Home", and that set the standard for our 2 weeks. The hotel is set on a lovely beach (although it was quite windy while we were there and the under current in the sea was strong). The pools were always crystal clear and without exception the staff couldn't do enough for you. Our experience in the restaurants was varied, but that was more a case of managing expectations. We could not praise the food in the World Cafe enough. I think most people assumed that because this is where breakfast and lunch is served, that the quality of the meals in the evening would be of a similar standard (good but not exceptional). Anyone who failed to try this venue missed out on a real treat. The molecular / fusion cooking was exceptional. We were also very impressed with the Mexican, French and Seafood restaurants. The others were OK but did not match up to the standards or expectations that were set. It is safe to say that every restaurant was a gourmet dining experience.

Facilities at the hotel were good and we always managed to get a sun bed although if you are too late it can be a bit challenging when the hotel is busy.

There are plenty of lizards enjoying the sun as well as a number of furry inhabitants one of which decided to visit our balcony to avoid the rain.

The only real disappointment was the diving (run by a 3rd party but from within the hotel grounds). The dive (which luckily only my husband did) was a wreck dive and despite 40+ years experience he found it difficult and came back with a badly cut leg and some very bad stings, which he still has although they just look like burns now. He was due to do a second dive on a reef but chose to miss it because of the currents in the water made conditions hazardous. The equipment was also in poor condition and we decided that as I am not as experienced as he is it was safest for me not to dive (unfortunately).

If you want a luxurious break where you can join in with as much or little of the activities as you want, then I would certainly recommend it. For anyone who has been to Sandals and has been put off the All Inclusive hotels (like we were), give Secrets at Maroma Beach a try. It will change you mind - it did us.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for one of the ground floor rooms with direct access to a small pool. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J4KSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review! We appreciate your comments and we are very happy you had such a nice time in our resort. One thing that I would like to point out is the tour you've decided to take (diving) as you know the resort does not offer any tours or excursions, they are outside companies, however , we do offer our support if a guest is not happy and we will do as much as possible.

I will encourage you to send me an email when you are ready to return so I can take care of your reservation, notes etc myself.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

All is great at the Secrets Maroma. I would like to stress couple of things: the quality and the variety of the activities. We enjoyed especially the bike tour ( thanks to Firmit and Polina) , playing big and table tennis, and going on kayaks trip. The entertainment is also excellent, especially the Pianist Enrique . His music selections were pleasant to listen to and he played them very well. The grand Piano in the main hall should be available though for the guests to use as well. Not only for Enrique to perform on it. The situation with the coupons is deceiving. You actually can not use them as you wish because of the narrow limits for each type of the application of them . Ex. : you are allowed to use $ 10 towards the bottle of wine, or $ 40 for the $ 180 of the spa treatment) Etc. As a result of this policy we had practically all the coupons not used.
The service and the food is excellent. I was there with my grown up single daughter and hoped to find there the activities for the single people. But is was not available. It would be a good idea to have a coffee or a different type of the gathering just for the single people to
meet . In any case we had a great time staying at Maroma over the Christmas time. Special thanks to Mr. Cesar Montoya who responded on my e- mails with the different questions prior to our arrival. Very professional.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1446. There was a view to the sea, but far away. Practically each room gives you a chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane5Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful review! I already thanked Cesar for responding so quickly. I hope we have the chance to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,853 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#40 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
9,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4,203 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing