We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera from the 24th Dec to the 4th of Jan. Rooms were very clean and our cleaner couldnt do enough for us but the room smelt damp even though we left air conditioning on . Bar staff was excellent girls in the coffee shop were nice and friendly plenty to do entertainment not bad food excellent only thing that i found that the service in restaurants was very slow and you could be sitting without a drink of any kind while waiting. Xmas and New Years Eve was a bit flat for me they showed you ice sculpting and how to prepare the meal you were eating they had a band playing Beetles music and a disco .
A part from that i enjoyed my holiday .

Room Tip: My 1st room was 2033 it was lovely view was nice had to move no hot water pump was broke moved to 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rainbow123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for the opportunity to serve you during the past holidays.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and I hope you will conserve the great memories for a long time.

I apologize if the restaurants service and the room did not met your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next trip to SMB.

Warm regards,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,953 - 5,959 of 12,610 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We recently stayed at Secrets Maroma for our delayed honeymoon and it was wonderful. We had excellent service, beyond expectation, at nearly all of our meals. David and Darwin at Portofino were wonderful, as was the food, and Lucio was fantastic at Oceana. We were there the 4th through the 10th of January and the weather was pretty bad. We were disappointed, having only one day of sun during our 6-night stay, but made the best of it. We made it to the beach to swim nearly everyday and enjoyed the free hydrotherapy and steam room at the spa nearly everyday, toward the end of our stay. We had a very nice evening with Carlos at the Sugar Reef Bar and the staff were extremely receptive to my wife's nearly-fluent Spanish. Our room was in good shape. Our bed was extremely comfortable. All of the elements of our stay were cared for. Unlike some others, our concierge was not particularly helpful, but we're not helpless and we decided to discover the resort for ourselves.

Ultimately, the weather was a disappointment and my wife and I are not all-inclusive people, preferring exploration and adventure to being waited on hand and foot. Would we do it again? If we were resort people, yes. As it is, we likely will not. We have recommended this resort to our family members as a way to get away; they are more likely to be resort people and we expect that they will be completely satisfied with their resort experience.

Bottom line:

We cannot say enough good about the staff at the resort. People were eager to please and willing to help. We did encounter some grumpy, grouchy guests, but those people are everywhere. Mind your business, disregard grumpies, and you will have a blast a Secrets Maroma.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen SMB as the place to celebrate your honeymoon and gaving us the opportunity to be part of this important moment on your life.

I apologize if our concierge did not met your expectations and not gave you the service you deserve.

Even not being a resort people, we hope to have another opportunity in the future to serve you.

Congratulations again about your marriage, It was a pleasure to have you here.

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

After reading many reviews and with the great review from our daughter and son-in-law who stayed at secrets last may, we decided to do our New Year's at Secrets Maroma. For all the great reviews, we have to say they were right. While I see some had some problems, we did not. From the beginning greeting until we left, the service was top notch at all levels. We have stayed at Iberostar Grands and while they are very good, this is better.
The food was very good everywhere; we really like oceana and the seaside grill. The buffet was excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner.
No problem getting Grey Goose or other top notch brands. No watering down of drinks and the mixed drinks were very good. Excellent orange juice. Not like most hotels with the watery sweet juices.
We ate at Portofino on the patio once and indoors the 2nd time. lovely atmosphere in both, great food, great service.
The Japanese restaurant was also fun and the food was presented artistically as well as being good. We did not eat in the Mexican or the French. Next time. We live in Los Angeles, so Mexican food is all around us.

We were In building 25 and Paulina was our concierge. She did a great job and has a bubbly personality. We also had very good help on-line prior to our arrival regarding concerns we had about our room location and what was going on for NYE. It was a little vague about NYE, I guess because of the weather, but it turned out great.

The beach service is very prompt and the beach staff went out of their way to help.
The thing that was so impressive, the hotel had to be about full if not full for that week, and the way the staff handled it all-around, you wouldn't know it was that crowded. It was alittle tough to get a palapa on the beach, but the staff helped out.

We really like the idea that you can eat dinner anytime you want. you don't have to wear wrist-bands and you don't have to report to the towel desk like a child. That works for us.

We travel to Hawaii a lot and for us, Cancun is about the same distance. With the beautiful beach, good food and service, we have to think twice about Hawaii.

We highly recommend this resort and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in the preferred and the view from our 4th floor room, building 25 was great. We love ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tropicalsun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and recommending our resort to other travelers, I will be sure to thank Paulina for her service and trust this was the first time of many more to come!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited SMB over Christmas week. We were all blown away not only by how beautiful the resort is but especially by the service here. Everyone we came in contact with during the week was friendly and helpful. We had a Preferred Club room #2637 ~ Ocean view and we could leave the slider open and listen to the ocean all night. There was no special pool or beach for preferred club people and believe me, you don't even need to be in the preferred club to feel special here.

The food in all the restaurants and the Barefoot Grille by the pool was excellent. Top shelf liquors everywhere. We never waited to get drinks. Actually, we could see two bars from where we sat at the pool but never had to get up. The cocktail service was incredible!

My absolute favorite thing about SMB is that they have a rule that you can not save loungers by the pool for more than 45 minutes in the morning! At most resorts, the guests go out at the break of dawn, take the best chairs around the pool, leave towels and a personal article on the chairs and then don't actually come out to use the pool til noon which makes it tough on people who wait til after breakfast to go out to the pool. At SMB, we went out to the pool area around 9:00 a.m. and most of the chairs were available! If the pool concierge sees guests reserving chairs and leaving, he will tell them the chairs can only be empty for 45 minutes and then the belongings will be removed. This is awesome! More resorts should enforce this rule!

For Christmas Day, we reserved the private cabanas on the beach! We actually did it two days in a row because we loved it! The cabanas rent for $40 for the day. Reserve in advance and when you get to the beach that morning, your cabana is set up with pillows, beach towels, a newspaper, an ice bucket filled with bottled waters and a sign with your name on it. The beach concierge offers fantastic drink service from 10-5 and you can even order lunch to be delivered to your cabana.

We have been to Secrets Capri, Secrets Silversands and Secrets Royal Beach. SMB is the most outstanding resort so far and worth the extra money is costs to vacation there.
Thank you, SMB! We will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear guest,

I loved the part were it says you will be coming back! That is our main goal always. We are glad you had such a wonderful time! Please keep my contact information and send me an email when you are ready to return.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Cannot praise enough the quality of service and food received during our family holidays this past week. From the "welcome home" start by the front of house team to the amenities all around the resort...beach service, room amenities, entertainement team, concierge service, everything is tailored to make you feel good.mini golf, hobby cat, kayak, endless cocktails service...live music every evening in the lobby, Hibashi, mexican, french, italian, world class buffet... A fantastic destination with a personalized service throughout. Cannot wait to be back for more

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Plhommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear guest,

I absolutely loved the tittle on your review (in big letters really stands out) I'm very happy you've enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our trip at SMB did not start off so well. Upon arrival we were driven to the Preferred Club Lounge for check-in. Right in the middle of our check in, the gentleman, whose name escapes me, took a 5 minute phone call, while we just sat there at his desk. Since it was only noon, our room wasn't ready but was given a pager and told that they would page us as soon as it was. We went and had lunch and met and was chatting with another couple at the table next to us, when the waiter asked if we could go to the bar on the other side so that they could seat someone else for lunch. We did and just waited there for two more hours, because it was pouring and we had no room yet. Finally, after 3:00 we ran over to the Preferred Club to check on our room. We were told that they tried to page us a while ago. Never got a page!

Prior to our stay at SMB, we received an email inquiring about our upcoming trip, was it a special occasion, any allergies or special request, etc. I informed them that we were celebrating our 25th anniversary, but requested that no champagne be sent to our room because we do not drink. Not only was there champagne in our room upon arrival, but a second bottle was sent later in the week. The room was nice but had a problem with ants, a knob broke on the jacuzzi tub and our refrigerator door was broken. However, after reporting these issues to our concierge, Roberto, he immediately rectified them. He was great all week!
We had rain 5 of the 6 days at the resort, which puts a damper on things. We went to the theater a couple of times, since it was advertised that during rain, there would be entertainment there, but nothing was. We went to the spa a couple of times and that was really nice.
On the one sunny day that we had, we rented a cabana which was really great. The beach and pool were both beautiful, just didn't have much of an opportunity to use them.
The food was mostly good, but we had a couple of dinners that were not, at Portofino and Oceana. The lunches were actually our favorite meals. Lots of good choices at the buffet, and the grill. We also had room service which was quick, hot and tasty.
The three shows that we saw were the Rock Show, which was great, Desire, good too, and the magic show which was so bad that we got up and left.
Most of the staff was really friendly and helpful. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves, met some great new friends, and was able to relax. However, based on the reviews I've read, and what we paid, I was expecting so much more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelCordova, Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, please let me thank you for your preference choosing SMB between all the available options.

I apologize for the first impression you had at your arrival and also regarding the miscommunication of your request, I am very sorry if we did not met your expectations.

I will take note of all your comments. At SMB, we know that the only way to keep improving is to listen our clients, I appreciate you gave us this valuable information.

We will love to have you back if you may give us another chance to change your experience.

Sincerely,


Rafael Cordova
Resident Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
nfo.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our second visit to secrets as we loved it so much the first time round . we also brought 2other couples with us and we all had an amazing time .It was my sisters birthday while we were there and they spoilt her with birthday cakes & banners .We enjoy your resort so much which is due to the fantastic staff you have the entertainment team are truly amazing we get involved with water aerobics & hubby does volley ball and other activities as they make it so much fun .we also use the gym nearly every day which I must say I was disappointed to find Elvis stuck in the gym 24 /7 I was happy to see him but needs to be out of there waisted in the gym needs to be involved more he's great .Paulina & ferminater sorry we never got to say goodbye on our last night we couldn't keep our eyes open and had to go to bed and the next day were your days off .All the entertainment team are amazing fermi ater Paulina ,manny ,yanni, Mexican chocolate ,Mexican Harry potter ,Sasquatch ,big willi & asmie hope we haven't forgotten anyone you all work so hard and we love spending our vacations with you all .Edgar from world cafe is fantastic he does a great job and always has a smile and makes your breakfast truly the best start to the day with smiles and great service he's so welcoming.Towel patrol guys did a great job too .We loved sie sie who serves drinks in the day she needs to move to entertainment team or bartender she is amazing never had to ask for a drink she new our drinks from day one and always had a smile and chat she's so funny needs a promotion fantastic customer service 24/7 love her.The only negatives I have is the spa far to expensive lower prices so we can afford treatments on our vacations people would have more & timeshare speak needs to stop so annoying .We also met some lovely people hope to see you all again love from the gang Paula & Jack , Mandy & Andy , Carol & billy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank poemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear guest,

We are so happy you decided to return to our resort, I will mention to Paulina and Fermin you did not have the time to say goddbye to them, I'm sorry you felt disturbed by Unlimited Vacation Club, on your next visit, please send me an email so I can put notes in the system

Looking forward receiving an email from you saying you will be back for the third time!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,036 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,643 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £301 - £764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing