We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant tennis coach!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant tennis coach!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had an amazing stay recently, everything was lovely!! I especially enjoyed the tennis, we played everyday with out fail and that was down to Oscar who was so encouraging and made us all want to improve.

The only complaint about the hotel was being able to get a table in the restaurant, as we were a group of ten. I felt corporate bookings took priority over guests which shouldn't be the case.

Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the five star rating and for your comments about Oscar. The fact that is difficult to get a table for 10 is becasue of the layout of the restaurant and the romantic atmosphere. Some groups of people actually pay to have a different set up at different locations as we need to arrange many things to make that happen. In any event, I hope you understand why we do that and we look forward seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,081
    1,530
    433
    138
    62
See reviews for
559
8,895
86
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just returned from our third stay here. The overall quality is unchanged. Exceptional beach, and there never is a shortage of shaded chaises and helpful personnel to locate or move them. The rooms are neither opulent nor fanciful, but well-appointed and comfortable. All the staff are well trained and pleasant. We only attended one evening event, a poolside "Fire Show" that was amusing, coupled with a "South American Style Barbecue" that was quite good. As all-inclusives go, the food is excellent (we did not get to the Japanese nor the steak house this time). We think the French may be the weakest (artichoke bisque very good, skip the pot-au-feu). Oceana is our favorite (sea food), followed by El Patio (Mexican) and Portofino (Italian). If you can't find plenty of good things at the World Cafe (breakfast and lunch buffets) you deserve to starve. Watch for the occasional guided tour of the kitchens -- very impressive. Last year's great improvement was in-room free wi-fi. This year they have added free international phone as well, a VOIP system apparently. If we could we would award special gold stars to Karla (World Cafe hostess), and also to Ariadna (hostess), Yanin (concierge), and the excellent older veracruzano waiter at Oceana, alas, forgot his name.

Room Tip: We always seem to get Building 24, and we like the top floor: cooling breezes, quiet, more views. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KU65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the five star rating and for naming those who provided a wonderful service!

We look forward serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The resort itself is gorgeous and the staff is so friendly. You really feel like a star when you are on the resort. They literally try to meet everyone of your needs. The staff is outgoing and try to get you involved in activities. The Beatles show was a hit with our customers and was better than what we imagined. The Spa was very nice and the service was excellent. The only reason why I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 was because some of our customers had a bad experience at the French restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review. As we always try to exceed our guests expectations, we would love to elaborate further on the experience at our French restaurant. Please send us an email at your convenience.

Regards,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Partner and I have just returned from a 14 day stay at Secrets Maroma Beach, every thing is perfect for a relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings, perfect beach, the hotel is clean, the grounds are very well kept and the staff absolutely make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble! It is their "pleasure" to make sure you have everything you need. Our Concierge, Antonio, in block 16 was brilliant, anything we needed at all he would make sure we had in our room, booked and recommended a Mayan Restaurant in nearby Playa del Carmen for us and made a point of checking with us everyday that we were happy, thanks Antonio you were brilliant, so helpful, we couldn't find anything to complain about for him to sort out! the room we had on 3rd floor had beautiful sea views and of the grounds, was spacious and the bed was so comfy... Our package booked with Virgin Holidays was preferred club, it is worth noting that sea view rooms with preferred package are located nearer to the beach so sea views from floor 2 and above are good, you also get the benefit of the preferred club bar which is less crowded and noisy, Roberto the barman there is great. They have snacks available if you feel you want a night in from eating in the restaurants or something to drink and nibble before going to dinner. There are 7 restaurants, the only one we didn't think was great was the Chinese - we went for the teppanyaki which was good, but Maroma beach, either have a proper bona fide Chinese cook or send your chefs on training with Chinese Chefs as the normal Chinese restaurant food doesn't resemble anything you would expect.... that was our only grumble with the food, all the other restaurants were very good. Lunchtime there was the barefoot grill or the oceania or steak restaurant alternately offering a lunchtime menu or there was the buffet in the main restaurant daily, you certainly never went hungry! We too found that noise from corporate parties was a nuisance and agree totally with the review from Sandy H, Maroma Beach is a couples resort, most people are on their honeymoons or on a break from kids and noise or just want a romantic holiday, which Maroma is certainly the perfect venue to do this, unless they have corporate parties staying! please Maroma, you have the grounds and space - please build another pool away from the main pool, where corporate parties are not allowed! we were not affected too badly with noise, we found a quieter side of the pool to lay and sunbathe, but I agree there should be a protocol for all guests to follow with behaviour and noise levels, although we were not in the middle of all the shouting, we still heard it and it was irritating,.. it would be nice as well if the Preferred Club did have a seating area outside, rather than being confined to inside, its a rare treat to have evenings warm enough to sit outside for us? they have this in Secrets Montego Bay with its own preferred club pool and that did solve a lot of the noise issues as they have corporate parties as well, they mainly stuck to the main pool and bars in that area we were left in peace. On the whole though we had a lovely time at Maroma Beach, the staff made the holiday - Management we hope you appreciate how hard your staff work! the beach and of course the sunshine - thanks to our Virgin rep also, Grant, thanks for all your help - there are some great trips to do whilst you are there, we would recommend swimming with dolphins for sure, a dream come true for us! Playa Del Carmen is the touristy place to go for shopping, drink or meal outside of the resort, the shop keepers do pester you but they are respectful that no means no and leave you alone, you are approached by others asking you if you want 'anything else', but again leave you alone if you say no, the hotel will order you a taxi and will agree with the driver the cost for you, if I recall it worked out at about £10 - £15... would we go back, definitely!!

Room Tip: Higher floors 2 and above have views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the comments, we do appreciate how hard our people work and I am truly glad they made you feel as good as they did.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Everything about this place is fantastic, which should be clear by all the positive reviews. The only thing I'll add is that the entertainment staff all deserve a special mention. It is definitely worthwhile to take a moment away from reading/swimming/drinking to do some of the activities they offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isaac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are so glad you took advantage of the activities we offer and that the entertainment team made your stay! We look forward serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have stayed at other all inclusive resorts in Mexico and we really liked them, but this Resort was excellent!!! The staff is extraordinary, they really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and they are willing to help you with anything. The resort was clean and neat, the pool areas and beach were beautiful and the food was very good. Also, they had great shows at night and their entertainment staff was fun during the day both pool and beach side and at night at the shows. Fermin and Fernando were awesome, they kept the mood positive and happy at all times and Andres in the VIP Club was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a view of the pool and beach..it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for these wonderful words! We truly love satisfied guests. Hope to have you back real soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I did a lot of research before choosing Secrets Maroma. One of the things that stood out to me in people's reviews was the quality of the beach at Secrets. Allow me to confirm that. The beach in front of Secrets is amazing. Super soft sand and no rocks at all. I ran a couple of miles North (to Iberostar Gran Paraiso) and South, and the beach in front of Secrets is by far the best. There are a couple of properties between Secrets and Iberostar to the North, but the beach to the South is almost completely deserted for about a mile and a half.
The food was very good, and probably the best we've had at an all inclusive. The service was unbelievable. We've stayed at various Sandals, Beaches, Iberostar, Paradisus and the Ritz in Montego Bay and this was way above all of them. There was only one meal the entire week where I felt we weren't pampered. Even that wasn't bad, it's just that our standards were raised by the end of the week! I was very glad that I brought 100 singles, so I could continually tip all week. I don't think it affected the quality of the service as the tips were after the fact, but as an ex-waiter, you know its the right thing to do.
They have a no-reservation policy for dinner (except at the Japanese steakhouse if you want to sit in front of the grill). It works fine. If they can't seat you when you arrive, you get a buzzer, and you can go to one of the bars, listen to music, stroll the property or anything else you like in the time you have till your table is ready.
We stayed in the preferred club area, with a swim out. I would do it again. The swim out was cool, but we didn't really use that pool. It was nice to have the preferred club to go to from our room (building 26) as it was a bit of a trek all the way back to the main building.
My wife and will definitely go back. We're also thinking about trying Dreams Riviera Maya with our kids.

Room Tip: Building 26 was great. Swim out was clean but a little chilly as not in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LIMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this review, I'm sure it will be very helpful to other travelers, we look forward having you back real soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,977 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Destinology so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing