We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maroma Beach Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful location and beach, friendly staff. Mexican restaurant, El Patio, was fantastic as was the World Cafe for breakfast; Italian restaurant, Portofino, was good; steakhouse, Seaside Grill was disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmj317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry you did not like our Seaside Grill. We hope you decide to come back again and when you do, do not hesitate to send me an email.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,818 - 5,824 of 12,932 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Everything about this resort is wonderful. The rooms, grounds, staff, food, drinks, beach, views, amenities etc. Unfortunately, we had to visit with the doctor on staff and even she was amazing. I just took a quick trip to this resort as a top producer award from my company and was so pleased. I've stayed in several Cancun resorts and so far this is my favorite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ames3685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and five star rating! We look forward welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had a wonderful time on our vacation and first trip to Secrets Maroma Beach! This is a beautiful place and the beach is very pretty, lots of white sand. We stayed in a swim out suite (didn't use, the water was a little cold) and the room was very comfortable. Enjoyed the restaurants, the French and Oceanside were the two best that we tried. Hibachi place was fine, just nothing any different than in the states and I think our chef was brand new that night. The pool drinks were good, although as others have mentioned, this is not a place for wine. I like sweeter wines, which they don't have, so I brought my own moscato (thank goodness for checked bags and the little bottles of wine in plastic bottles!)

The entertainment staff was awesome, they make the whole trip so wonderful! My husband is very active and played volleyball, beach soccer, kickball, etc. and had a great time. The shows in the evenings were very good, the Rock Show and Beatles show were the favorites, with the Newlywed game show night in 3rd place. The only miss of the nightly shows was the magician/comedian one evening (not funny or good). We really liked the evening music in the lobby until showtime. They rotated singers, piano players, guitar, etc and it was a great way to relax after dinner and before the show. The stargazing night on the beach was wonderful, we laid on a cabana mattress on the sand and listened to music on a perfect night!

We have been to 2 Sandals resorts, but the entertainment staff here beats either one of those. The only con of this place is the adults only concept vs. couples only. Don't like the conference crowds as they tend to be loud and just want to party. But since I don't see that the Sandals type couples only resort theme is in Mexico, this place is somewhere we will definitely go again!

Room Tip: Swim out room was a nice idea, but not worth it if the water is cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teri1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Yhanks this hotel for spending a beautiful day of our honeymoon. This hotel is amazing and very clean. All employees are very helpful and will do everything for you!!! Rooms are gorgeous and very, very clean. The food was amazing in every seven restaurant, but the best restaurant for us was French restaurant :) The beach was like a fairy tale, large, clean and beautiful. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to survive their vacation in luxury and pleasant environment, even the most demanding.

Room Tip: Our room was in the corner on the 1-st floor...was perfect! number 1420 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank duacik1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the comments and five star review! We hope to see you on your anniversary!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We just returned from our 6th trip to Secrets Maroma Beach Resort and am not sure how a resort can continue to improve year-after-year and make us still want to return. We normally like to explore different resorts and have gone to a couple of others in the area but none comes even close to comparing to SMB!

When we arrived at the resort we were taken directly to our room - no checkin was required. Upon opening the door there was an Ipad playing with photos of our previous trips along with champagne and flowers and a welcome letter with a couple of special surprises - such a nice touch. Our luggage arrived minutes later and we quickly unpacked and headed to Seaside Grill for a nice lunch and a potent margaritas. It was so nice to see staff we have met over the years come up to us (remembering our names) and welcoming us back. For dinner we were set up with a special table at the pool at Oceana Restaurant and a nice bottle of wine. Food was excellent - we both had surf and turf.

For the next three days we had the rented huts on the beach - we had never used these before and really didn't see a need to but after having done it we will definitely rent again - the front row can't be beat - located directly next to the swing bar with your own server all day bringing cool towels, water, drinks, food, etc. Very special and definitely worth doing for at least one day. The other days we had no problem getting a hut on the beach and did NOT have to share - they are set up with four lounge chairs but you simply move the ones you don't want. No one ever asked us to share.

We are not pool people (have one at home) and with a beach like Maroma can't see why people would be at a pool but they were and again no matter what time of day we went by there were available lounge chairs - the resort was 97-100% full the week we were there. Each afternoon late day they had some type of poolside live music - small band, sax player, etc. They were a few weddings at night on the beach but there is absolutely no distractoin from it and they look like they do a wonderful job - would love to have one of my kids do this.

We found the food much improved from last year (not that last year was bad) -all the menus have changed and they have some nice additons. Yes, you can get lobster. We never had to wait at dinner for a table - we would go to the lobby bar around 6 or 6:30 each night for martinis and then decide where we wanted to have dinner. Ate at all but the Japanese - ran out of nights.

The resort excels in service - all the people there seem genuinely happy to be there. They are always smiling and saying hola and never once did we ask for anything that wasn't met with a smile and "of course". Exceptional service.

Every night in the lobby they have some type of entertainment - sax player, piano player, duo, etc. We love sitting here with drinks before dinner and it is a great place to meet other guests. We did not do any of the shows but heard they were good. They had a beach party one night on the beach with a DJ and also another night stargazing on the beach a live band - they spread chairs, and beach beds out for both events- we did attend these two nights and had a great time - especially the stargazing night. Again there is bar service on the beach for these events.

Room was great and cleaned in the morning and turndown again after we left for dinner. The fridge was stocked daily with a few snacks, beer, water and soda.

We normally like to change up resorts and visit different places but we can't tear ourselves away from SBM - the staff, service, food and beach keeps us coming back year-after-year.
Need to thank a few very special employees who made our stay special.

Rafael Cordova who always makes sure his guests are happy and enjoying the resort to its fullest. His staff is probably the hardest working, happiest crew we have met. He always makes sure to stop and say hello and check how things are going.
Guadalupe the Sommelier who is extremely knowledgable and helpful - we enjoyed a couple of nice bottles of wine off the all inclusive list and they were not too pricy.
We didn't participate in any of the entertainment but the staff is very friendly and always chatting and asking how things are going - never once pushed us to participate which is what we want.
Arturo the beach concerige was great helping us with our beach bed and making sure our service was excellent.

We will once again return to our favorite place in paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Lemarier59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear guest,

I've enjoyed reading your review so much! Thank you for keep coming to our resort, we love being your second home.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Overall I have overwhelmingly positive things to say about this resort. So I will get the few negatives out of the way first.
Cons:
1. Value for the money- we paid about 2 to 3 times what we have paid at other similar quality resorts, I thought this would be worth it based on all of the positive reviews, however there just wasn't a true "wow factor" to set the resort apart and warrant the higher price tag.
2. The food at the French restaurant was terrible, flavorless lobster bisque, very tough filet mignon and completely inedible duck confit. I hope they re-evaluate this entire menu.
3. Rooms are not very soundproof, expect to be woken up very early by maids, fellow guests, and loud birds.
4. The "Do Not Disturb" button. We were told if we turned this on our room would be left alone. One several occasions we turned the button on and the maid entered our room anyways. Once we left a small sum of money on our counter and this was taken. (It was not entirely unreasonable for her to assume it was a tip, however it was not a tip, as we were not expecting anybody to enter our room). I like to be able to leave my things out without feeling like somebody will be going through them, the resort should either reinforce the use of this button or offer door hangers to request privacy.

Now for the good.
Pros:
1. Nice white sand beach
2. Bed linens were high thread count/good quality- this does set the resort apart from many other nearby resorts
3. Mostly good food and good drinks. Grouper Ceviche at the Seaside Grill is absolutely amazing and I think everybody should try it! Coffee at the coffee bar was very delicious and I loved the build your own chilaquiles bar at the breakfast buffet.
4. EXCELLENT service. A big thanks to all of the men and women who worked so hard to make our stay very enjoyable.
5. Entertainment was about like every other resort, with the exception of the Affair show, which features some Cirque Du Soleil type acrobatics, this was great!
6. Beach loungers and pool loungers always seemed to be available in abundance

Overall, I would stay here again, but only if I got a better deal, otherwise there are other resorts I would return to first.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank butterfly231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your review, your opinnion matters to us and we will forward these comments to the managers of each department involved. If we can have a chance to get you back, I would love the opportunity to speak with you.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I did so much research on this resort, before and after we booked it. I can honestly say without any reservation it was the best trip my husband and I had been on. The resort was peaceful, we had a swim out room (which I advise, totally worth it), beach was amazing, food was great, we met awesome people and had a fantastic time. After reading some of the reviews on the food that it wasn't spectacular....but it was some of the best food we have had at a resort, and we have been to several. They wait on you hand and foot here. You do not have to make reservations at the dinners other than for hibachi. The Italian was some of the best. I suggest you try the room service food because it is wonderful...the fish sandwich and shrimp tacos are great. As far as our favorite employee, it had to be Fabian...he took care of us every day to make sure we got the perfect chairs for me to have sun and my husband to have shade at the same time. Great trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us to spend your anniversary! I will make sure to thank Fabian for it's service and we hoe to see you back real soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,158 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,526 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,058 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#5 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £295 - £716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing