We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secrets Maroma Beach 3rd experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Secrets Maroma Beach 3rd experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just returned from our 3rd trip to SMB. As most reviews state it is a wonderful resort to visit and your are treated like royalty by every staff member from front desk to pool attendant. We returned because of all Secrets has to offer. There were some changes since last trip, but nothing major (ie: World Cafe not open for dinner every night). We highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to experience 5-Star accomondations. I would like to respond to billandjane2014's comment regarding "brown water runing thru walkways,etc" Apparently they did not recognize that copper color tiles were the decoration that created the bottom of design scroll in walkways and the ankle pools. We do agreed the lobby was warm, but on prev trips this was not the case, so apparently an AC problem. Be guided by the positive reviews, none are exaggerations! Chesterfield, Virginia.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Swim up rooms and top floor balcony. Each was wonderful in its own way. Just depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillCindyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for choosing us again! I will hope next time you come back we can impress you even more to get a five star review!

Please let me know when you are ready to book.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,213
    1,554
    437
    139
    63
See reviews for
568
9,024
87
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent 11 night here and was not disappointed, I will try to say the good/not so good things rather than repeat things that have already been said a million times.
Located on the most beautiful beach you will see anywhere, however the sea does tend to be rough at times and you cannot swim out very far.
We were in block 15 on 4th floor. Large open plan with bathroom area.jacuzzi,large bed, lounge and then onto balcony. Some might find bathroom "too open" and only used the Jacuzzi once. Never had a concierge before but Christina was really good and helpful. Room info not extensive but Christina provided a kettle and dvds so do talk to your concierge, they don't just sell you trips. 44 tv channels in case it rains and channel 14 will always give you some ideas what to do. First time that I have had free room service and the menu is extensive and very good.
Did not use the spa but I heard it is very good, I thought it was too expensive but there is a place 200 yards down the beach giving one hour massages for $55usa.
Wide choice of a la carte restaurants with good food and service. They do have a buffet twice a week which I would like more of as I like to try a bit of food rather than order and then leave if I did not like it. I like plenty of veg or salad with my meal but the a la carte portions to support your steak would not make a mouse fat. Breakfast was a buffet with everything you could think of, some bits seemed more like lunch although the bacon was always hard. Most days I had an omelette cooked by the lovely Gullermina, she was great. Some complain about waiting for a table but never had to wait more than 20 mins.
Two main pools close together staffed by helpful people who supply you with constant drinks and towels, setting up your umbrella etc. The only downside was our friends from the USA, some appeared to get louder through the day after drinking cans of beer from 10.00a.m. Others in groups spoke so loud you could here them across the other side of the pool area so if you want peace and quiet you have to go on the beach. The swim up pool bar area was the worst but we had a group in the Italian restaurant who were making speeches to each other (Car Salesman I think), not what I wanted to hear.
Now for the best bit THE ENTERTAINMENT TEAM
Entertainment was provided from about 9.00 a.m. by a group of lovable people who did not push you to join in anything but treated you like friends and you enjoyed doing things with them. Paulina was so adorable I would have brought her home in my suitcase. (Sorry I could not find you to say goodbye). At night there is entertainment in the theatre by musicians,dancers and acrobats in a proper stage show and supported by the day staff. The fire show was amazing and the Rock Show was unbelievable. I saw it twice and I would have paid good money to even buy a ticket as the musicians were that brilliant. If this show does not get you going you need to visit your local coroner as you need to know if you are alive.
Did two trips out Dolphinaris and X plore which were both good and I will try to review separately.
Money permitting I will definitely return

Room Tip: Go on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashtonian1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review and five star rating! We are happy the Entertainment Team made your stay and we can´t wait to get you back!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcanum, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I just recently got back from Secrets on May 9th 2014. I would have stayed if I could! The resort is absolutely beautiful and the service is bar none! Everyone was so nice and courteous and helpful. The food was fabulous! There was nothing I wanted for. I would go back in a heart beat! The rooms are spacious, the beach is stunning and the water was mesmerizing! I had not experienced such change in color in an ocean. The different shades of blue were so distinct! Even the pool was fantastic! There are plenty of activities day and night and something for everyone. I would reccommend Secrets if you are looking for a relaxing and memorable getaway!

Room Tip: Even the junior suites were spacious. I was in a partial ocean view and it was beautiful because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Best vacation in 55 years....the staff and accomodations was OUTSTANDING.... Superior to all other resorts we have stayed at!!! We enjoyed everything. If one thing I have to critque is the time it took to get our luggage to the room upon arrival! It took way to long to get the luggage....

Paul

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong by selecting Secrets!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I did a lot of research before choosing this resort. This was our first trip to Mexico and I had to find an all inclusive, adults only resort that was going to impress my skeptical husband. Success! We had such a wonderful week here that we are planning on coming back next year and have told all of our friends and relatives about it. The grounds are kept very neat and clean. The pool is gorgeous with a spectacular view of the ocean. The beach is immaculate and just breathtaking. Food is very good. Servers in all of the restaurants and bars are prompt, knowledgeable, personable and funny. They really do go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Concierge services are excellent as well and everyone seems to sincerely like their jobs which is refreshing . The other thing that sets this resort apart is the first come first serve policy. No reservations have to be made for the restaurants, (except for the teppanyaki table), and because we went to dinner early we had no problems getting seated. As well, no "reserving" your lounge chair by throwing your stuff on it and then walking away for an hour or two. This being said, most days there were plenty of open spots around the pool and on the beach. The other nice thing about the resort is that the glass wear at the outdoor bars, while being plastic, is full size and appropriate for the type of drink you order. We did bring 20 oz insulated cups but only used them to bring drinks back to our room on occasion. The bar staff had no problem putting whatever we wanted in them :) We only did a couple of activities but that was due to the fact that we did not pay much attention to the daily entertainment flyer for the first half of our trip. Can't say anything about the evening entertainment as the one night we were going to go I was feeling ill (not from anything eaten at the resort). On the whole, we really did have an exceptional time and can't wait to book our next vacation here.

Room Tip: Only pay for the swim out if you are going to use it. Most only get a few hours of sunlight due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PMCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I hope you do take advantage of the entertainment we offer next time you come back!

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fantastic resort!
Just got back from a week at Secrets Maroma, fabulous resort! Great location, service, food, accommodation and beach. Couldn't fault it. Particularly want to say thanks to Fernanda (building 23), Francisco in the Asian restaurant, Armando by the pool & Margarita in the Spa. Great service! Spa is wonderful. Food and drinks were fantastic. Only thing I would say is make sure you go for 10 days minimum! A week isn't long enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJaneSmith84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just returned from a two week stay for our honeymoon and were beyond happy we chose this resort! We have been to several all inclusive locations and this, by far, had the best food, was extremely clean, had the friendliest staff and a beautiful beach! The food in each restaurant was spectacular...we typically eat in the buffets when we go to all inclusive resorts but the food and service at each restaurant (Italian, French, Japanese, Mexican, steak house and seafood) was so amazing that we had trouble deciding which one to pick each night. Pablo at the Italian restaurant and Manuel at the Mexican restaurant were our favorite! The weather was great, too! They give you an itinerary at the turndown service each night for the next day with all of the activities, the shows, the weather, the restaurant hours, etc. Awesome trip! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and the five stars rating! We can't wait to have you back!

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,644 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,096 reviews
9.2 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing