We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the best - ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Malborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just the best - ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at SMB the last week of April and the first week of May. For my husband and I it was the Honeymoon we never had 36 years late but seriously worth waiting that long for! We did do alot of reseach prior to booking and once booked, counted the months, then the weeks, then the days and then the hours until it was time to go. We flew with Virgin which was a very good choice. After a long journey from South Devon, England we did not have the best of experiences at Cancun airport so arrived at SMB very stressed in the evening. Husband had room service and I went to bed - grumpy! What a difference a good nights sleep makes. I woke early and watched the sun rise from our terrace, our first morning in Paradise and everyday thereafter was another morning in paradise.

Our junir suite 2441 was just perfect in every way, a view of the sea and also of the resort, on the top floor overlooking the Sugar Reef Bar. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Mini bar stocked daily. Great bathroom facilities, towels changes twice daily. Thank goodness we did but upgrade to swim -up room they are so public, not at all private.


All of the restaurants were world class and I can assure you we are very fussy. Don't bother buying wine as both the 'House' free red and white wine are excellent. I can honestly say that we didn't have a favourite restaurant, we used them all at least twice and the Humitsu show cooking is definately worth going to. Room service was aslo very good and it really was 24/7 as we found out at 4.30am in the morning having returned from Coco Bongo (Playa del Carmen), starving!

The Spa is amazing - that is all that one can say.

The Beach is just glorious. No rocks, seaweed or rubbish. Very comfortable loungers and wonderful frozen margaritas at 10am! Beach service, food on the beach, cold face towels - perfect. Worth hiring a Cabana for a day - such luxury.

The Pools are simply beautiful and again the sun loungers and service was impeccable. It could get a little busy around the swim up bar but good if you wanted to meet people and be sociable. The infinity pool was much quieter and relaxing.

The Entertainment in the Theatre was the best you'd see anywhere especially the Beatles tribute band, Secrets Idol (where my husband Jonnie B came 2nd) and the Rock show. The small night Club Desires was also alot of fun, great music, great atmosphere and catered for all ages. The other really good thing about the entertainment was that if you wished for a quite time, you didn't have to see it or hear it, there was plenty of quite areas. Our favouite night was the Mexican party. Fantastic food, drink, company, music, entertainment and O.M.G, have never danced so much in my life (and I don't normally dance at all), thank you SMB for such an unforgetable time.

I mentioned the Coco Bongo Club earlier in Playa del carmen, don't go to it. A total rip off, you are bundled in like cattle, can't move even to go to the loo and you get better entertainment on the resort. Playa del carmen (30 minutes away) is worth a visit only in the daytime and SMB do organise transport for you.

The staff at SMB are simply the best, no not just the best, simply the very, very best. The waiters, the entertainment team. the beach attendants, the pool staff, the bar staff, the ladies who constantly fold the towles at the washrooms, the gardeners, the maids, the bell boys - have I missed anyone out? Probably, I apologise, you are all magnificent. Jan and Jonnie B send thier love to you all but especially our darling Ana from the Entertainments team - big hugs! xxx

I should not finish this review on a bad note(I should have started with it!) but I will say that on one or two occasions large groups, wedding parties mostly ( I really don't wish to hear the words awsome or dude ever again!) did spoil our peace and quite during the day so that we had to move from where we were relaxing. SMB advertises this resort as a romantic place for couples but couples beware - it isn't. However we did meet some really great couples

Well this was was suppose to be a once in a lifetime holiday but I hope to God that one day we will be back. Secrets, you have spoilt us,.

Room Tip: In our opinion the top floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for becoming part of our experience.

We are happy to see you loved our Staff and we will be happy to see you home again.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,215
    1,556
    437
    139
    63
See reviews for
568
9,026
87
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent our 30th anniversary at Secrets Maroma Beach, and even with a tropical depression dumping rain on us for the first two days, it was a great getaway. The remainder of the week was post card perfect. The staff was amazing and very friendly, always making sure you had whatever you needed. Our concierge Mar was really fantastic, from creating a festive display around the flowers I had ordered for my wife with balloons and ribbons, to making various reservations for us that changed on the fly to due to weather. She really went above and beyond what any concierge had done for us at other resorts, and always with a genuine smile. We stayed in an ocean front preferred club junior suite. The soaking tub on the balcony with the unobstructed ocean view was worth the extra money. My tip for anybody staying there; rent a private beach cabana for a day. $50 for your own personal space with privacy if you want it, complete with the beach concierge and dedicated waiter insuring your drink glass is never empty and delivering food to you from 9 am to 6 pm has to be the best bargain ever. The grounds are kept immaculate, the food is excellent, and the top shelf choices are outstanding, all included of course. Our room was beautiful, kept immaculately clean by twice a day service including turn down service, and our complimentary mini bar was always fully stocked. The "Secret Box" delivery system for room service is excellent. The staff can drop off your room service in there if you don't want to be disturbed, or they are just as happy setting up your dinner on the table in the sitting area. Do yourself a favor, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

We will make sure to thank Mar for her wonderful service and we thank you for choosing us for your special celebration.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just had our daughter's wedding here and everything was really great, Absolutely recommend the upgrade to Preferred Club. Special thanx to Cecilia and Fermin for extra special treatment!! Had so much fun at the pools, we never made it to the beach.........

Room Tip: get the swimout room and pay for preferred club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

You definetly must come back and enjoy our beach which is one of the best features of our Resort.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I just got back from staying at the resort for our honeymoon and we were very pleased overall. The staff was great and our concierge Rogelio was awesome and very helpful. The service was usually good... there were only a couple servers that were very slow. At the Italian restaurant it took 1.25 hours from the time we walked in the door to the time our main dishes were on the table. The food was mainly excellent. I did learn not to order steak, it was definitely not to the standards I'm use to in the US. Room service orders were terrible. That is was brings the hotel's review down. I didn't think it was possible to mess up pizza or nachos but I was wrong. The hotel was very clean, entertainment was great, and the beach was awesome. I'd definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review and we regret you had to wait more than an hour for your main course one night, as you know some dishes take more time than others and specially gourmet food. However, we would love for you to contact us when you are ready to return so we can pamper you even more!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon. For the most part this is a great resort. As everyone else states, the staff can't do enough for you. Our concierge Mar, was the best! Everyone was always doing everything in their power to make sure that your stay was perfect!
We were in building 17, which had amazing views of the ocean. I had read reviews telling us to ask for a second or third floor room, as opposed to swimout. If you want views, do the same, however, the swimout looked pretty cool, and at times we were wishing we went that route. There is much less privacy, however.
The one thing I need to point out is, that although the food is good, it is over-rated, I believe. The Italian restaurant was our least favorite, and mexican was our favorite. The service at all restaurants was great, however! We did have an amazing meal in Playa Del Carmen at LaCasa De Agua!
Also, the beds weren't that great. I think it is time for new sheets, some of them were worn, and ready to be tossed out!
I do have to say, thanks to a review, I emailed the resort and asked not to receive the time share presentation. I received an email back telling me that they would do everything in their power to make sure we didn't get one, and we didn't!
We did stay in preferred club, worth it alone for the private bar! The bartenders there are great, it was a nice place to hang out before dinner and mid-day, during the rain.
The people at this resort are the ones that make your experience so amazing. We did tip, but no one is looking for a tip, they are truly just happy to help!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beckyg576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the review! Allow me to clarify we do replace our worn sheets so I would love to find out what happened. If you are thinking of coming back, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd visit to Playa Del Carmen area and we stayed at different resorts each time. We undoubtedly will be returning to Secrets Maroma for our next vacation! The hotel is beautiful but it's the staff that makes all the difference. The entertainers are soo funny and caring. Fermin, Ivan, Cesar, Fernando and Rafael are just a few I can think of, that were OUTSTANDING! Ivan, during his off time, showed up to the beach with a cooler full of drinks for all of us playing volleyball. He was not told to do this, he is just a great person who cares about people.
The pool concierges wouldn't let us lift a finger. Anything we needed, they were there to assist. My concierge was Humberto. Fantastic gentleman who called us Mr and Mrs (last name). There were hundreds of couples there and he remembers everyone's name.
The food and drinks left nothing left to desire. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Jean was our room concierge and he took care of all our needs.
Lastly, the nightly shows were fun filled and entertaining. The Rock Show was my favorite.
If you have the opportunity to visit Secrets Maroma, you won't be disappointed! The STAFF is the reason I will be returning to this beach oasis. My wife and I say "Thank You for our wonderful visit."

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nova5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so mcuh for recommending our resort! We are so happy our staff made your day. We look forward seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Co
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the resort 5/21-5/28. This was our 4th trip to the area, and 3rd resort we've stayed at. Secrets Maroma was by far the best we've stayed at!

We chose SMB because of the rave reviews on the beach. It didn't disappoint. Powder white sand, clear blue water, and the staff keeps it very clean. There are also tons of free palapas to get some shade when you need a break from the sun. We did get a private palapa for $50 one day, and it was very nice, but the free palapas work just as well. Never had a problem finding a place to sit, even if it was a little ways down the beach. Drink service on the beach was very good, the servers work their tails off running back and forth to the bar. We loved walking to the right of the resort daily since there is nothing for quite awhile.

The pools were beautiful and very clean, but we never once went in them because we just couldn't pass up sitting on the beach every day. The pool was definitely more lively if you are looking for that. We preferred the quiet of the beach.

The food is very good for an all inclusive. Our favorites were the French and Italian. The Hibachi dinner was also great, get reservations early. A lot of people have talked about long wait times every night, but we only had to wait once and the time we went to eat were all over the board. When you do have to wait, they give you a pager so just grab a drink in the lobby and relax. There are a few board games available to pass the time. The breakfast at the buffet is amazing!! I can't remember the name of the women who makes the omelets (Guillermina maybe) but her omlettes are heaven and she is so sweet. The crepe station is also amazing. I loved getting a mimosa every morning. Also want to give a special shout out to the buffet hostess Karla. She always remembered us and was a delight to talk with.

Not a lot of people review the fitness center, and that was important to me so I want to touch on that. I CrossFit and wasn't anticipating much. While it is small, I never had a problem finding ways to switch up my workouts with the available equipment. There are quite a few treadmills and ellipticals. There was a wide range of free weights, a squat rack, bench press, and a few other machines. When I wanted to do some barbell lifting, I just took the barbell off the bench press and used it if available. Overall, I was able to give myself some great workouts for vacation. Also, the green drink they have looks a little weird, but tastes really good.

The rooms are really nice and spacious. Housekeeping did an awesome job. The beds are SO comfy. We had a preferred club ocean view in building 25. We were on the top floor and I would recommend this. Never got tired of our view. Our concierges for the week were Paulina and Christina, and they were both fabulous. With preferred club we also got access to the preferred club lounge and unlimited use of the hydrotherapy circuit at the spa. We utilized both a lot (hydrotherapy was perfect after laying in the sun all day). The bartenders in the lounge are great, I wish we could remember the name of the bartender we would visit with daily. They have delicious canapes and snacks all the time. The lounge decor is a bit outdated and could use a face lift. I do think preferred club is worth it, simply for the view we had.

As many people have mentioned, the entertainment staff are PHENOMENAL. We did the kitchen tour with Jordan and Gabby, and Jordan was so fun and hilarious. He even remembered us a few days later when we saw him at the foam party. They work long hours but you would never know because their energy levels are always high, and they always seem to be having a great time with guests. The shows here are much better than shows we have seen at other resorts. We really enjoyed the Rock Show, Beatles Show, and Affair.

A few extra things. Tip the staff, they work very hard. Utilize the bug wipes since mosquitoes are definitely around. Bring a prescription for an antibiotic in case of stomach issues. My husband did have some issues the last few days. The onsite photographer (Adventure Photos) does a free photo shoot for you. Do it! We ended spending more on a package than we anticipated, but our photos turned out fabulous and there really is no better souvenir (will post an example of one of our photos). I recommend the latest time to take advantage of the sunset.

We had a great trip, got the relaxation we were looking for, and would definitely consider returning. I have already recommended the resort to friends.

Room Tip: Top floor to get the best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank blubuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review and recommending our resort to other travelers, please send us an email when you are ready to return.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,646 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,098 reviews
9.2 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing