We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PERFECT Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from the most magical honeymoon we could have ever imagined. Secrets Maroma Beach was the perfect location for a week long couples getaway. From the second we arrived we were treated like royalty. We were members of the preferred club, where we were checked-in with Champagne waiting. They upgraded our room to Building 25, room 2547. Another bottle of bubbly and flowers awaited us as we opened the door. It had an amazing view of the main pool as well as the ocean. Our room was ready and we didn't have to wait at all for our bags to arrive. Our room had a Jacuzzi tub and another tub on the balcony. The staff keep our room clean and organized. We even had rose petals on the bed one night. The mini-bar and snacks were restocked daily. There were 6 amazing restaurants on the site. We personally loved the Italian and Hibachi, but did not have one bad meal. Room service from noon until 6 a.m. was perfect for those stay-in nights. Included in the honeymoon package was a special dinner on the beach which was fabulous surf and turf. There are delicious snacks poolside daily. The waiters around the pool were very attentive, especially Gustavo. They never let us have an empty glass and the drink menu seemed endless. There was never a struggle for a chair, umbrella or a towel. If you got tired of the pool a miraculous white-sand beach was a 2 minute walk away. The entertainment team provided enough activities to fill your day, but let you just relax if you wanted to. Plenty of night time entertainment was provided as well. A personal concierge, our was Cristina, made sure to help plan our day and check in to make sure everything was up to our personal standards. A 50 min massage was included in our package and was an amazing experience for my husband and I to share together. The preferred Club got us into the spa's Hydrotherapy for free. This trip blew us away in all areas, and the all-inclusive was definitely the way to go! I highly recommend this site as relaxing and romantic honeymoon!!!

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the ocean our building 25 was second or third from the end and still prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing us for your recent honeymoon!

Hopefully we will see you for your anniversary soon!

Sincerely,

Bárbara Arribas
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,201
    1,553
    437
    139
    63
See reviews for
568
9,014
87
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in May 2013. It was expensive for us, but worth it, and we still dream about when we can go back.

Room:
Our room was the nicest we have ever stayed in, and both of us have traveled a lot. It was huge, with a large sitting/living area and a large deck. I think the deck was supposed to have a partial beach view and it didn't (you could only see trees), but we didn't care.

Things to do:
We love to sit around on the beach all day, but if you're looking for things to do, there was plenty. There was an activity (or more than one) every evening, and the shows we went to were surprisingly fun, not super cheesy like other resort entertainment we have experienced. You can do watersports, play tennis, bike, do archery, play ping pong, sail, dance, and more. We wish we had taken more advantage of some of the options (like tennis and the free scuba certification) but we were too busy enjoying the beach. You could leave the resort but we never felt the need to.

Beach:
The beach was one of the nicest, if not the nicest, we have ever been to. Beautiful, clean, soft white sand. Warm, clear water with tropical fish that swam right up to us. A constant breeze so the temperature is really nice even when the weather is hot. The beach has lots of comfortable lounge chairs with umbrellas (important for us -- we burn easily and need to be in the shade) and always found two chairs with umbrellas in good spots immediately. There are also big swinging bed beach cabanas a little ways back from the beach (they are nice--don't feel like you need to rent one of the private ones). Service on the beach is fantastic--we could always get something when we wanted it, but we were never bothered by servers coming around to often. We didn't experience any people trying to sell jewelry, sunglasses, braids, etc. We were left alone unless we wanted service.

Grounds:
Grounds were beautiful and clean with hammocks and chairs everywhere.

Pool:
The pool was nice and had a swim up bar. It closed early but that's what helps them keep the grounds so clean.

Food & drinks:
The food and drinks were sooo good. We tried every restaurant except the seafood place (we're not big seafood eaters). There is a different place for food and/or drinks around every corner. We especially loved the lounge with the delicious martinis and live music in the evenings. The restaurants are on the nicer side, where it's fun to dress up, but you can also eat casually by the beach or poolside. We tended to eat earlier but we never had to wait for a table.

The one downside of the trip was that I got sick (yes, the kind you're thinking) for the last three days. Those three days were miserable. That said, if you're going to get sick in Mexico, it's great to be in a comfortable room with a delicious broth you can order from room service (and not even have to talk to anyone, as they can leave it in the little secret door. I didn't rely on bottled water and drank/ate what I wanted. Next time, I would probably avoid tap water, ice, and any rindless uncooked fruits or vegetables. There is plenty of variety for food (including huge buffets) where doing so would be a bummer, but pretty easy. Even with this experience, I give the resort 5 stars.

Service:
Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

Overall experience:
Even despite my sickness, the trip was magical, right from the beginning when we drove up to the beautiful grounds, were treated royally, and given a glass of sparkling wine and warm towels. We can't wait to go back some day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeymooners1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that enjoyed most of the time , and feel sorry to know that you got sick for some days.

We hope to see you again and make sure you spend a memorable vacation.

SIncerely,

Bárbara Arribas
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been to mexico 4 times previous to this trip, but this hotel & beach was by far the best we have ever visited. From the moment we arrived, we were waited on hand & foot & made to feel very special. The hotel standards were exceptional, the staff can't do enough for you & the restaurant standards are fantastic!
Plus, the stretch of beach outside of the hotel is the best area by miles - the sea is much calmer than Cancun & the water is perfectly clear unlike the area up near Moon Palace, which has big patches of seaweed.
We upgraded to the preferred club junior suite & would recommend this - ask for the top floor as the view over the ocean is out of this world. We stayed in block 26.
We thought about the swim up rooms but are so pleased that we didn't - these rooms only have a view of the trees/bushes & dont get much sun. we personally would much rather have the sea view.
We stayed for 14 nights & didnt leave the complex, which is very unusual for us......but with the wide range of restuarant & the great day & evening entertainment put on by the team, why go else where & spend money on something of a lesser standard!
Secrets Maroma made our honeymoon a very special occassion, one we will never forever & we can't thank you enough.......we are hoping to get back for our anniversary!

Room Tip: We thought about the swim up rooms but are so pleased that we didn't - these rooms only have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinkyfeet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your feedback with us!

It will be a pleasure to host you once again in a near future.

Sincerely,

Bárbara Arribas
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went with friends to renew their wedding vows. Awesome from the time we arrived till we left. Smiles and greetings from everyone. I usually do cruising but this was a nice change. The restaurants were outstanding as well as the entertainment. The Beatles show OMG. The entertainment staff ( Diana, Jorge, Ivan, Ferminator and Sasquatch, one of the best). Personal and caring. Made a special treat for my daughters birthday and made her feel special. Employees always saying Good Morning, what a way to start the day. It was a great relaxing week, thanks to all the staff. Will go back to visit all the friends we have made. The room was awesome block 24 room 2430. Our concierge was extremely nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the view from our room was unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Guest Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

Our goal is to make everybody feel like home and to make sure they enjoy our little paradise.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Bárbara Arribas
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I truly find it hard to believe that anyone could write a bad review about this hotel. We stayed here in May this year and had the most perfect relaxing week. We stayed in block 24, room 2410, it was an end swim-out room and the cost of upgrade was more than worth it! It was everything we had expected and much more!
Our room was perfect as was the swim out, which we used at least once a day, it was nice having an end room, with end of swim out and we had the sun until mid afternoon. The air con was a cool welcome at the end of a hot day and we had no issues with ours. The mini bar was stocked daily and the maids did a great job cleaning our room in the morning, then providing a turn down service in the evening! We thought that was such a nice touch!
The restaurants and choice of food was excellent, we liked that they were all A La Carte for evening meals, breakfast and lunch buffets were great, all tastes catered for.
The beach here really is beautiful, it deserves its award! The attentiveness of ALL the staff are amazing, nothing is ever too much trouble!
While we were here we took a horse riding tour at Rancho Baaxal, if you love horses, you'll love this tour, whether experienced or a novice, I would highly recommend it! The ranch is a short walk from the front of the hotel, the tour takes you through the tropical forest and you get the opportunity to gallop alongside the beach. We booked this through their own website from the UK and it was an experience will never be forgotten!
This resort deserves 5 stars, our only small fault would be the hard sell for 'timeshare' on arrival, which we had been warned about in previous reviews. You just need to be firm and say you are not interested, the last thing we wanted to do was waste a morning of our week going to a presentation! Aside from this I would very much recommend this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 11Jules5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

It's nice to know that you enjoyed your Anniversary and we look forward to host you again in a near future!

Sincerely,

Bárbara Arribas
Social Media Manager
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had never traveled outside the country, ever. This was or first trip outside the U.S. We could not believe how helpful, courteous, respectful and fun the staff was at this resort. They had no problem helping us with any problem we had. Or concierge even ran into Playa del Carmen to look for finger nail clippers because we forgot ours.

My wife and I stayed five nights, which was perfect for experiencing almost all of the activities and shows the resort had to offer. The travel concierge was also very helpful for setting up trips to sites away from the resort.

The staff had our safety and well-being their first priority during the entire stay. I was thoroughly impressed with how they made sure our transportation was correct, timely and that the rates (if traveling by taxi ) were decided upon before we even stepped foot into a vehicle. Just remarkable service.

We have decided that we will try going back in a few years. Obviously, the resort is beautiful on the sea and there are pools to lay in all day. The service was all fantastic for bringing us drinks and taking empty dinnerware and glasses away. But what really made the trip was the courtesy and professionalism.

And of course...The entertainment staff had something exciting to do every hour of the day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gdauch .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to host you and thank you very much for sharing your comments.

We are looking forward to see you next time.

Sincerely,

Bárbara Arribas
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was a good resort. Nice rooms and a very good staff, well trained. It is still Mexico and our group experienced some trouble with the air conditioning, internet access, and transportation. Nothing to deter this resort. the resort reponded promtly to problems.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 238Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and for letting us know how was your experience at the resort.

I'm glad to know that our staff responded promtly to the issues and help you to enjoy your vacations.

If you decide to come back, let us know.

Sincerely,

Bárbara Arribas
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,638 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,088 reviews
9.2 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing