We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 years of waiting - all worthwhile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“20 years of waiting - all worthwhile”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This place is truly a piece of heaven on earth. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave the service, the experience is truly memorable. We could not fault one thing in our ten day stay which will stay in our memory for life. We cannot possibly recommend this resort highly enough. You would be mad not to try this experience at least once in your life. We will will be going back

Room Tip: They are all good rooms - don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOBrienWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

That was a long wait! Thank you so much for your words and we hope to see you back at Secrets Maroma Beach real soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,321
    1,577
    441
    140
    65
See reviews for
578
9,127
87
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I cannot say enough about this resort. We chose the swim up suite and were so glad we did. The rooms were spacious, clean, cool, and very comfortable! The food was fantastic as were the drinks. We are somewhat "drink snobs" and were able to have our high quality liquor at no extra charge. This has never happened at any other "all inclusive" before. Even though the resort was full at the time of our stay, it never seemed crowded nor did we ever have to wait at a restaurant. We are already planning our 35th at this same wonderful "piece of heaven!.

Room Tip: We chose the swim up suite instead of the view of the ocean. We were not in our room much and when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

What a great way to celebrate your 30th Anniversary! We look forward taking care of you on your 31st.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

First impressions on the drive up to the hotel were not great but once you arrive that is forgotten. The suites are fantastic, the service across the hotel was equally fantastic and cannot find a negative about this resort. The choices in all the restaurants, the bar staff and the great entertainment team who worked tirelessly to ensure you enjoyed every minute, the whole package was 5 star fantastic. The mudslide cocktail by the way is to die for go for it!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good but all accommodation appear to be sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our resort to other travelers and for submitting this wonderful review!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had the most amazing time at Secrets Maroma Beach. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and were welcomed and treated very kindly. Alfredo greeted us and helped us out every way he could. Also the staff including, Fabiola, were so friendly and were at our every want and need! Starting from the clean room to the elegant meals, our expectations were exceeded! Our swim up room was wonderful and the cleaning crew did a really great job. Our stay was so relaxing and our evenings were filled with fun and excitement. The weather was awesome the beach was beautiful. I can't say enough about how much fun we had and look forward to going back! Our recommendations on Secrets Maroma are very high! Lastly, we want to say thank you to Cindy Brinkmeyer and Ambassador Travel for recommending this and setting it up for us. Our travel was smooth and no problems. Truly, it was an amazing time!!

Room Tip: Junior Suite Room with Swim out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your review and for decided to come here. We hope to have an opportunity to take really good care of you in the future.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What can I say about this place. We had the trip of a life time and it was mainly to do with the staff on site.

The entertainment team. Ivan / Fernando / Jordan / Miguel (Mexican Chocolate) / Jorge / Israel / Paulina and Diana all went out of their to make me and my wife feel welcome. I loved every minute of their company and entertainment, just a quick note on the entertainment, we were in vegas before Cancun and some of the shows put on by the staff in Maroma beach belong in a hotel in Las Vegas, they acts are incredible. They were so good me and the wife we are already looking to book again for next year!!!

It's not just the entertainment team that made our trip, our concierge Paulina was extremely friendly , even did our room up to celebrate my birthday and really did take care of us.

Maurico the barman always had a smile on his face no matter how many drinks we had or how late we ordered.

The rooms lovely and spacious , the views of the ocean incredible , the food in all of the hotel restaurants was delicious.

It was the start to our married life we could only dream of and we want to thank all of the staff in Maroma Beach for that.

All our love & we will meet again.

Gary & Caoimhe Moore

Room 2329


We will never forget our honeymoon

Room Tip: They are all good rooms... Take part in all the games... Interact with Entertainment team G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for submitting your five star rating review and for the special thanks to our staff, we hope to see you back on your first year anniversary!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon in June 2014 and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. It's like a little piece of paradise. In summary:

Room: absolutely fantastic, spacious, airy, clean, huge comfy four poster bed, well stocked mini bar, lovely balcony, overall very luxurious and well appointed. We opted for the ocean view which was lovely but the sea was quite a way off in the distance (block 22), not quite as close as we imagined but it was great to see the sea when we opened the balcony doors in the morning. The only slight criticism would be that the shower was weak and did not reflect to the outstanding quality of the rest of the room.

Food: Absolutely out of this world! My wife and I are real food lovers and found the standard of the food to be excellent. There is a wait for some of the restaurants but it was not a problem as we just went and relaxed in the lobby bar with a cocktail whilst waiting for the buzzer to go off. Our favourites were the Italian which has fantastic food and the Seaside Grill which is a bit more relaxed and informal than the restaurants in the main building, the sea bass is to die for. The service is absolutely fantastic, the waiters tend to your every need, always with a friendly smile. Special mention to Louis the waiter at Seaside who was so friendly and professional, and Pablo at the Italian who was great. Can't say enough good things about the food. Least favourite was the Mexican which did leave us feeling a bit underwhelmed.

The breakfast at the world cafe is fantastic, absolutely everything you could possibly dream of and all really nice and fresh. Highlights being the omelette and pancake stations.

Lunch: we stuck to the barefoot grill when we were down at the beach as it's convenient to pop there in your beach stuff rather than getting changed to go to one of the main restaurants. It is excellent for burgers, nachos, salad, bbq'd fish etc but the food can get a bit repetitive if you eat there every day

Beach: absolutely stunning, like a picture of paradise you see in a magazine. White sand, bright blue ocean, palm trees. The pool is also lovely but we spent most of our days chilling on the beach and swimming in the sea as it's simply too good to miss out on. The sea is a lovely temperature and the fish will swim up and eat out of your hand if you take a piece of bread down from the bare foot grill.

Activities: There is loads to do here. I am more a travelling type and had never done all inclusive before but I loved every minute here. The entertainment staff are great, they work so hard and make sure everyone gets to join in and have fun playing volleyball, football etc. being a pair of British saddo's we played mini golf everyday and loved it haha. Special mention to Ivan who's enthusiasm knows no bounds when organising football matches and other activities. Would thoroughly recommend the sea kayak tour which was great fun, but keep hold of your sunglasses when coming back into shore as we both lost ours after getting flipped out the kayaks in the waves.

Entertainment: we went to the fire show and the rock show and really enjoyed both. Really good fun, if a little bizarre at times!

Fellow guests: everyone was really friendly but as Brits the one thing we did find a bit annoying at times was the groups of Americans who lived up to every stereotype with much whooping, woohooing and generally making sure that everyone else knew what they were talking about. They mainly seemed to be parties staying there for weddings on the beach. It didn't spoil it but did take the gloss off some of our evening meals when seated next to groups who were somewhat inconsiderate to fellow guests with their full volume conversations which bordered on shouting at times.

Staff: absolutely first class, they cannot do enough for you and treat you like special guests from the moment you arrive to when you leave. Special mention to Alberto our porter who is a charming young chap.

Tours: we booked 4 tours through the hotel's Amstar travel desk and absolutely loved all of them. The man on the desk is really helpful and will talk you through everything. We did Swim with dolphins at Delphinus, Xplor Park, Coba and Cozumel Island - all absolutely brilliant, and you get to see a bit of Mexico outside of the resort. You do pay through the nose for the tours whoever you book with so allow some extra money for these when you get there.

Overall I would recommend this place to anyone. It's a piece of luxurious paradise with amazing, food, drink, atmosphere and loads to do if you want to.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for submitting your review! And we are happy to see you've decided to spend your Honeymoon here, we definitely hope to see you back at your one year anniversary!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with good friends and the resort and staff were fantastic. The goal of the resort is to truly have you relax, eat very well and never be without anything that you want! We will definitely visit in the future!

Room Tip: Preferred club rooms are highly recommended for the added amenities and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michiganders1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for coming to celebrate your Anniversary here!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,712 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,172 reviews
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing