We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the first visit....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dongola, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as the first visit....”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I just returned from my 2nd trip to Secrets Maroma Beach. We scheduled at last second so the prefered club rooms were all that were available, extra money...But being that our first trip was so amazing, I didn't blink an eye at the extra $. It all started very badly. Our flight landed early that morning so we were there by 11:00am. They scooted us off to the perfered club, our rooms were not ready. So we went to eat lunch, hopefully rooms would be ready after. We returned to the club, were told they would be ready in an hour. They did not offer to any other amenities so we could at least get to our luggage and grab swim suits, we were told to wait. During this time I saw 5-6 parties come through and their rooms were available which did not set well with me or my party. My sisters room was available a little after 2pm, arrangements were made to send my luggage up to her parties room and mine would be availabel shortly. We dressed and went to the beach. At 4:30, I came from the beach, still, no room. This is when I became irrate with the check-in manager and yes, I did create a stir. Needless to say, I was in my room 10min later, with my luggage which she brought up herself. They did try to sooth the savage beast and offered me a complemintary beach cabana for a day which I did enjoy, so much I reserved one for the next day also thanks to the Beach Conceir Auturo--who was fantastic and very attentive. The spa treatments were wonderful, I can't complain at all about the food. The prefered club was disappointing, Upgraded mini-bar--airplane bottles of rum, vodka, and jack. pringles, and m&m's. There were no perks actually for the extra money. Entertainment staff were also disappointing. Very friendly the 1st time I was there, not as personable this time. One thing I really enjoyed the first time was the atmosphere of high quality but...comfortable surroundings. But changes are made everywhere you go, some good , some not as good. After the 1st wasted and yes I feel they wasted my first day for me, I had a very relaxing vacation and yes I will visit again but I will NOT book the prefered club at the cost... and internet,,,your phone will Not stay hooked up for any length of time so don't even go there

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the review and in regards to the room not being ready, check in is at 3pm, if your room was given to you later than that we are glad they gave you a beach bed for the day.

If you see people getting their rooms before yours it is because it is a different room category/bedding etc.

I invite you to contact me if you wish to come back so we can make sure your room is ready if not before, at 3pm.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,590
    1,607
    452
    143
    65
See reviews for
599
9,377
89
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had our honeymoon at this wonderful Hotel in June. We stayed for 2 weeks & every day was a real treat. After arriving from the uk & spending 11 hours on the plane it was heaven to be greeted by smiling staff a cool towel & a glass of bubbly. Great start!
No mention of any vacation club but I did email ahead & say we were not interested.

Our room was in block 20 which was perfect for us, nice & quiet & near the spa & French & Italian restaurants. It was large & very well equipped with a garden tropical view. Lovely bird songs in the morning! The bed was HUGE & so comfy. Turn down service was consistent & very good. The room was spotless as was everywhere in this Hotel.

All the staff here work so hard & are willing to assist you with anything you may need. Always with a smile & 'its my pleasure' From bellboys, check in staff to concierge staff, they were all pleasant & very willing.

Special mentions to some of the staff we found to go above & beyond. Our concierge Fernanda, lovely helpful young lady. All the entertainment staff were fab & so full of life especially Ivan, Israel & Paulina. At the french restaurant, Daniella, sweet girl. Bernardo at Oceana(very funny & attentive) Sergio at the lobby bar, Arturo beach cabana concierge & a huge thank you to Cecelia! on the beach. She is the jewel in the crown here, superb service, always smiling & a genuinely lovely person.

Our favourite restaurants were the French & Oceana. Our least favourite was the Italian but I think that was more to do with our menu choices. I wouldn't recommend the steak, it was huge but full of fat which was actually quite difficult to see in the dim light in there. Hibachi show was brilliant. Pretty much all deserts were lovely. For lunch the World Cafe buffet was simply amazing. Vast choice & beautifully presented & tasty. The poolside grill was very good too although got a bit samey after 2 weeks. Breakfast at the World Cafe again was vast & superb. Coco cafe was good too.

We didnt sample the spa as for us it was way over priced. We did rent the beach cabanas twice, that was worth the money. So relaxing!

Evening shows were generally very good but aimed at Americans especially the comedian, not very funny in our opinion. Fire show was great.

This place does deserve its high rankings on Trip Advisor. It's some of the small things that make it stand out. Fresh flowers in the rooms & lobby areas, having your drink constantly topped up, gorgeous cocktails, no reservations at the restaurants (not a long wait) no towel game on the beach or by the pool, impeccably tended gardens, chefs parade, cold towels by the pool & on the beach etc etc.


Main pros for us were, the staff & service, beautiful beach, food choices, cleanliness (spotless everywhere) room size & comfort & the coatis!

Cons were a few inconsiderate groups of loud guests especially a few corporate groups that occasionally marred a nice quiet relaxing meal in the restaurants & prevented us from spending much time at the swim up bar. It was always packed with loud Americans. I think this Hotel would be greatly improved by stopping the large groups of people & sticking to the couples that I presume it was originally geared towards.
We also saw a very rude American 'man' tip the rest of his beer into the swim up pool below us & then spit into the water! Disgusting. Just glad we didnt choose a swim up. We did however meet some lovely couples American & European that enjoyed their holiday too but didn't interfere with anyone elses.

If you are thinking of booking this Hotel I would say just go for it! I cant imagine anyone being disappointed by it. A truly special place.
Would love to come again one day, when we've saved up or won the lottery!

Room Tip: We stayed in block 20. Nice & quiet near the spa & restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Angel1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the words! We appreciate your comments and you taking the time to write them.

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have literally just got back from 2 weeks at the resort where we stayed "en famille" We had an amazing time, the food was wide and varied and we did not get bored of it, the service was so very attentive and everybody made us feel welcome, the concierge had even clocked that we were Brits and wanted our "English Breakfast" tea!

The entertainment was also very wide and extremely well run with so many enthusiastic staff who were a lot of fun..... hope I mention them all Diana, Ivan (cheeky), Paulina, Jordan, Israel, Gabby, The Mexican ping pong champion (boom) and not forgetting the Ferminator!!

The weather was awesome too, hope to go back again.

Room Tip: The room was great and anyway it was only for sleeping in! Just go........!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rt Hon Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your comments and look forward seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info,semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just returned from a week at Secrets Maroma for our honeymoon. It was amazing from start to finish. The staff is extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The property itself is gorgeous, clean and well maintained. Ivan & the Ferminator were amazing all week and kept the fun going no matter what we were doing. I have Celiac's disease and I would be worried that I would get sick or not be able to eat anything but they clearly have every food labeled from the buffet at breakfast to the menus at dinner. They also serve gluten free bread & have gluten free pasta at Portofino. The staff is well aware of what GF means, which was very comforting. I don't think I'll go anywhere else after staying here!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful words and five star rating!

We hope to see you home again soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hard to believe they went above and beyond all of our expectations! Excellent amenities, unbelievable service, delicious food, awesome activities, and a nearly perfect beach. Just one example of fun activities was the ocean kayak tour led by Ivan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments and five star rating! We look forward seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have never put up a review on Trip Advisor before, but this place was so special I had to let you know about our experience.
Much like you, researching these resorts, we were looking for an all-inclusive place to spend a special getaway (whether it’s a honeymoon, or anniversary, etc). We found Secrets Maroma Beach to have great reviews, and they were right.
Here’s what you can expect:
They are very friendly when you arrive, however, they will pawn you off onto a sales associate to try and push a time share (sorry, vacation club). If you’re willing to put up with a 90 minute pitch for a free massage, go ahead. Just know what’s in front of you. They give you the impression they are employees of the resort, but they are salesmen/women.
Now onto the rooms, you don’t expect a room to match the photos on the website but they do. The rooms are just as nice as expected. We had a swim-up room, which I highly recommend. It’s worth the extra couple bucks. The one negative is you don’t get much privacy with the bathroom.
The resort has several restaurants, all of which are good (with the exception of one, which I’ll get to in a minute). The resort is like a Corona commercial. It’s placed on powder white sands with warm crystal blue water and palm trees. It has a reputation for one of the best beaches in the world, and I can’t argue.
The resort was nearly full, but not crowded. There was always a place to sit by the pool or on the beach. You were never fighting crowds for a drink or a spot to sit.
The service is unbelievable! All the employees are happy to serve you and greet you with a smile. There are activities to keep you entertained (beach volleyball, pool volleyball, kayaking, angry birds sling shot on the beach, etc), but you’re not forced to participate if you don’t want to. (Tip, if you go kayaking, go on your own and don’t go far…it’s a long way back if you venture off on a tour). Ivan was a very enthusiastic member of the entertainment crew who we would see every day.
If you’re looking for the best beach bar in the world, stop by the hut on the beach and ask for Hugo or Cecilia. They are both the best in the business.
Now to the food. The world café near the center of the resort has EVERYTHING you could ever ask for breakfast. They have a huge selection. The Italian restaurant had a good selection, the Mexican restaurant was a pleasant surprise, the French restaurant has a good selection, the surf-and-turf restaurant near the pool was fantastic even for lunch. Speaking for lunch, they have a pool-side grill with burgers, fajitas, etc every day if that’s what you are looking for. There’s also a coffee bar upstairs near the check-in lobby that was a pleasant surprise.
They have a variety of entertainment at night. One evening it was a hypnotist (who was entertaining), another night it was an American Idol competition (which we passed on), another night it was a fire show near the pool followed by a foam party on the beach (side note: I HIGHLY RECOMMEND CHECKING OUT THE FOAM PARTY.. it was actually REALLY fun!).
The only downside to our wonderful getaway happened on the final evening. There is one restaurant, the only one, which required a reservation. We made our reservation the first night we arrived and were set to eat at the Japanese Hibachi restaurant the final evening. Despite a confirmation receipt for our reservation… they did not have us down on their list for that night. After arguing with them about their mixup, they FINALLY found a table for us in the corner. We ordered off the menu, not from the hibachi grill, and the food was not up to par with the rest of their resort. The fish was hard, the deep fried food came to the table “soft” and we decided to get up and leave.
To their credit, the next day their chief concierge Ivan heard about our issue and apologized asking if there was anything they could do. Unfortunately it was the final night so we left the resort with a little bad taste in or mouths (literally too). If it weren’t for that error on their part, they would get a five star review.
The wifi around the resort is spotty (but who goes to a resort for the wifi). But if you’re looking for a romantic, all-inclusive place with terrific service on one of the best beaches in the world, this place is a home run! Bring plenty of sunscreen, a little bug spray, (just avoid the Japanese restaurant). I hope this review helped.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a swim out room. It was worth the extra money. Plus, we met some nice peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the five star rating review! We hope to see you back home real soon.


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was an awesome resort. Loved that it was all inclusive and for adults only. The staff was sooo friendly and accommodating. They really went out of their way to help us or provide great service. The whole place is so clean and well maintained. Beach was so beautiful and they had a lot of activities during the day.

We went with a big group of 12 and really the only problem we had was getting tables at the restaurants. There were some nice shows offered at night and a night club. The resort didn't seem to have a lot going on in the evenings so would have liked more options.

We would definitely go to one of these resorts again. It was a great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review! I'm sure since you came with a small group your stay was lots of fun! Let me just point out due to the layout of the restaurants, it is sometimes not posible to put a table for 12 people to sit together, but next time you come, make to speak to the Food and Beverage manager as we always manage to make arrangements.


Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,835 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,789 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,145 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing