We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A great resort. The property is beautiful and the service is very good. The restaurants were very accommodating of my vegetarian diet. If you have a dietary restriction make sure to tell your concierge on arrival. They gave me these cards to give the hostesses at the restaurants who gave me a separate menu. Overall the staff was very welcoming and our room was beautiful.

Room Tip: If you choose a beachfront room, it can be a bit noisy with all of the late night beach parties and...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review, I invite you to send me an email when you are ready to return.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,158)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,701 - 4,707 of 12,158 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've been here for two days with 3 days remaining. The facilities are amazing, but the service is maybe 2 or 3 star at best. I base this on the fact that there is virtually no service in the pool areas. After about 6 hours at the pools over the past two days, I've managed to get a total of one drink served to my cabana. So if you want a beverage while relaxing, you're on your own.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, we have sent this review to managemente so they contact you since you still here.

Please contact me so we can take action.

Remember, service will always be our number one priority.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here last week for our honeymoon and loved it! The staff is amazing and polite. They all say hi and are all put together and speak very good english. Our concierge, Alex, went above and beyond for us! He even helped arrange for our room to be decorated for my husband's birthday! The grounds are beautiful and the room was quiet and very clean. The AC was great and the bed was comfy. We only went to the cirque show but it was very good! We visited several of the restaurants and never waited! the food was good but small portions. Room service was a bit slow but that's to be expected with a resort this size.

We rented a beach bed two days and loved it! the service was great! they even delivered lunch straight to us! The one night they brought in local venders so we could buy souvenirs, which was nice because we had a list of people we wanted to buy for and it was fun to interact with them!

Overall, we will go back just for the service and the beautiful property!

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront view and it was totally worth it. We sat on the balcony several nights and my h...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest.

We thank you for the comments and for comming to celebrate your honeymoon here.

We hope to see you on your first aniversary.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Mamora Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location is excellent, the property is beautiful. The resort is very quiet with plenty of room that you never feel crowded. The beach was only 1/2 full at all times, getting chaise lounges was never an issue. The pool gets a little busy midday but clears out by 4pm. The mornings are very quiet. The service was very attentive and engaging. Everyone went out of their way to meet all your requests. Drink and food service on the beach was always available but never intrusive. Only negative was the premium wine list was very over-priced, but the included wines were a very good option. I would have liked that the dress code for men to eat inside would have included dress shorts/bermudas, as they look just as nice as jeans which are allowed. The food was very good, much better than other all-inclusive resorts that we have visited. The room was perfect, we were right on the beach with only the infinity pool between us and the beach. Great location and worth the upgrade. Take advantage of the spa, services were professional and prices were very competitive. Overall a great trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room as close to the beach as possible. Most have small infinity pools for...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, we look forward to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Mamora Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I went to celebrate my birthday...I have never had a more amazing birthday! Thank you Secrets Maroma for making my 24th one to remember for years to come! I truly enjoyed the swim up room. Its privacy, quaintness, and beauty were absolutely breathtaking.

Room Tip: Nothing beats the swim up rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Happy you decided to go for the swim out suite and loved it! Thank you for the five stars rating review.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Mamora Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I visited this property last month for eight nights (considered their off season). This is a beautiful resort with gorgeous and well manicured grounds (complete with roaming local wildlife). The beach is fantastic (they offer free non-motorized beach toys such as kayaks). The service was excellent (especially in the swing bars, restaurants, and the lobby bar). The rooms were also very nice (we upgraded to the junior ocean view suite). The Secrets box was an especially nice touch. We also liked the fact that is was an adults only resort. However, there were a few cons such as the food. It was mediocre and very bland. It catered to the east coast American clientele versus having more authentic Mexican fare (the only restaurant I enjoyed was the Mexican restaurant). Also, the beach service menu was extremely limited. About 85% of the clientele is American (mostly east coast) and there for either their honeymoon or in huge wedding parties. Unfortunately, the resort did seem to have that one wedding party that could kind of ruin it for the other guests. Ours happened to be a party from New Jersey who got so obnoxiously drunk by noon that they were throwing each other around and their drinks into the pool. The upside is that most of those parties leave within a couple of days but then you run the risk of having another similar group coming in after the last one leaves. However, due to the size of the resort, you can find your quiet corner somewhere and escape if you feel the need to do so. The clientele and food is the only reason that I give this resort a four and not a five rating. They also had some issues with non functioning air conditioners (the rooms were fine....mostly in the lobby and restaurants). Overall, I would stay here again if the price was right but only for a couple of nights versus eight nights. I would mix this up with a quieter boutique hotel and get the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SanDiegoTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

We regret not being able to impress you as much as we aim for. We would love to have the opportunity to have you back, please contact me so we can discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I had a perfect honeymoon at SMB in late July.We were greeted with 'welcome home" and whisked to preferred check in.Everyone We encountered on the staff was very friendly and professional.The grounds are constantly being perfected and We saw a spider monkey and many other critters.Room was stunning(building# 25) and our concierge Paulina and housekeeping were there for anything we needed.Fridge restocked daily,turn down service every night.Also, the newsletter regarding the next days activities was very helpful.Excursions were a bit pricey,We heard the catamaran trip is a good choice.
We loved the daily hydrotherapy in the spa and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever seen.Beach lived up to expectations and service at beach/pool was spot on.I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for celebrating your honeymoon with us, we are happy you took advantage of the preferred club benefits.

Can't wait to have you back!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,914 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,984 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,284 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £296 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing