We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was our first vacation together without the kids since we got married. We went for our 5 year anniversary for 6 nights, which was not enough. This was a recommendation from friends of ours as we wanted an all-inclusive but we have had experiences with bad all-inclusive resorts. This exceeded all of our expectations. We booked a preferred club room which isn't necessary but had nice perks like an easy check-in process, a private lounge where we had snacks and private computer usage. When we arrived, they immediately took our luggage and then we got in a golf cart and taken to the lounge for check-in. This was really laid back and informative and they greeted us with champagne, snacks and cold towels.
The food and drink was better than any other all-inclusive we have been to. There were several meals which I would have paid for at a fancy restaurant and been happy with it. The thermidor lobster at the french restaurant was amazing. The mushroom risotto at the italian restaurant was worth going back for. We never missed breakfast at the world cafe every morning and we are missing it now that we are gone. The portion size at each place was good because they didn't give you too much food that you wasted it but you were able to try multiple things. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't small but it was a realistic portion.
The entertainment was the best of any resort, I have been to. There is always something happening and you get a schedule each day. The entertainment staff is very energetic, friendly and accessible. They made everyone feel like they were your friends hanging out. The shows had a surprisingly high production value. The rock show, el gaucho and fire show were a quality that would be worth buying a ticket back home. They weren't your typical hotel cheesy show. Israel, Ivan and the Ferminator stood out with their energy and enthusiasm for what they were doing.
The hotel size was perfect in that it didn't feel empty but you could show up at the pool at noon and still find a chair with an umbrella. They even have people standing there to help you find the right spot for you. The drinks in the swim up bars were great.
The only downside was the sales presentation for the ultimate vacation club. This is not mandatory and they don't push it on you so don't worry. We agreed to go since it gave us $250 for a massage (which was wonderful). The sad thing about it was that I think the product they sell could actually be pretty useful to a lot of people but it is presented in such a slimy seeming way that you can't actually see yourself buying something that significant on the spot. There was a lot of fast talking and drawing circles and dollar signs. We were afraid to ask any questions because we didn't want it to take any longer. If you are interested in a vacation club (not a timeshare) then research it beforehand and take the meeting. Otherwise, just say no. They just handle it very poorly.
However, the spa was totally worth it. It was the best spa experience we have ever had. We booked an 80 minutes couples massage. They told us to come an hour early for the hydrotherapy circuit. We were a little skeptical but we did it anyway and we were very glad we did. They walk you through the sauna, steam room, contrast tubs and then the pool with hydromassage for head, neck/shoulders, back, feet and total body and then you move to the hot tub with back massage until your appointment time for your actual massage. We were like jello by the time our massage started! Totally worth doing and if the stupid sales presentation makes the cost more reasonable, then maybe it is worth sitting through.
Cancun is an easy place to travel to since everyone speaks english, takes US dollars and you don't need a voltage converter. We can't wait to go back. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room with swim out pool access. This is a very nice way to end the day.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoshC46143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear guets,

Thank you for the good coments and the tips to other travelers! We appreciate them very much.
We are happy knowing that you had a wonderful trip, ejoying the food, the areas, and having a good time with the entertainment team. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,182)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,670 - 4,676 of 12,182 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We just got back yesterday. This was our first visit to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera and it won't be our last! The resort itself was beautiful and well kept. We have a lot to say because of how much we enjoyed it.

Staff: Very detailed oriented and it shows. From the moment we walked into the resort, many faces greeted us with a smile, a hello or a how are you. It didn't stop there. All throughout our five-day stay, if anyone made eye contact with us, we would be acknowledged and greeted.

Beach: Very clean and well-maintained. The staff picked up the seaweed along the shore and any debris left behind. The staff were very attentive to the guests who wanted a drink or even a meal!

Pool: Also very clean. There were two pools, one with a swim-up bar where the "livelier" crowd was, and a second pool that was a bit more serine. Again, the waitstaff came by frequently for drink or meal requests.

Entertainment: Fantastic! I can't say enough about them. Kudos to Furmin the "Furminator", Manny from the Moon and Ivan the Great. All beautiful people that were very inclusive and lots of fun to be around.

Food: Very good! We have little to complain about. Lots of selections to choose from.

Room: We were in room 2211. This was a swim-out and the furthest from the pool or the beach. We loved the convenience of being able to take a dip in the pool without really leaving the room. And because the pool is shared with 6 other rooms, many times we were all alone, which made it very romantic. The room itself was beautiful and very clean. The room was cleaned to perfection every day and the refrigerator stocked daily as well.

A couple of other notes: I left my phone in the event center. When I went back, it wasn't there. I contacted the front desk. They located it and found me in the Disco to return it. That is what customer service is all about. Also, one of the guests next door hurt her ankle at the pool. While one of the staff members was tending to her, another got her ice. No one asked for that to be done, they just sprung into action. There was never a time that we felt they didn't care about us or anyone else who was visiting the resort. This is a first class operation!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the swim-out
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy-Eddie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, i hope this means you will be coming back to us!

Please let me know when you are ready to return,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spent four nights in Secrets Maroma Beach in August 2014. Booked a partial ocean view suite. Check in was smooth and efficient, no hard sell as I had emailed them in advance requesting not to be bothered with that. Room was really nice, I had mentioned that we were celebrating my wifes birthday (which was before we arrived there) and they had decorated the room and put a birthday banner on the door too, really nice touch. You can read so many reviews on here about the food, and we found all the restaurants excellent and the food was good and served hot. Facilities are all well kept, spotlessly clean etc. Pools are really great, music can be a little loud depending where you sit, but only for a couple of hours in the afternoon. Suits some guests better than others. Easy to find a quiet spot if you want it. Poolside service for drinks is very frequent, and they remember what you want and bring it over again, and again. We always dropped them a small tip each day which they do appreciate. I cant think of anything negative to say about this place, we really enjoyed our stay, we did not do the preferred club and felt no worse off for not doing it. If you go, you will have a great time. Oh, one thing, the beach is soft sand, but there is a lot of seaweed, not only on the beach (they clear that up) but the water is full of it, not too romantic for your lady.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank davebryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the five stars rating, and for coming to celebrate a birthday with us!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

First time visiting Mexico and decided to visit the best resort out there! I had no idea what to expect out of an all-inclusive resort. Upon arrival we were "welcome home" by the staff and received a cool towel and glass of champagne. Everyday we were troubled by choosing the beautiful beach or the pool with the swim-up bar. We went to both everyday! Every single staff person that we encountered were very helpful and wanted to make we had everything we needed. This resort was like a dream and everything from the beaches to the restaurants/food was incredible! I have been completely spoiled and will definitely be coming back to this resort!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awwesomea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we look forward seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Hotel was kind of quiet which was great Afew loud Americans but didn't really bother us. Beach is great possibly the best beach I have been on along with the service received while relaxing. Staff on the whole were good especially Analee on the beach and willie in the Italian restaurant. Entertainment crew at night would come round and try and get you to go to whatever show was on that evening which was fine but got abit annoying after Afew nights. The best restaurant food wise was the Japanese and I'd say the worst surprisingly was the Mexican. The drinks choice was great no complaints at all drink wise. Room service comes with the all inclusive package which is a huge plus however it was almost always wrong when it was delivered we always got sent dishes we didn't order or was missing something but was still tasty so not so much of a negative. Afew things went wrong in our room during our 7 night stay, bath plug was broken in our room which wasn't ideal after a 10 hour flight, Afew days later the shower broke then our safe kept saying error when we tried to open it! We called concierge and these issues were fixed right away. When took a good amount of $1 bills to tip which I think on the whole was appreciated by the staff who served us. The resort in General is very nice and the staff are attentive but due to the things going wrong in our room and the issues with room service I can't give it 5 stars.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LTCSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we regret not getting a five stars review this time, the items you listed are minor issues so we would love to see you again and take the necessary precautions so this doesn't happen again.

Please contact me if you wish to return.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The site is smaller and extremely well lept. The food is superior in quality and variety. The rooms are beautiful The shows were good as well. More quiet with less animation during the day but over all a perfect place for romance

Room Tip: Take the swim up! It's amazing!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and the five stars raiting. We are looking forward to seeing you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

my husband and i came to visit secrets for out honeymoon it was bliss!!! The grounds are lovely the Gardner's work very hard to keep the place looking beautiful.
pros
very clean
food very good, best restaurants were world cafe for breakfast
french and Italian were very nice
pool and beach huberto the pool concierge works hard to get you a good sun lounger
grounds are lovely if you take time to go for walk you might see wild animals coatis, iguanas and a little monkey called jojo
the biggest pro is the staff they are wonderful so helpful and happy in there work. cant remember all names but cecilia, lucy, ricardo, estaban and rickardo in the lobby bar were the best
room service was good shrimp tacos were lovely, breakfast was not as good as in the world cafe.
room was very lovely i liked the secret box that they leave room service in also had a nice honeymoon banner on door and a bottle of bubbly on arrival
we saw fire show and had bbq by poo lone night that was very good. we didn't go to ant other shows we preferred to sit in lobby bar and listen to live singer or piano player nice and relaxing
we did not take part in ant activities but there was always something going on
we liked crazy golf. we were in block 12 good for us a very close to lobby

overall we loved this place

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank joanna700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and for the five star rating!
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful vacations.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,920 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,995 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,285 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: £296 - £669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing