We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
edinburgh
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Stayed at SMB from 12th of October for a week with my husband. We needed a well deserved break without the kids and that's certainly what we got. When we arrived, check in was very quick - we were greeted with cold towels (no champagne, though!) and shown to our room. There was no ipod docking station, which was a problem as we didn't bring a charger with us, but once I pointed this out to the concierge, the docking station was sent to our room within 5 minutes.

Service certainly exceeded our expectations the whole week, especially in the restaurants and on the beach/pool. Alejandro on the beach worked so hard and always remembered our drinks, even bringing us bottles of water in between just to keep us going!

Food was excellent, no complaints whatsoever.

We went to the beach party one night and we really loved that, other than that we didn't take part in any of the entertainment.

To sum this place up, if you are looking for a relaxing break in the sun in beautiful surroundings and to feel pampered, this is very highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karenpEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,452
    1,591
    443
    140
    64
See reviews for
590
9,239
88
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington DE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Bringing all inclusives into a new class, Secrets Maroma Beach is the one to look up to, Unsurpassed dining, service and surroundings. Lush landscaping, indigo blue waters and sugar sand beach - the best in the area. Staff isamazing and are trained to perfection but always seem to care for you personally. No request is too big or small. The spa is pure bliss. When you need to get away from everything with that special someone - this is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed at Secrets Maroma for our tenth anniv. for what was supposed to be eight days but turned into nine with tropical storm Ida. We had a few days of sun but a lot of overcast weather put a damper on the trip. The resort however was amazing. The staff is excellent and friendly and the consierges helped us with finding out our flight information after the cancellation from Westjet, so that we wouldn't have to spend extra on phone calls. We also got a reduced rate for our extra day as well. Pools were well tended and we never had a problem finding a place around one of them on the sunny days. Bartenders don't skimp on the drinks and during the bad weather they made sure anybody who wanted to get smashed had plenty of oppurtunity with many different shooter concoctions. The restaurants were very good and the waiter at the mexican let us order off the menu. We had the best burritos and quesa dillas ever made. The beach is exactly what it is built up to be. It's absolutely beautiful. The sand is amazing and the water is a blast to play in if you like that sort of thing. Being from a landlocked province, I love to splash around in the waves every chance I get and it was a ton of fun. Best I've ever experienced including anywhere on the Mexican Riviera or Cancun. We will be going bach to Secrets Maroma asap.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sobeysshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Room - We were greated with a banner on the door, rose petals on the bed, and a letter congratulating us that could be used for a 15% discount at the spa. We were in room 1106 which is an Ocean View room with a great view in the main building on the 3rd floor above the lobby. We thought it was a great location because we were close to the bar, resturaunts, internet, etc in the main building. The bed was very comfortable, jacuzzi was great, and the huge tub on the balcony was awesome.

Food - I thought the food was great! All of the resturaunts at night go for a high end ambiance and presentation. I didn't really have a down and dirty casual meal at night at any of them which would have been nice one night. Breakfast at the World Cafe every morning was delicious. Huge selection of all sorts of foods as well as Mimosas and Bloody Marys each morning. My favorite meal was Surf and Turf at Oceana. The sushi at the Japanese resturaunt was very good as well. My wife and I gained a combined 10 lbs during our 7-day stay.

Beach - The beach is truly amazing. This is where we spent most of our time each day. The sand was soft and white, but not soft and fluffy...it was like walking on a tempupedic mattress...amazing! The beach bar opened at 1030 every morning and the service was very good. They would occassionally come by with different appetizers around lunch. I played beach volleyball everyday at 11:00am which was a blast.

Excursion - We paid $130 each to go to Tulum and Xio ha (Shell-Hi). Tulum is a Mayan city from 1000ad to 1500ad. It was very interesting and there is also an amazing beach at the bottom of the cliff where we went swimming. Xio ha is an outdoor eco-friendly natural park. Here you can snorkle, float down the river on a tube, jump off cliffs, ride bike trails, swim in a small cave, etc. The food and drinks are also included with your entrance.

Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone. You can really make it what you want to be. Whether you want to relax, want action, watersports, great food/drinks, etc....you can really do whatever you are craving at any moment. It was a truly great experience and I would definiately recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tcogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

These are the facts about our Secrets Maroma trip- We were upgraded from a $3500 suite to an $11,000 suite at no additional charge. We spent 7 days of sunny weather. This resort was not crowded at all, and the people we did meet were extremely nice. We don't have one complaint about service, as the the service here topped any of the 27 trips we have ever done. Restaurants were very good and plenty of variety. We ran into 3 couples that have stayed here 2-3 times in the last year. We will be going back next year. Even if we weren't upgraded to this beautiful suite, we would still be totally happy, as we did see the other suites and plan on booking something smaller in the future. Please see the pictures I've attached. You will not be disappointed, email me with any questions, as i did email plenty of people before my trip. ENJOY!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kendellama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We just got back on 11/14.We have been to five other resorts in this area,This has the best beach by far.Food was good,room was very nice.The staff was great.The beach service was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRLBIDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed at Secrets Maroma Beach for our honeymoon from October 27-November 5 2009. The service was EXCELLENT throughout our entire stay at the resort. This was our 1st all inclusive resort and we truly feel as though we lucked out with Secrets Maroma Beach (my husband and I researched very thoroughly our trip). The entertainment team was excellent especially ALEX- they were all very friendly and involved with the guests. We loved The Rock Show they performed on Halloween night, the fire show and Grease. The staff by the pool were amazing too especially PAOLO who was great with us. The food was pretty good as well... We loved the Japanese restaurant and ate there 3 out of our 9 nights at the resort. The pools were great and we spent the majority of our days in the water. The other guests were a lot of fun and friendly. The rooms were pretty and we had an ocean view. We loved the double jacuzzi and the turn down service and special attention they gave us because we were on our honeymoon. We would definitely recommend this resort and hope to return there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justmarried102509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,765 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,675 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,284 reviews
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Destinology, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing