We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Nearby Hotels
US$808
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,033
US$553
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amarte Hotel(Playa Maroma)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
US$501
US$437
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$354
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$434
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Playa Maroma(Playa Maroma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,213)
Filter reviews
13,213 results
Traveller rating
10,747
1,746
492
157
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,747
1,746
492
157
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubworld cafebarefoot grillel patioour honeymoonamerican idolsecrets boxroom serviceentertainment staffbuilding conciergecoco cafefrench restaurantwelcome homehydrotherapy circuitocean viewpool volleyballmy pleasure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11,122 - 11,127 of 13,213 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We just spent a week at Secrets Maroma and had the best time..We have been to 4 other five star resorts in the Riviera Maya area and this one is one of the favorites. Our room was not immediately ready but they directed us to the lobby bar for a drink and soon they brought us to the preferred club check-in that was an added surprise. I must say that some people are just "born to complain"..I witnessed " a young man that arrived the same time we did-- demanding to Carlos (our concierge) that he wanted 50% off his bil because he had been waiting to get his room and this was not acceptable"--CHILL OUT what a way to start a vacation--his attitude was so wrong!! Carlos was cool, calm and willing to get them a temp room in the intrim, but some people will never be satisfied...Our room was lovely in the 16 building with a beautiful view of the ocean and pool...Because it was our 42 anniversary, they treated us with champagne, flowers, a letter with discount coupon for the spa, breakfast in bed--they went out of their way to make us feel special...We only left the property once to go horsebackriding, but we enjoyed the entertainment staff (esp. Gabrielle and Alex)--and many of the activities--bike tour, rifle shooting, kitchen tour, pingpong, darts just things we dont do at home.. The food was good..I loved the many choices at breakfast..we ate at all of the restaurant and with all the delicous choices--you did not repeat a meal--duck, shrimp ,chicken, scallops,red snapper--we were not thrilled with the beef that we ordered but we are fussy about beef...The alcohol was top shelf and many choices of beer. We are beach people and never went to the pool--the beach is BEAUTIFUL and there was never a problem getting chairs with shade. You can walk the beach in either direction and feel very safe. We live on Cape Cod and grew up on the beach--so we can say that this is one of the best beaches we've been to. But I think the one thing that makes Secrets Maroma so wonderful is the FRIENDLY, HELPFUL and FUN STAFF...Always a smile and "hola" whether its a manager or a "seaweed raker"--seeing friendly, happy people makes you feel good. We would definately return to Secrets Maroma..

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We are a couple in our 40's and we only stay All inclusive adults only resorts. This is our 8th trip to the riviera maya and have stayed at royal hideaway, excellence riviera, capri (3 times) and aventura palace. We traveled between november 7th and november 14th.
Pros:
1. The beach is one of the best in the world. The sand is white and soft. No rocks or other obstacles when swimming in the ocean.
2. Rooms are big and the beds are very comfortable. You have a sitting area where you can eat your room service meals.
3. We stayed in the Preferred Club with a great view of the ocean. I would highly recommend the Preferred Club because you have your own bar, lounge, appetizers, internet use, and tv to watch sporting events. The bartenders are great. We enjoyed hanging out there after the beach and before dinner. You check in and out in the club instead of the main lobby which was crowded, nice touch.
4. Activities - plenty of activities, beach and pool volleyball and a daily activity sheet. You can participate or just choose to hang out.
5. Food options - this resort does not fall short of food options. Breakfest- the world cafe buffet is loaded with food options. For lunch they cook on the beach daily on a huge wok, there is a new buffet bar near the pool where they grill hamburgers and fish daily, and there is a restaurant near the pool where you can order from a menu. Dinner - 5 restaurants choices.
6. Sleepy resort - No need to get up early and reserve chairs. Most people came out to the pool or beach around 10 am.
7. Room service - room service was 20 minutes at the most.
8. Concierge - our concierge was "v". She was great. She greeted us everytime we walked by and was very polite and accomodating.
Cons:
1. Bugs are everywhere. I have never been to a resort with this many mosquitos, bees, flys, dragon flys etc... We did not use the pool bar because of the bees.
2. Pool area - the pool area could be cleaner. I was always the first one at the pool and there was empty glasses, straws, and trash. They need to clean the pool deck better.
3. No place to sit on the balcony. Nice small balcony but there is a built in bench with bug infested cushions (cant sit there) and then an outdoor jacuzzi.
4. Snacks in rooms - the preferred club rooms should have snacks like crackers, cookies, chocolate or something. Mini fridge is stocked daily.
5. Bars -- bars are everywhere but they dont open until 10:30 am. Most resorts bars are up and running by 9 am.
6. Steaks and lobster - there is no lobster, you can only get a filet and the Italian restuarant and it was pretty good. For this price point you should be able to get surf and turf.
7. Chairs - pool chairs are not that comfortable, they need cushions. Beach chairs are great.
Tips:
1. Dinner - book your reservation for Himitsu where they cook in front of you when you arrive. We ate there twice, best meal and entertaining. Men can wear shorts at the two outdoor restaurants near the pool. That was nice.
2. Cancun transfers - we dont do the bus deal where they wait for an hour after you land to fill the bus and then stop at every resort. For $120 you get VIP service in a SUV and cold coronas.
3. Ice bucket of beers - ask for an ice bucket of cold beers when you are at the beach. Always tip, they work hard and appreciate it. I usually gave them 5 bucks when he brought me a bucket. They have ice cold bud light and coronas.
4. Rooms - stay in a room that is away from the lobby. Less noisy, cant hear the disco, bands, etc... Some couples were complaining about the noise.
5. Bugs - call concierge and they will come up and fumigate the bugs outside of your room so you can get in and out of your front door.
6. Elevator - To get to the main lobby you have to walk up 3 flights of stairs, they can get annoying after a few coldy's. There is an elevator down the hall from the world cafe, we used that alot.
7. Fish - get some bread at breakfest and feed the fish. They are everywhere.
Overall we had a geat time at Maroma. I would stay there again but this resort is not perfect because of all of the bugs and the cons I listed above. It was the end of the rainy season so this could be the reason why bugs were everywhere, If we go again it will be in May or June before the rainy season.

3.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank doodie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

My wife and I traveled to Secrets Maroma Beach in celebration of our forthcoming baby. We debated between a cruise and an all-inclusive (neither of which we'd done before) and ultimately decided to do the all-inclusive route as I personally prefer sitting on a beach. Being that I am a fanatical researcher when it comes to vacation planning, I wanted to make sure we chose some place very special for this occasion. Based on the reviews here and elsewhere, I felt we couldn't go wrong in choosing Secrets Maroma Beach. It lived up to every bit of the hype, and then some...

We arrived around 5pm on Saturday, November 14 and were promptly greeted with a hearty "Welcome Home". We were ushered to the front desk where Vincent handled our check-in quickly. We were offered champagne but given my wife's pregnancy and the fact we don't drink, we were quickly given two ice cold bottles of water which were very refreshing.

We had booked a swim-out room and were assigned one in Building 25 which is actually one of the preferred buildings. Our concierge, Vianney, was quick to greet us and was of great help throughout the week we were there. Any request we made was handled in the quickest of fashion. There was an issue with the in-room safe which wouldn't open. We let her know and within 10 minutes, a maintenance worker was there fixing the problem in no time flat. Given the room was on the southern side of the hotel, the sun didn't have much time to hit the water for the swim-out pool so it was pretty chilly but we still enjoyed sitting on the lounger while reading a book.

The food was excellent for the most part. We were disappointed with Portofino however. The pasta was very pasty and as another reviewer alluded to, the minestrone had spaghetti in it which was very difficult to eat with a spoon. By far, our favorite overall experience was at Bordeaux. The ambiance was impressive, as was the food. We ate dinner here twice. Service was wonderful both times but Edgar was especially helpful.

You definitely must reserve a seat at one of the teppanyaki tables at Himitsu, the Pan-asian restaurant. Our chef, Hugo, did a fabulous job putting on a show for us and the food he prepared was very delicious. Seaside Grill and Oceana were both good restaurants although the ambiance at each is much more relaxed than Portofino or Bordeaux. We opted not to dine at El Patio as we feasted on the buffet during the Mexican Fiesta night. We ate breakfast each morning at World Cafe which was outstanding as well. Made to order omelettes and crepes were excellent. We also utilized room service nearly every day, even if it was just for late night ice cream.

The entertainment team worked their butts off the entire week. We took in several evenings events including the circus show, Secrets Idol and the staff's version of Grease. For Grease, they just lip synched lines and songs from the original movie but the dancing and choreography were great. It's clear they put a ton of time and effort into the show.

The beach was tremendous as well. There was quite a bit of seaweed on Sunday but the maintenance staff were diligently working to keep up with it.

I booked a pregnancy massage for my wife for our last full day at the resort. Being pregnant, we knew she wouldn't be able to go into the sauna or hot tub so we didn't think to have her take her swimsuit. Evidently, there were areas where she could go but needed her swimsuit to enjoy them. I'd already gone off to take pictures around the resort so the spa employees contacted our concierge, Vianney, who went to our room then brought my wife's swimsuit to the spa for her. Talk about service!!! We were very impressed.

The only minor issue we had, and it's very, very minor in the grand scheme of things, was that being on the first floor, we could hear conversations as people walked past our room. Again, this was a very minor issue and one that did not detract from the overall experience.

Overall, this was by far and away our best vacation ever. It exceeded every expectation we had going in. The problem now will be finding another all-inclusive that meets the standards set forth by the staff at Secrets Maroma Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kccfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We just returned from an 11-day stay at Secrets Maroma for our honeymoon/wedding (nonlegal ceremony), and it was amazing. We are picky about food, service, cleanliness etc...my husband is in the hospitality industry and we notice details others might miss...but this place was spectacular.

The styling and decor was very luxurious and modern everywhere- the rooms, restaurants, spa...it was beautiful. We got a room in the Preferred Club area...i think it was worth the extra $$. The lounge had yummy treats out all day, it was a nice place to relax, and it was easy to pop in and get an espresso in the morning. Our view was great too from building 26. I am also glad we opted not to do a swim out room...being up higher the view was better. I never saw anyone in the swim out pools. Plus they were in the shade most of the day so laying out isn't even an option by them. The "upgraded mini bar" was one thing that was a little disappointing...only 3 mini bottles of liquor, some M&M's and Pringles added. But no big deal. PLUS we got free W-Fi in our building, which is $15/day in non-preferred buildings...we brought a laptop and iphones and took advantage of this.

The food was actually good..i wasn't expecting it to be good! Okay, maybe but it was GOOD! Especially Himitsu...we ate here 3 times, even for our dinner following our wedding! Sooooo good. Portofino was good too...Oceana had a great view but i found the food a little too "charry" tasting. But others loved it! The other restaurants were great as well. World Cafe for breakfast was amazing.

The beach was beautiful and clean, and the service was so great. We made sure to tip all the staff a few dollars here and there to ensure better service, even though it wasn't "necessary"...but it was worth it. The pool was great too.

We got an 80minute couples massage that was one of the best we had ever had. I also had a manicure and pedicure- great job! The facilities are gorgeous and it smells SO good in there.

The mosquitoes did get really awful right around sunset. The bugspray didn't seem to phase them...it was a little annoying but what are you going to do. I will say i never saw a single bug INSIDE anywhere, so that is a plus!

I think the level of service sets this resort apart from others. Everyone is so cordial and helpful...they make you feel at home.

We had a small beach wedding (4 guests) that was also PERFECT. It was not at all complicated, but Cecilia got everything right that i did change or ask for and it was beautiful. We went with the photographers the resort recommended/works with, and they turned out GREAT! I was soooo worried about my wedding photos....having great pictures is the only reason i wanted to have a beach wedding!! And they were just as I wanted. So happy.

All in all, it was such a fun and relaxing time and we plan to go back next year for our anniversary!!

Also- animal lovers looking for a fun outing for a good cause...check out TheJunglePlace.com. its about a 40 minute cab ride ($50 each way) from the resort...amazing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kacarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We used Trip Advisor a lot when we booked our honeymoon last January so I felt I needed to write a review of our trip. My husband and I went to Secrets Maroma Beach from November 9 -18. It is a wonderful resort and a perfect place for our honeymoon. Based on our trip there, here are our suggestions/comments:
1. Bring Bug Spray (Off Active with 25% deet is the best - orange bottle)
2. Don’t bring perfume/cologne as you need to wear Off out and it just attracts more bugs
3. If you want one, bring an underwater camera from home - they are $21plus there.
4. Make sure guys brings pants – they need to wear them for dinner at most restaurants.
5. Cancun Transfers was a wonderful way to get from the airport to the hotel and very affordable ($82 roundtrip for 2 of us). They were there on time and their cars (SUVs) were really nice. It is so much better than being on a bus that stops at numerous hotels.
6. Ladies, make sure you bring swimsuit coverups -- you can get by wear them to the restaurants for breakfast and lunch.
7. If you want breakfast from room service, call the night before and just tell them what time you want it. If you call in the morning, you will need to wait nearly an hour
8. At dinner, most girls have one sundresses
9. Power outlets in the room are the same as in the US
10. While there we wanted to go snorkeling. We ended up booking the “Jungle Tour” (Wave running and snorkeling) at the hut by the pool at the hotel. The tour was $66 a person and really seemed liked a good value. The guy said the bus ride from the hotel to Cancun would take around 45 minutes but it really took 1 hour and 45 minutes both ways. The actually wave running and snorkeling was fun but the 3+ hours on the bus was NOT worth it. We wish we would have booked their snorkeling activity which was a boat that picked you up on the hotel beach and took 10 minutes to get to the reef.
11. All water and ice is filtered which is really nice. You can even use your bathroom sink water to brush your teeth
12. Swim Out Pool water is chilling in November. I think a swimout would be really worth it during the hot months.
13. If you want to eat at Himitsu table (like Benihana) - make reservations when you get here. It is the only restaurant, you need reservations for and that is only if you want to sit at the table with the cook.
14. The drinks are delicious but ask for the type of liquor you want...i.e. Orange Juice with Greygoose.
15. Bring lots of $1 and $5 bills for tips. All the waiters and staff at the hotel go above and beyond to take care of you and deserve a tip.
16. Make sure you use the safe in your room. Many staff members come in and out of your room throughout the day.
17. The spa is really nice but kinda pricey. A 25 minute massage is $80.
18. If you want to go to Playa del Carmen, you can take a taxi from the hotel for $20. We then asked that same taxi driver to pick us back up in 2 hours later. We didnt eat or drink anything when we were there so 2 to 3 hours was plenty there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank bflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews