We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise has a name...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise has a name...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Secrets maroma is nearly the best hotel I’ve ever been.
The beach is by far the best, but the service, people working there, the rooms, food and common areas, complete the perfect vacations for everyone.

I´m looking forward to go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alkalach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,058
    1,528
    433
    137
    62
See reviews for
557
8,877
85
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Great hotel and food, excellent service. It was very inconvenient, not to mention hot, to not have electricity for all of one day that we stayed there. The staff did not act like this was a big deal. We also had alot of rain when we were there and there were leaks EVERYWHERE! The lobby, restaurants, bathrooms. Basically there were leaks everywhere but in our hotel room. That was surprising for such a nice place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nburris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

This is an update from DAS080808. I made an error on rating Secrets - Maroma Beach. Everything was a 5 - simply wonderful in every aspect. I have received a few e-mails about my initial review and wanted to write another review correcting my error. The hotel even called me last night to ask how they could have made our stay better. If that isn't service, I don't know what is. This hotel was even prettier when we got there then the pictures on their website. As you know most of the time, that is the opposite. We thoroughly enjoyed everything and we will go back and take our friends the next time. Sorry for the error again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAS080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

This was an absolutey amazing resort! The workers were the nicest, friendliest people we have ever dealt with. The resort was beautiful, the beach was gorgeous, and the food was amazing. Our only complaint is, the air conditioning went out the day we checked in (Mon. May 3rd). It was extremely hot everywhere, including our room, the restaurants, and the bar desires). We were on our honeymoon and so were most of the couples we met. We all agreed that no air conditioning kind of takes away from the romantic aspect too. It was so hot in our room that we were sleeping away from each other on top of the blankets. Trying to get ready was not fun either, because we were taking cold showers so it wouldnt heat up the room anymore than it already was. And trying to put makeup on we were are sweating purfusly is difficult. The restaurants were so pretty but so unbelievable hot. I sweat alot and when trying to dress up and look pretty, its really difficult when you are drenched and you can see the sweat through your clothes. The bar Desires seemed like it would have been awesome, but it was like walking into a heat box. We were so excited to go in because the music was great and we like to drink and dance. But we tried to go in 3 different nights that we were there and each time we only lasted in there about 5 - 10 min and then left because you felt like you were going to pass out from the heat. Everyone that we met on our trip said the same thing. The bar would've been a great time but there was no ventalation. They could've atleast had fans in there. We understand things happen and this is why we didn't complain while staying there but I do believe the situation should have been handled differently. We paid almost $5,000 for staying there and then the extra money that we spent while there (romantic dinner on beach, and items purchased at your lobby stores). That is too much money to pay to not have air conditioning. The air didn't come back on until sunday night (may 9) which was the night before we left. There should of been some sort of discount or reimbursment since there was no A.C. anywhere (well except for the bathrooms and the theatre). So unless you were going to hangout in a bathroom all night you were a hot sweaty mess. I would definitely recommed this hotel and already have to people BUT i also have told everyone about the air conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield,mo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing get away with a beautiful, swimmable beach and Secrets Maroma was an excellent choice. We enjoyed getting up early for the sunrise and then relaxing under the shade of one of the many beach palapas during the afternoon. Tip: In order to choose from the best seats I would suggest getting to the beach before 10am - you'll have prime pick.
We stayed in a preferred suite with ocean view. At first we were a little disappointed that we were the 3rd building back from the beach, but we found that we had a very nice view and our building was close to everything. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Other than issues with the air conditioner being broken, we enjoyed our room a lot.
The restaurants were good and we always found something yummy to eat. Our favorite was Bordeaux - the veal chop was great!! The Japanese grill was fun and I loved the ice cream dessert served at the hibachi table. Tip: Just in case you decide to dine outside in the evenings, remember to bring along mosquito spray.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and we received great service. Thanks to Carlos our concierge and Marisol one of the hostesses; they were both phenomenal. Overall we had a nice stay and enjoyed the accommodations and atmosphere of the resort. We would recommend a get away to Secrets Maroma.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezorarozia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Our 5 night stay at Secrets surpassed all (high) expectations! ROOM: We were amazed by our very large -upgraded- "ocean" view room. The hotel is a "U" shape, so the ocean view rooms are only true ocean view for the closest buildings, but the view is a nice one over the gardens and pools. The temp of the room was perfect the whole time and our bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. we never used the Hot Tub, because it was so hot outside, but it looked very nice. The toilet area is just as described by guests- no sound privacy at all, and a 3" cutout where the door handle would be, so for those couples newer in their relationship it might be awkward...it was a running joke at poolside for the old married couples! The swim up rooms are definitely not for everyone. If you like solitude during the day, and a very "small social" atmosphere, it might be for you. IT's close quarters and you would really need to like your neighbors. plus, many of the rooms pools' were in shade most of the day...only the swim up rooms closest to the ocean seemed worth it.
FOOD: Amazing, restaurant quality and presentation. Every restaurant we tried was incredible (didn't do the Mexican one). Cuts of beef were incredible at all places, the Hibachi was amazing (definitely request Angel as your chef, the others didn't have nearly as many tricks in their show!). Plan to fill up at Breakfast- 5 stations, every thing you can literally think of.
DRINKS: all delicious and ice cold. bottled water available all day. Drinks are not strong, but our opinion was that we liked to drink all day and who wants to be wasted by 11am? If you want that, just get shots (so many yummy ones to choose from) or ask for extra liquor in your drink. We loved the Frozen Miami Vice and the Drink of the Day. Lunch is served in the palapa by the pool or a great buffett poolside every day at 12. The wine in the restaurants is not great quality but it's included...the white was actually pretty decent, the red was too warm and not that palatable.
TIPPING: Ahhh, the one struggle for us. We brought ones and fives to tip pool side for drinks, but there is no clean cut tipping structure for everything else. We tipped at each sit down meal but saw few other tables leaving tips. We saw people tipping the Omelet chef at breakfast! It wasn't at all mandatory, but certainly most appreciated by everyone there.
POOL: There are more than enough pool chairs to go around (but they could use a few more umbrellas in the hot months). The best pool chairs in our opinion were along the ocean side, where the breeze kept you cooler and it wasn't as busy as the swim up bar area. These chairs were gone by 9:30 latest, but most people get a chair, leave for an hour for breakfast, and come back. Very few chairs were reserved all day with no one sitting in them. There were no problems with floats- just ask to borrow one hanging poolside! they were more popular as the day got hotter, though.
BUGS: yes mosquitos come out as the sun goes down- bring a can of bug spray, you'll need it. some people weren't that bothered but lots were.
MISC: Don't bother paying a cab to go to downtown Playa Del Carmen unless you want great deals on real silver jewelry or to eat/drink. The stores sell silver and tourist purchases and that's about it. For the $40 you spend on cabs, you can purchase items right at the hotel. During our stay the hotel had two Vendor nights when tables of the same souvenirs were set up...silver, jewelry, bags, ceramics, etc. and there were 2 vendors selling goods every day by the pool.
Bring DVD's in case you want to watch movies in your room at night- works great.
The shows are good - magician, acrobats, Grease revival, game show, etc.
The lobby bar and Coco Cafe were hopping around 4 on...and after dinner. great place to hang out, as was Sugar Reef bar by the pool.
Workout area was small but very efficient. Not too crowded.
Overall, it truly is a top hotel with incredible food, amazing staff, perfect small and big touches, and a fantastic getaway for fun, romance, socializing, swimming, and activities!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lisalou216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We had a great time at Secrets Maroma!! We booked our trip through Orbitz and used their transfer company. We were the first drop off and got to the hotel in 25-30 minutes! No complaints there!! Check in was a breeze. Our room wasnt ready as we had arrived at the hotel at 10 am. We changed into our bathing suits and sat out by the pool, they gave us a buzzer and buzzed us when our room was ready! Convenient, so you didnt have to keep going back to the front desk to see if the room was ready. We were there for our first anniversary and they put an anniversary banner on the door and delivered a flower display and a bottle of champagne on ice to the room!

We tried all of the restaurants and liked the food at all of them! We only had one night where we had to wait and they gave us a buzzer. they told us 45 minutes and we got called in literally 10 minutes. I enjoyed the house wine, mostly very dry, but my wife did not like it as she is a pinot grigio or white zinfandel drinker and they did not have that by the glass. Didnt bother looking at the wine list, just drank other things instead! definitely try the coconut ice cream! we would order it by the pool and the waitresses would bring it to us! delicious!

Mosquitos were pretty bad some nights that we were there. We had brought OFF with us and sprayed that everynight but some nights it was unbearable. Staff was handing out mosquito wipes at the restaurants so that was a help. Definitely pack some bug spray, just in case.

We had an ocean view room on the 4th floor and had a great view of the beach. We would look down below to the swim out rooms and I think we saw someone out there maybe once the whole week. Room was big, lots of closet space, no complaints there. Cant really comment on the concierge as we only saw someone at the desk once in 7 days.

Pool and beach were great! We usually got to the pool by 9:30 and were able to get a chair by the pool overlooking the beach. There were float "hoarders", however, there were enough floating around the pool most of the time that you didnt have to worry. LOVED the food they would cook on the beach at lunch time. We had fajitas, seafood paella, other different mixes of seafood. At lunch time they would also roll out a taco cart and a sushi cart by the pool! delicious!

Nightly entertainment was okay, however, the american idol show was the best! We did do the kayak tour during the day which was fun, but far. I dont recommend for inexperienced rowers! We didnt do any other activities during the day so i cant comment on any other day activities.

At night you get "turn down service" where they come and turn down your bed, give you the schedule for the next day, and the weather report. I could not understand the woman AT ALL. she did not speak english and I'm so glad I knew about the turn down service before going to the hotel or i would not have had any idea what she was saying. I understand we are in their country but most guests were English speaking and we encountered a few (not many) employees who spoke no English or who were very hard to understand.

Overall, we had a great trip!! Had an amazing time just relaxing and enjoying ourselves! We definitely loved the hotel and would return to another Secrets!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dpturner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,949 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
8.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Destinology and Travelbag so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing