We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Only I Weren't Single...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If Only I Weren't Single...”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I would've been in heaven...and I nearly was. I was there for a small wedding...everything was gorgeous....the rehearsal, wedding and reception...the room...the beach...the turquoise ocean...the service...the SPA (amazing). It was blissful. I guess my only complaint is one that the resort couldn't possibly help...it was extremely romantic...couples everywhere. They were getting married...or on their honeymoon. For a single woman...it would be kind of disheartening to stay there alone! Still though...I might just have a romance with the ocean itself....this is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. Sigh...love at first sight.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lumibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,586
    1,606
    449
    143
    65
See reviews for
598
9,371
89
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is a fantastic resort. All the reviews you read about the outstanding service are true. Food is good, not outstanding, but good. And yes, the ice cream is some of the best you'll have (vanilla particularly!) Rooms are more than big enough with loveseat on the balcony. A highlight of the resort is the food selection and service at lunch time by the pool. You never have to leave your lounge if you don't want to: food carts being pushed around by the staff include sushi, beef and shrimp skewers, onion rings, pork tacos and ice cream. Fantastic. But the best thing, though, by far, is this resort's beach. My husband and I have been to many places, i.e., Paradise Island, Punta Cana, several other resorts in Mexico, and this beach blew them away. Not even so much as a broken seashell when you walk, and with water so clear you won't believe it until you actually see it. Take a walk down the beach about 2 miles and you can check out the Iberostar Grand, another highly-ranked resort on Maroma Beach. Maroma Hotel is directly next door, and it is stunning to see.
Lots to do during the day if you wanted to - activities scheduled every hour. Yoga every morning poolside. Beach bungee trampoline is not to be missed (if you're a chick!) The spa is beautiful. Go an hour before your scheduled appointment to use all the water facilities. Our complaints with this resort: (1) the gym was extremely small and not very well-equipped; (2) when requesting a certain type of liquor, a couple times the bartenders tried to pass off a lower-shelf version instead of what we asked for.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirlsun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We could not have picked a better place to have our Honeymoon. The staff was AMAZING, it was so so clean, very nice and elegant. The beach was the whitest, cleanest sand I have ever seen. The food was delish. Anything you needed, they had it. I would recommend a visit to the spa (it was like one of those you see on TV). They had activities everyday and night, we were never bored, however we were the most relaxed we have ever been. If we could have fit that mattress in our suitcase, we would have. The best sleep of our life! This is hands down one of the best!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hnsmoorefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My wife and I decided to stay at Secrets Maroma for our one year anniversary and that was a great decision.

The Service/Staff: From the second we walked into the resort, we felt very welcomed. The staff, every single part of it, was just tremendous. Check in was flawless. Concierge was great. Cleaning service was tremendous. Activity team was great. Waiters/Waitresses/Bartenders were friendly, timely and courteous.

The Resort: The cleanliness of the resort was spectacular. The grounds and landscaping were very well done.

The Beach/Water: If you haven't been to Riviera Maya yet, you need to go. The water is beautiful and the beaches are second to none.

The Pool: The pool was perfect size and we didn't really have any trouble finding chairs. And don't bother trying to put up the umbrella...the second you sit down, there is someone there doing that for you.

The Food: The food was better than any resort we stayed at. Of course it is not going to be exactly what you are used to at home, but it was as close as I have had while staying in a different country.

I don't ever write reviews, but I felt the need to do it for this resort. The staff and the hotel deserve it. They made our stay very enjoyable and we are already planning our next trip back. I hope this review helps anyone that is on the fence as to where to go. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 44881Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We have just recently returned from a 2week stay at the Secrets Maroma, and well what can I say, it blew our expectations out of the water, The hotel was amazing and so far the best AI that either one of us has stayed in.

The hotel itself is kept immaculate as well as the surrounding gardens, The staff do an amazing Job and nothing is ever too much for them, I especially like the extra touches they do, On the first full day of arrival I asked at the breakfast buffet if they had Eggs Benedict (as i had seen it on room service) this was not a standard breakfast option, but they went and made it for me anyway!!


Rooms
We had a Tropical view which was nice and private and not looked upon.
The bed was just about the most comfortable we have slept in and will def be a miss. The bathroom was very nice but the jacuzzi bath i thought the pump wasnt very strong.

Restaurants
Great choice and you can eat at them as many times as you like within your stay, Again the staff are polite, prompt and do a wonderful service. Our particular favourite was the Mexican although they were all nice, we found the Italian to be our least favourite

Beach/Pool
Beautiful soft sands and the sea was nice, warm and clear, We didnt really hang around the pool much but there were plenty of areas and beds available, ohh and I did like the out door hot tubs.

Excursions
We only did 3 trips
Cancun nights (inc-coco-bongos) -maybe it was all the hype that was built up around this place, but we found it a bit of a disappointment and not worth the $75 we payed

chitzen itza- Definitely a must do, especially if you only plan to go to Mexico only once, It would be a shame not to put this amazing place on your list.!!! only one fault is that the buffet meal wasnt very nice and you also had to pay for your drinks.

All in All we had an amazing holiday and would considering returning and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stocky121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My fiance and I debated on honeymoon destianations, then resort destinations until we came upon Secrets Maroma and have no doubt we made the right choice. The resort was so clean, everyone was super friendly and not one time did we feel uncomforable. The resort welcomed us with cold towels and champagne upon arrival. Our room was in the penthouse of the main lobby where the resturants where located which was a bit further from the beach but close to everything else. From our balcony you could see the entire property including beach view perfectly. I wouldnt have stayed anywhere else. We didnt do the preferred room with the swim out pool and didnt see anyone who paid that much money even using the pool near their room. The main pool did get a bit crowded but not overly crowded to where you couldnt find a seat. We stayed on the beach EVERY single morning until the sun went down. The service was phenomenal and we never went without a drink in our hand. If you want food you order it and they bring it to you wherever you are.
The resturants are fabulous. Being from Louisiana we are very spoiled to very good food but these were all declicious. The first night we headed to the sushi resturant to find limited sushi rolls on the menu and discovered you have to ask for the sushi menu. We ordered sushi to our hearts content but this was the one thing we were not satisfied with. All other resturants were great. Our favorite was the one out near the pool where we had lunch daily with large portions and a variety of foods for your taste.
We really enjoyed the American Idol show, the Fire show was a hit and somthing you dont want to miss and the Elvis was great as an impersonator. Other than that we didnt do too much else besides be lazy and enjoy our first week as a married couple.
The resort was so clean and you really noticed the time and work they put into this resort to make your dreams come true. They met our every need and more. Even though we were one out of a few hundred honeymooners there, they made us feel that we were the only ones there with special suprises in our room each night and they went out of our way. I cant wait to go back hopefully before our 5 year anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islandhopper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We had the best time here. The constant service was amazing.... Food and drinks when ever. My advice... get the preffered club... It was worth the extra money... We will be back...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,784 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,136 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing